• Pho Kapa'a

  • (8)
    5
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Take-out
Vietnamese
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. This Vietnamese makes a vegetarian pho with veggies and tofu. Can make a dish with tofu instead of meat when requested, including summer rolls, stir fry, and lemongrass tofu.


Venue map for Pho Kapa'a
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by JuliaOneLove

GuyMugrabi

Points +22

Vegan
20 Dec 2022

Other than the pho, all the dishes were pretty bad

Slow service, nice owners but the food is plainly not tasty. We left most of the food on the plates and weren’t even offered a discount. We also ordered a “vegetarian dish with eggplant that had a fishy taste, they admitted to put oyster sauce in it and replaced it. It was terrible in both cases. Avoid. There are far better vegan options on the island.

Pros: Pho is good

Cons: Other than the pho - not tasty

Advertisement

nathka1

Points +67

Vegan
26 Mar 2022

Tasty

Lots of good vegan options just make sure to specify no fish sauce. Got the veggie bun with lemon grass tofu which we both loved and the veggie pho which was also tasty. Would recommend adding all the herbs chili sauce/ hoisin to the pho and soy sauce to the bun for optimal flavor.

GiselaFiege

Points +287

Vegan
16 Jan 2021

Tasty

Few vegan options, flavorful but very greasy!

Pros: Must ask for veganizing

Cons: Greasy food

Devon Colleen

Points +220

Vegan
04 Nov 2019

Absolutely tasteless

I should have listened to other reviewers. This pho was basically water. Seriously no flavor at all. I put salt AND soy sauce but it did nothing.

Pros: Inexpensive

Cons: Flavorless

VeganScientist

Points +847

Vegan
21 Nov 2018

Cute local place

Lots of locals in this spot - not a tourist trap. Plenty of vegan options on the menu with tofu and veggies. Tofu summer roll appetizer with peanut sauce, vegan pho and vegan tofu and veg stir fry with noodles or white rice are all good options. Every thing that is vegetarian is marked with a green leaf on the menu, but the green papaya salad is marked with the green leaf though it says in the menu that it has fish sauce, so just make sure that you specifically say no fish sauce on anything. It was all tasty, filling and affordable.

Pros: Good vegan options

Cons: Serves flesh, Watch out for fish sauce

LindsayNeeds

Points +85

Vegetarian
01 Oct 2017

A little bland but cheap eats

I think this place is working on catering more to vegetarians. It had a sign saying they now have a guarantee veggie broth. The menu also identifies vegetarian items. I got the pho and the veggie spring roll. The spring roll was good and the pho had lots of veggies and well cooked tufo. The pho was bland but they have lots of sauces you can added. My husband got the chicken pho and loved it. Our bill was $28 and the service was great. I would go back.

Pros: Cheap eats, Has veggie and meat options , Great service

Cons: Bland pho

Soul2Soul Educare

Points +1090

Vegetarian
27 Apr 2015

Tasteless food and found meat in my veggie dish!

We visited this restaurant twice. The first time, the owner greeted us and the service was good and one of the dishes was decent the stir fry but the pho was totally tasteless. I had to add all kinds of sauces and chilli to make it taste like anything. The second time we thought we'd skip the pho veggie and order the tofu stir fry instead. This time the stir fry tasted awful - the veggies were undercooked, there was no flavor with very little tofu and I also found MEAT in my dish! Plus the service was terrible - the owner wasn't there. So I have to give this restaurant a poor review. Sorry guys got to keep the food and service consistent to deserve 5 stars! Don't go there - not worth it!

Cons: Found meat in my veggie dish

JuliaOneLove

Points +20

Vegan
30 Aug 2014

Cheap and Okay Vegan Eats

I love pho and it's a real treat to find a place that has a vegan broth option. Pho Kapa'a has just that. It's far from the best veggie pho I've ever had, it's a little bland but you can always doctor it up with the usual condiments - but I was grateful for a big hot bowl of broth, noodles, tofu, and veggies at a decent price. We also got the green papaya salad minus the meat and summer rolls with tofu. All was okay, not the best I've ever had, but still comforting and good enough.

The menu does not delineate which items can be made vegan, but the host was very accommodating and was able to suggest vegan options.

Not fancy, a little restaurant in a strip mall, but you can get two apps and two bowls of pho for a little over $30.




This page has been viewed 3155 times.