Reykjavik Chips

  • Veg-options Veg-options
  • ( 48 reviews )

Serves meat, vegan options available. French fries shop. Chips come in 3 sizes and with your choice of sauces. Open Tue-Sun 11:30am-11:00pm.

Categories: American, Fast food, Beer/Wine, Take-out, Non-veg

48 Reviews

First Review by jel172

BatKat

Points +140

Vegan
15 Nov 2021

Most expensive chips ever

Most expensive chips I've ever eaten. And they were ok.

CharlieMills

Points +1265

Vegan
24 Oct 2021

Delicious chips!

Large chips here were plenty for two people. Very nice chips. Originally got two sauces but needed a third. The vegan mayo and satay sauce are great.

Note: Not actually a fully vegetarian place as it sells meat burgers.

ChloeChristine

Points +775

Vegan
20 Oct 2021

Nice place with good chips!

Good range of sauces (vegan ones are labelled) and they have both normal chips/fries and sweet potato ones.

Advertisement

FiftyByFifty

Points +214

Vegan
14 Sep 2021

06/03/16

Once you've finished paying £8 for a beer in this beautiful city, head around the corner to soak it up with these bad boys. Well cooked chips and the sauces are beautiful!

Edit: review from 2016, resurrected from old account

JennaKatrínKristján

Points +69

Mostly Veg
10 Aug 2021

Chunky fries

Im more into crispy fries but these are okay

allhailseitan666

Points +22

Vegan
08 Aug 2021

Perfect snack/drunk food

Fries and lots of them with vegan mayo, ketchup, and a peanut sauce for dipping.

lmd14

Points +216

Vegan
23 Jul 2021

Does what it says!

Really good chips and a few of the sauces are vegan!
The satay works surprisingly well :)

Degu

Points +441

Vegan
20 May 2021

IF YOU DREAM OF FRIES

Legit a Top 5 Fry. They are so fat and delicious, Had them by themselves a few times but many vegan sauce options to only accent their already natural potato beauty.

AlisonA97

Points +382

Vegan
13 Apr 2020

So good

The chips were amazing and there was a range of vegan sauces on the menu. Highly recommend, perfect for when you’re craving some good chips!

hrn126

Points +334

Vegan
29 Mar 2020

love these fries

these french fries are SO good!! so many different dipping sauces as well😄a great snack for walking around the city

anastas_t

Points +60

Vegan
03 Mar 2020

Good ol' dirty chips

Not much to say. Place serves chips in 3 different portions (small-medium-large) with sauces of your choice. Except the ketchup one you have 1 vegan to check as well (tastes like peanut butter). Cheerful staff.

Pros: Chips not too oily, An extra vegan sauce

Renefo

Points +52

Vegan
16 Dec 2019

Central and tasty

Very good fries indeed! Stable quality - been there several times!

dav.liska@gmail.com

Points +15

Vegetarian
06 Nov 2019

First place to go in RKV.

First place to go in RKV.

Edlelieng

Points +102

Vegan
20 Sep 2019

Perfect vegan mayo

A perfect snack when you are hungry for vegans. Cute place

Ned Harding

Points +245

Vegan
26 Jul 2019

Good Snack

They are a good snack - not too greasy. 4 Vegan sauces - ketchup, veganaise, satay (peanut) and eggplant & pepper. But its only fries - no protein.

Pros: Good quick snack

Cons: Just fries - not many options.

heretobehappy

Points +553

Vegan
22 Jul 2019

local beer & chips

what a magical combo! vegan options are ketchup or peanut. recommend the peanut sauce, it's very good. the right amount of salty. fresh and hot fries, seating inside or can take to go!

Pros: vegan options, alcohol available

PoisonedPawn

Points +244

Vegan
24 May 2019

Good for a quick snack

The fries are made fresh when you order and come out nice and hot. There are several vegan sauce options including Mayo, satay sauce and good old ketchup. Good if you're looking for a quick snack.

avocado_jess

Points +1669

Vegan
09 May 2019

Yum mayo

Good spot for a filling meal. Vegan mayonnaise is delicious! Chips tasty and salty too. Lovely staff. Great example of how many spots in Reykjavík include clearly labelled vegan options on their menu.

Debbiemcg

Points +122

Vegan
12 Mar 2019

Wonderful vegan chippy

Absolutely wonderful place. The chips themselves are tasty and well presented and come come with a variety of dips.
Gluten free options as well as vegan.
Staff are friendly, very helpful.
Wonderful fun feel to the place

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Reasonably priced, Great, friendly staff

Cons: It's in Iceland and I'm back in Uk 😭😭😭

garyse16

Points +17

Vegetarian
05 Jan 2019

Chips is Chips

Good...
Nice little place.
Eco friendly packaging.
Quick service.
Not so good...
Very salty chips.
Was expecting hand cut chips. These were more processed.
Terrible...
Background offensive rap lyrics playing. Not family friendly.

mongoose10

Points +253

Vegan
11 Dec 2018

Just Chips!

If you do just one thing you have to do it well and they certainly do! 3 vegan sauces although only 2 were shown on the menu. Do not skip the vegan mayo which was incredible. The vegan satay was a bit too much like peanut butter for my taste. I didn’t try the ketchup but that was obviously vegan as well.

Pros: Good at chips!, Vegan mayo is amazing.

CiaraSlevin

Points +2005

Vegan
29 Oct 2018

Best chips I’ve eaten..

Serving only chips, soft drinks and a small selection of beers and wines Reykjavik Chips are without doubt the best chips I’ve ever eaten. Golden, crisp and delicious, they are scrumptious accompanied by vegan mayo and satay dip - all washed down with an ice cold beer. So good we ate here twice during a four day visit to Reykjavik.

Saramste

Points +317

Vegan
31 Jul 2018

Great Fries

This place only offers fries with several different dipping options (only 3 are vegan -- vegan mayo, ketchup, and a peanut based sauce). Frankly, these are some of the more expensive fries that I've had, BUT the least expensive item I ate during my trip to Iceland. For those of you that deal in US dollars, it was approximately $15 for a large fry, which was enough to fill a standard sized take-out box. Again, good fries, and more than sufficient to fill us in between meals (my husband, and two little ones) while walking the streets of Reykjavik. I believe there were 2 other sized options (small and medium). If memory serves me correctly, the small fry is about 750 ISK (so again, almost $7.50).

Pros: Quick, Nice Portions, Vegan Sauces

Cons: Only Fries

Poundie

Points +4579

Vegetarian
23 Jul 2018

Fries only

As advertised; vegan fries plus sauces, two of which are vegan.

RhonaM

Points +439

Vegan
19 May 2018

Fuss-free Snacking

Just what we needed to keep us going ‘til dinner. We got a small portion of sweet potato fries (990 ISK) and they were sooo good! Cool space too.

Ljmeep

Points +424

Vegan
16 Jan 2018

chips!

Excellent chips!

AllGoodAllVegan

Points +221

Vegan
08 Jan 2018

A wonderful place!

I cannot stop thinking about how much I loved Reykjavík Chips! You choose your chips and then the sauce you want them topped with. And that's it! An extraordinarily friendly dude served us and we listened to hip-hop whilst we waited and ate. I cannot stress enough how brilliant this place is. My perfectly-cooked cone of chips were topped with a vegan-friendly creamy cashew satay sauce and let me tell you: it was perfect. They also serve vegan-friendly mayo and for an expensive city it's a good value, filling meal.

Pros: Delicious food, Such friendly service, Good value

Cons: I don't have a bad word to say about this place!

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Reykjavik Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Reykjavik Chips closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 10267 times.