Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
Pizza
Organic
Juice bar
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Bakery

Espresso bar, bakery, and vegetarian kitchen in downtown. Offers organic whole wheat crust stone oven pizzas, old world dishes made with fresh herbs, vegetables, grains and legumes. Raw vegan dinner menu on Thursday. Makes almond milk as well as chocolate syrup (vegan) in-house. Counter service, casual with music and art. Open Mon-Sat 6:30am-9:00pm, Sun 8:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for The Root Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

31 Reviews

First Review by Dea Steinwand

LindaB.

Points +43

Vegan
21 Sep 2023

Old Favorites but Vegan

They can make my old favorite meat-filled entrees without meat, eggs, or dairy and make them taste the dame

Pros: Huge menu, Reuben: with crisp, crunchy sauerkraut, Calzone: just like the ones I remember in Philly!

Cons: Tad more than non-vegan but worth a little extra!, Parking, Wait for take-out, online ordering not working

Advertisement

JesseLee

Points +71

Vegan
31 May 2023

Wow

Nice little spot , great vegan food

Pros: Culture, Breakfast Burrito

PlantRich

Points +188

Vegan
28 May 2023

So good we forgot to take pictures!

We ordered taco salad, green zoodle salad, all day bowl, and Tempeh Reuben. It was a TON of food. Really appreciated the care they took to put it together. Even the greens were carefully selected with no bruises! Everything was delicious. Very artsy vibe with emphasis on social consciousness (community fridge). We’ll definitely be going back.

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-28

Pros: Relaxed vibe, Unique menu, Totally delicious

Cons: Ceiling fan was chilly

KelseyCowles

Points +177

Vegan
25 Oct 2022

For a vegetarian place, very poor vegan options

We ordered a 'breakfast burrito' and a lemon poppyseed muffin. The muffin was not labeled GF but it definitely was, and it was flavorless and slimy. The burrito took 20 minutes to come out and was inedible, unfortunately, consisting of huge pieces of unseasoned sweet potato, large hunks of kale, a few beans, and an unappetizing red sauce that both looked and tasted like canned tomato paste. We ended up eating granola bars for breakfast. Maybe their many non-vegan options are better, but vegans should not have high expectations.

Updated from previous review on 2022-06-20

Cons: For a vegetarian place, very few vegan options

Davesw

Points +3213

Vegan
03 Sep 2022

Delicious!

Tasty food, nice atmosphere, and lots of vegan options!

Cons: Service was a bit slow

Dvinevoid

Points +229

Vegan
02 Apr 2022

funky!!

lovely ambiance and good cafe food!

VeganUSA

Points +7379

Vegan
06 Sep 2021

Consistently delicious

For people wanting vegan options on the west side of NE Ohio, The Root Cafe is a natural stopping point. Numerous vegan options and excellent service along with dining in a fun, funky setting are its hallmarks.
The vegan style burrito is a reliable selection packed with black beans and sweet potatoes. The Clevo is an open-faced mushroom sandwich- delicious, but not filling.
The calzones are also excellent.

Pros: Vegan options are plentiful , Delicious food, Quirky setting, great service

LiamMcNulty

Points +136

Vegan
22 Aug 2021

A Great, Local Spot

The vegan breakfast burrito was one of the best I’ve ever had! So fresh and didn’t hide being veggie forward. I can’t wait to try their other options!

GiselaVoyage

Points +802

Vegan
18 Aug 2021

Good vibes and food

The vegan options are clearly marked and there are many options ranging from sandwiches to desserts to coffees with plant-based milks. The cafe is also really cute and I enjoy the overall energy of the place.

770veg

Points +3319

Vegan
03 May 2021

Good vibes and tasty food

Visiting family in the area who took me here. The space is cool. Has local artisan goods, local artworks for sale, some vintage clothes, a community fridge, and plenty of seating and very healthy plants. Menu was extensive and hard to make a decision. I went with the special Stromboli which was like a calzone. It was yummy and filling. We also had a calzone, lemon bar, and taco bowl which were enjoyed by one and all. The coffee was yummy as well. The staff were really nice. In a nice area with some other cool local shops as well. Very close to an area where you can sit by the lakeside and enjoy the nature and your natural goodies.

CorissaMarie

Points +2867

Vegan
16 Feb 2021

Disappointing

For any restaurant, but especially a vegetarian one, this was extremely disappointing. While the coffees we got were good, our food was far from so. I got the power bowl while my parter got one of the sandwiches in wrap form. My bowl was lacking flavor, the kale was not massaged, and the sweet potatoes were way overcooked for a bowl. The wrap (which I tasted too) has SO much oil in it that it was unbearable. Hopefully we just had a bad batch, but there's no way I would go back again just to find out.

Cons: Flavorless, Too much oil

PauletteGrimsbo

Points +18

Vegan
23 Sep 2020

Worth the trip

This is a favorite spot in the Cleveland area. Located on the west side of Cleveland, The Root Cafe is always worth a stop---even going out of our way to go visit. Food is wonderful; portions generous; great coffee; vegan desserts. Everything we have had has been delicious. It has a great neighborhood vibe and a no hurry attitude if you want to linger. Definitely recommend.

Pros: Delicious vegan/vegetarian food, Neighborhood friendly vibe, Generous portions

gretchenlouise

Points +117

Vegan
26 Aug 2020

Cute, cozy cafe with great food and drinks!

This restaurant is vegetarian with lots of vegan options that are clearly marked. I enjoyed an americano while I waited for my food, which took about 10-15 minutes. My sandwich was perfectly grilled and the side of sweet potatoes was large enough that I took some of it home. Staff was really friendly and I loved the decor and feel of the shop. I only wish I could have tried more, so many delicious options on the menu!

MikeJansen

Points +37

Herbivore
19 Jun 2020

Many tasty, satisfying vegan options

My son lives up in Lakewood and every time I visit, I make it a point to eat at Root Cafe. Their vegan burrito is my go-to. I also really like the Tempeh Reuben -- done better than I have had elsewhere. Their homemade almond/nut milk is awesome in a latte. The Hoffman's bicycle pizza is another option I really like. The environment is super casual. Everyone is friendly and chill.

Pros: Lots of mostly whole food vegan options, Tasty and satisfying, Chill

Cons: Can be crowded inside at times.

hoke123

Points +111

Vegan
17 Jun 2020

Great food and drinks

Plenty of options and lots can be made vegan. It has coffee, tea and other drinks. The burritos are awesome.

Pros: Great atmosphere

BokuNapoli

Points +70

Vegan
12 Jan 2020

Not bad, some Vegan items

Order at the counter do your own dishes a few vegan options pretty good. A little pricey but not crazy

Pros: Pizza was good

Cons: Lots of cow-puss meals, Not vegan

Passout

Points +704

Vegan
12 Aug 2019

Cute place with good food.

My daughter and went here because Cleveland Vegan was closed and we needed another vegan place. We were pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere, food, and service the staff provided. It took longer than expected to get out food, but we did order a pizza and that may have been why. The food and coffee were both very good.

It is a vegetarian place, but they were very knowledgeable about the food and what vegan is and helped us order vegan meals.

jlbco

Points +173

Vegan
18 Apr 2019

Fabulous!

I've noticed that this cafe has a number of glowing reviews, and I would just like to add a quick one to the collection. If you're anywhere near the Lakewood area, and are looking for fabulous vegan food, served in an environment that's about as "un-stuffy" as possible, The Root Café is your place. It features an extensive menu (some of which is vegetarian, but can be made vegan) that's sure to please. My companions and I had salads, pizzas, burritos, and sandwiches, all of which were just fantastic— and I had a "golden milk" drink (with coconut milk) that was so good I ordered a second one. It's a good thing that this place isn't located anywhere near where I live; my wife & I would be in there constantly.

Pros: GREAT food at reasonable prices, Friendly staff, good service, Pleasant interior, tables not crammed together

evenstar

Points +175

Vegan
28 Nov 2018

Great cafe

Wonderful coffee shop. Vegan whoopie pies are stellar. Coffee is delicious; always ask if they have almond milk before ordering and paying (many times I've paid for almond milk only to be informed they're out. AM is the most expensive non-dairy milk). Their vegan biscuits and gravy are the tastiest I've had in the Cleveland area. In the summer they make lavender syrup which is perfect in an iced green tea.

Pros: Lots of yummy vegan food

Cons: Busy at times, can be hard to get a seat

Shivad100

Points +136

Vegan
02 Nov 2018

Good and fresh

I ordered the taco salad and it was delicious. I was quite pleased with the serving size. It was filling. However, the next time I order it I will ask for more cheez. I wonder if it will be extra.

Pros: Good atmosphere , Fresh salad, Great service

Cons: I think all veg restaurants are a lil pricey, but, A lot of times they make stuff from scratch.

stylz

Points +13

Vegetarian
10 Jun 2018

OMG!!!!! Soooo good!!!

A ! Food is delish! Clean and relaxing atmosphere!

RianDean

Points +50

Vegan
20 Mar 2018

Consistently Outstanding

The Root Cafe is my one stop shop for great coffee and amazing vegan foods. The bakery is always fresh perfectly created. The diverse menu includes many vegan options that make my life so much more convenient. The staff is eclectic, kind, and always fun! Don't come for the 1st time if you are in a hurry, this is not fast food!

Pros: Everything

Cons: Can be loud.

ashleythevegan

Points +42

Vegan
19 Oct 2017

Just OK

I think that The Root Cafe is Cleveland's version of Oakland's Timeless but not as good. The Root Cafe is an all vegetarian cafe with many vegan options. The place was packed when I arrived for brunch on a Saturday morning, which tells me this is a really popular place for locals to hang out in the Cleveland area. It's very eclectic and quirky, which was right up my alley. Plus, cute latte art!

My husband tried the Homemade Hummus Wrap with roasted potatoes, which he liked but wouldn't order again.

I ordered the Quadratic Calzone. I wasn't blown away with the calzone as a whole but the bread they used was delicious.

If you are just visiting the area, I would say go to Cleveland Vegan for your meal and Duck Rabbit for your coffee instead.

Full review at theveganadventure.com

Pros: All vegetarian, Cute latte art

Cons: Not all vegan, Ok food

ClareCiolli

Points +40

Vegan
08 Oct 2017

Amazing

Fully vegetarian, with tons of amazing vegan choices! The burrito is awesome, as well as the pizzas.

Pros: great atmosphere

Tots

Points +285

Vegan
28 Aug 2017

Delicious Vegan Offerings

A cute little coffee shop cafe with a full vegetarian menu. Most items can easily be made vegan upon request. The prices are resonable and the food is worth the stop.

Pros: Best vegan Ruben I've ever had, the coffee is fantastic, with a welcoming casual atmosphere.

Cons: Hard to finding seating at busy times, and finding parking can be a pain.

VeganNessa

Points +37

Vegan
12 Feb 2017

Homemade and organic

I have been coming here since they opened, and for years before when they owned The Phoenix next door. I love the Root. It is a haven for vegans (and vegetarians, and omnivores for that matter)! All of the food is delicious, but I particularly love the Hoffman's Bicycle Pizza. The dough is handmade fresh daily. All the ingredients used are fresh, and most are organic and local. Coffees and teas are fair trade, and delicious. Their chocolate syrup is homemade and vegan, as is their almond milk. I love their Iced Almond Milk Mocha. The atmosphere is very chill, and the whole place is one beautiful work of art. I highly recommend stopping by any time of day.

Annie27

Points +77

Vegan
06 Apr 2015

cozy place with good food

definitely try their vegan Hoffman's bicycle pizza, it's amazing. all the food is generally good and fresh. vegan items labelled.




This page has been viewed 10225 times.