• Red Sea

  • (8)
    27
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Take-out
African
Eritrean, Ethiopian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Ethiopian/Eritrean cuisine serving spiced vegetable, lentil, and potato dishes. This restaurant opened in Mar 2014. Open Tue-Sun 11:30am-9:30pm. Closed Mon.


Venue map for Red Sea
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by Midorish

jessicabutcher

Points +54

Vegan
05 Jun 2023

Amazing Ethiopian Cuisine

While roadtripping up to Acadia, we decided to stop in Portland for dinner and landed on Red Sea. Off the bat, the staff were so so kind. And then the food came… it was incredible, so flavorful! It was a cold and rainy night and the warm meals were sooo comforting. Would 10/10 recommend!

Advertisement

BethRo

Points +27

Vegetarian
30 Dec 2022

Vegetarian platter was as good as everyone said.

Not a vegan so can’t speak to that, but was happy to introduce my vegetarian kid to one of my favorite cuisines here.

SableStrout

Points +1258

Vegan
15 Aug 2021

Local & Flavorful

The veggie sampler is vegan and it’s flavorful and filling! (Potatoes, cauliflower, sautéed spinach, stewed lentils, and stewed okra.) Check this out when you want something hearty and homemade.

Pros: Delicious, Filling, Homemade

Cons: Not entirely vegan , Only a couple vegan options

Joolie

Points +20

Vegan
04 Dec 2020

Great vegan sampler platter

Love East African food and this was our the first time trying it here in Portland. I was skeptical about getting it to go since it doesn't seem like injera travels well. But happy to say it was absolutely delicious. We tried the vegan/vegetarian sampler and the falafel and hummus. All tasty, and the hummus was especially good. Will definitely go back.

Pros: Excellent food, Friendly owner, Cute neighborhood

Cons: No delivery

LadySnowIva

Points +156

Vegan
15 Nov 2019

They don't microwave your food

The food is always fresh so the wait is long but worth it. Staff is friendly. All vegetarian options are vegan as far as I know. There is no dairy and they use vegetable oils.

The best Shiro you'll ever have.

Vegan_Bri

Points +76

Vegan
28 May 2019

Yum!

This was my first time trying Ethiopian/Eritrean food. It was delicious! There were three of us so we got the veggie sampler platter & added a Fūl entree. So much food.. this could have comfortably fed 4 people! We walked out absolutely stuffed. The red lentil dish was the fav of the group but everything was good. Loved the injera! Will definitely go back when we're in the area.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Good price, Friendly owners

Dr.KathleenBartlett

Points +73

Vegan
30 Dec 2018

Delicious Ethiopian Food!

Red Sea is authentic Ethiopian, even the decor, which is bright yellow walls and florescent lighting is what you can expect to find in a developing country.

There is a vegetarian section, which is vegan. I went with a group. For 5 people, we shared 2 vegetarian samplers and ordered a falafel and lentil samosa appetizers. This was plenty of yummy food for the group.

The falafel is excellent, served with a red pepper hummus. The lentil samosas are spicy.

The veg sampler platter came with 2 lentil dishes, a yellow and a red. I liked the spicy red lentils. Several veggies: sautéed spinach, okra, and a cabbage, carrot potato and turmeric sauté that i also enjoyed. And the familiar teff, spongy pancakes for eating with.

everyone loved the food.

The owners are an Ethiopian couple in their senior years. Apparently they saved so he could stop driving the cab and open the restaurant. He is sweet and a pleaser.

Pros: food is yummy, owner is sweet

Cons: dining room chilly after 7:30p in late december

Midorish

Points +11

Mostly Veg
03 Jul 2015

Delightful and Fresh Food for All Palates

The dishes are both homey and subtle, and the owners are great hosts.

The injera is dark and hearty--sour but not too sour, and definitely not diluted with wheat flour to the point of blandness (a major fault in many E/E restaurants).

The menu has been expanded--the one on their Facebook page doesn't do it justice, especially the vegetarian dishes. Most dishes are vegan friendly. The shiro is especially delightful and arrives bubbling in its own pot. Other favorites are the mustard greens, all the lentil dishes, the cabbage...they're all great.

Updated from previous review on Thursday June 25, 2015

Pros: Clearly made to order, Lovely, friendly owners, Healthy and delicious

Cons: No other customers, Seriously, Portland, Support this local gem!




This page has been viewed 5708 times.