Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Indian
Fast food
Take-out

Quick service Indian sweet shop and vegetarian food eatery with vegan options. Offers a large display of sweets and fried snacks. Previously at St Helens Rd in Bolton, new address reported Jan 2018. Formerly RK Sweets, name change reported Jan 2020. Open Tue-Sun 12:00-20:00. Closed Mon.


Venue map for RK Dining
© OpenStreetMap contributors

30 Reviews

First Review by Shezza1

MartynShaw

Points +45

Mostly Veg
25 Jan 2024

All veggy, excellent!

Very nice Indian subcontinent food. I can't go by without getting samosas or stopping for dosa or something else.

Pros: All vegetarian , Will advise on vegan or other Prefs / needs

Advertisement

DennisOwen

Points +56

Vegan
26 Mar 2023

Sunday treat

Great food,great service

Pros: Super quick service, Knowledgeable and friendly staff

SonjaBarton-Hanley

Points +32

Vegan
20 Aug 2022

Totally delicious Vegan/Vegetarian street food yumminess!

Staff were all super friendly and helpful. Choice was great. We had chose a vegan version and vegetarian version of the thali. Food was all delicious! Can’t wait to go back.

Updated from previous review on 2022-08-20

Pros: Fully vegetarian/vegan so lots of choice, Authentic and delicious food at great prices, Friendly staff

Cons: None! There simply aren’t any.

Ampslave

Points +50

Vegan
31 Mar 2022

So glad we found this place!!

Fantastic. Was staying in Preston recently and really wanted a curry! Found RK Dining and paid a visit. Best thing we have ever done! Really friendly staff, really helpful with our choices of meal. Fantastic value!! Proof that vegan food doesn't have to be complicated or expensive to be delicious. Will definitely be back, many times!

Pros: Helpful staff, Choice, so much!, Value!

Cons: It's in Preston and not Lancaster!

MarkHappy

Points +119

Vegan
06 Mar 2022

Indian street food

Great food choice in this veggie / vegan Indian street food cafe.

Pros: Authentic Indian food, Mostly vegan menu, clearly labelled, Reasonable price

Cons: Desserts mostly vegetarian

ChristineMaestri

Points +78

Vegan
22 Dec 2021

Never disappoints

The vast majority of the staff are super helpful and knowledgeable. Food is always fresh and tasty. More traditional than your average Indian take out. Much more healthy too.
Lots of choice to take away and to eat in. Dhosas are incredible. Sometimes takeaway orders can be a bit cold but they’ve always had great customer service with any issues. The no 1 place to try in Preston for vegans!

Updated from previous review on 2019-04-28

danieljamesfisher

Points +187

Vegan
13 Dec 2021

Great food

I now go here every other week. The options are great and there is a lot to choose from.

Pros: Lots of options , Tasty food

Amyyyyy

Points +2128

Vegan
07 Oct 2021

Vegan

So happy we found this place. Staff were very nice and the food was delicious. You get so much for the £7 meal deal , it's great! Would deffo recommend and we will get this again.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Great value for money

Cons: None

JanetHayes

Points +25

Vegetarian
04 Oct 2021

Great food lots of choice

Been here many times now, never disappoints, tasty food with plenty of options for vegans and Gluten-free. Clear labelling on menu makes it easy to order for vegans and food intolerances.
No firm favourite as we have liked everything we have tried so far.

Pros: Lots vegan options, Lots gluten-free options, Staff very helpful

Cons: Needs slightly bigger printed menu, hard to see.

VeganMeganX

Points +74

Vegan
09 Sep 2021

Delicious Food

Found RK dining on happy cow. It’s a completely vegetarian restaurant with lots of vegan options too. The staff are all really friendly and the chef was telling us how he decided to make lots of the vegetarian options vegan to make them accessible to more customers. We had a King Dhosa to share, it was massive and absolutely delicious. Also great value for money. We had a Bhel Puri to start as well, which was one of the tastiest things I’ve ever eaten. We also ordered some sweets to take home. For 2 people with a starter, main meal, drinks and a box of sweets it only cost £21.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Friendly staff, Eat in or take out

IsabelBarronNelson

Points +18

Vegan
02 Sep 2021

wonderful homemade Indian food

Fabulous food, friendly atmosphere

Pros: the food id lovely

Cons: parking

Vissott

Points +407

Vegan
07 Jun 2021

An absolute veggie gem!

I’d been meaning to try this place out for ages, but Covid had made it difficult. We called in on a Saturday teatime (5th June) and got a table straightaway. (Only about 6 tables in a cafe style setting). All the food is on display as it’s also a takeaway, so we had a look at all the options before sitting down and there are a lot! We shared a sample of all the vegan starters plus pani puri and gobi Manchurian (called gobby Mancunian forever more 😂). All the food was delicious, but my faves were the pani puri, the Punjabi samosas and of course, the gobby Mancunian! By the time we left, there was a queue, so be prepared to wait at busy times, but so worth it. Another one I will be returning to. £17 for two of us, so price point is also excellent.

Updated from previous review on 2021-06-07

Pros: Fab food & our server talked us thru the menu., Reasonable prices, lots of choice, All veggie!

Cons: None.

MissGreenwood

Points +483

Vegan
13 Oct 2020

Excellent mostly vegan Indian

RK Dining Vegetarian Indian in Preston.
💚Delicious food and reasonable price.
On Street parking nearby.
Very clean.
The staff were really lovely.
One said that he's worked there years and although he's not vegan himself has helped them veganise most of the menu so that everyone is happy. There's even a few sweet things.
💚The food disappeared before I thought to take a photo but you know what Indian food looks like!? The portions are very generous too.

💚Currently take away only with a queue outside and only 2 in at a time.

💚All the food is on display so you can choose what you want and staff will take the time help if needed.

💚Totally recommend and will go back.

Pros: Mostly vegan, Helpful staff, Clean

Cons: If your spice threshold is low let them know.

VeronicaRusu

Points +44

Vegan
10 Oct 2020

Amazing!

I could not recommend RK enough. They have so many options and the food is absolutely delicious!

Pros: A lot of options, Sweet, savoury, mains, Helpful staff, good customer service

SarahHus

Points +32

Vegan
12 Aug 2020

Bland, batch cooked food. Not a Vegan way.

I had high hopes for this place after reading reviews on HappyCow. The place is nice and it’s really good to have a place that serves no meat at all. I was shocked when I was informed by one of their waiters serving us that most of the curries are batch cooked and not fresh. Basically my curry ordered to eat in on a Thursday would have been cooked as early as a Monday! That is not a Vegan way of dishing out food. So disappointed. If I had known that’s what I was feeding my kids, we would have just had fries from a local takeaway near by. At least would be fresh. The taste was ok but really gutted by not so fresh food.

Pros: No meat on site, Vegan choices , Staff were honest

Cons: Batch cooked food , Not fresh , Ok quality

BeckyD

Points +16

Vegan
12 Jul 2020

Amazing vegan thali! So much choice!

We ordered delivery and were not disappointed, the chickpea curry was a standout but also the Bombay samosa, wada pav and Gobi Manchurian! Would 100% recommend and can't wait to go and visit the restaurant in person for a fresh dosa!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Delicious food , Lovely staff

Cons: None

VegLord

Points +47

Vegan
15 Mar 2020

Super!

Authentic and high quality Gujarati food. Vegan items clearly marked but actually the menu features a quite a few unmarked vegan dishes as so always worth asking. Food is served quickly and simple things like sauces and chutneys can be mind-blowing so if you're on a repeat visit always try something new even if it looks ordinary. After your meal visit the deli counter where all items have ingredients displayed and you can stock up the freezer. Future self will thank you!

Pros: Staff very knowledgable and courteous, Prices very reasonable, Parking at the rear.

fangdoodle

Points +25

Vegetarian
22 Jan 2020

Amazing

Fantastic food vegan and veggie options. Unlike a regular Indian restaurant. Great value. The thalis are delicious.

Pros: Cheap, Delicious , Friendly

Cons: You will overeat!

rachiegreen

Points +33

Vegan
03 Jan 2020

Very good food

Food is very tasty and the menu is mostly vegan! I will definitely be going back:)

Pros: Friendly and helpful staff, Lots of vegan options

Spadger89

Points +159

Vegetarian
15 Nov 2019

Great place

I was so overwhelmed here because there was so much to chose and it is all vegetarian but the staff saw I was anxious and guided me through options and recommended food to me. I had my first chana dosa. It was delicious and reasonably priced too! Highly recommended. So much fresh delicious food to choose from!

Pros: Delicious, Fresh , Friendly

AlysiaMitchell

Points +19

Vegetarian
25 Jul 2019

Fantastic!

Clearly marked vegan items and very knowledgeable staff, great food with a wide variety of flavours on offer. Good prices too!

VeganRie

Points +18

Vegan
04 Jul 2019

Incredible Vegan

We visited RK dining this evening because of the glowing recommendations and comments found regarding peoples past experiences, and we were certainly not disappointed.

We were greeted by Alec who was an absolute delight from the very moment we walked through the door. He has a wide and extensive understanding of the menu and the recommendations given were very valued and appreciated. Such an attentive team who are clearly passionate about exceptional customer service and of course great food.

For anyone who is looking for vegan/vegetarian options, I cannot reccomend RK Dining highly enough.

The food was incredibly tasty and hugely satisfying. Cannot wait to visit again.

Many thanks for a great experience. [censored]

Pros: Vegan Options, Incredible Customer Care, Welcoming

Cons: None

zoefearn

Points +128

Vegan
04 Nov 2018

Staff so helpful, by far the best experience I've had eating out as a vegan.

Big shout out for Alec who served me. He took the time to talk me through which dishes were vegan, and made some excellent recommendations. Also offered to veganise dishes that aren't listed as vegan on the menu. Felt completely valued as a vegan customer. I overheard him helping the next customer to make gluten free choices and they seemed to have a good selection of gluten free dishes.
So many food choices. I had a thali to eat in and took away 6 Indian snacks, a dip and a box of 8 different sweets - for a total cost of £10.21. Such good value but also amazing food, definitely rivalled meals I've had in Goa and way better than any Indian food I've had in the UK. Clean spacious restaurant. I live 70 miles from Preston so visited as I was going to a gig, but will be making the journey regularly just to eat here.

Pros: Amazing food, Very reasonable prices, Free car park behind the shop

Cons: None

jones23emma

Points +171

Vegan
02 Apr 2018

Fantastic food

Great value for money and such tasty food!

rosemary.forrest

Points +16

Vegan
13 Feb 2018

Indian vegetarian/vegan food, great value. Eat in or takeaway.

R K Sweets has expanded over the years. The previous location was smaller with 2 tables. Now it can seat 40. No meat or eggs on the premises makes this an ideal place to dine. Let them know if you are vegan. Many items are marked on the counter or on the menu with a V, and the majority of the curries on display, to choose from for eating in, are vegan too. Several of the sweets are now vegan, which wasn't always the case. Not a lot of drinks to choose from if you are health conscious, but the Fresh Passion Fruit Juice is delicious, and a jug of water can be provides free. After dining here, it's tempting to join the takeaway queue and grab a few samosas or other delights to eat at home later. They also have premises in Bolton, about 20 miles away.

Pros: Excellent value for money., On a bus route, number 23.

Cons: No mirror in the women's toilet!

VickiWanSlattery

Points +1396

Vegan
30 Jan 2018

Vegetarian curry, savoury and sweet snacks

Stopped here for tea (dinner). There was free parking available around the back.

The savoury options were delicious and the sweet options were ok.

The staff were friendly and happy to help out explaining all vegan options available. There was plenty of choice and the price was extremely reasonable. I got a thali (tray) of 2 curries, a curry sauce, a rice and rotis. I also got a dal wada plus took one of each of the vegan sweets. Altogether, including £1 for takeaway it cost £8.40.

In my tray I opted for the chickpea curry which was ok, a cauliflower curry which was spicy and delicious, the pilau rice which was yummy and the curry sauce which was also nice. The rotis were good too. The dal wada was tasty and spicy too!

There were a lot more vegetarian choices sweet-wise than vegan, but still there were 6 vegan choices of sweets. I tried them all:
1. Jalebi - tasty but greasy
2. Kaju roll - nice but had silver on the outside and green in the middle which made me feel there were more chemicals and colourings than necessary but apart from that they were ok.
3. Kaju katri, nice and texture of marzipan/icing taste slightly coconut-y, not too sweet.
4. Bundi ladu extremely greasy!
5. Fig and nut praline
6. Wasn’t labelled, he said it was ‘kesar’. Similar to kaju katri.

There were plenty of tables to sit in to the right.

Pros: Many vegan options , Reasonably priced , Free parking nearby

Cons: Not fully vegan

SarahBromley

Points +27

Vegan
27 Nov 2016

delicious food

Excellent food and great service, very reasonably priced too considering quality of food. Only advice is prepare to que if you go at the weekend for takeout food as word is spreading quickly.




This page has been viewed 17986 times.