• Nocturnal Artist

  • (15)
    19
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Vietnamese
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Small, tucked away place run by an artist and his wife. A page of the menu is dedicated to vegetarian and vegan food. Offers vegetarian cooking classes. Open Mon-Sun 8:30am-11:00pm.


Venue map for Nocturnal Artist
© OpenStreetMap contributors

15 Reviews

First Review by JazminSabeto

maraczi

Points +506

Vegan
25 Feb 2020

Basic but still good

We had the fresh spring rolls (which we discovered have eggs inside), the green mango salad and the vegetable curry- very basic but still good in my opinion, especially the mango salad and curry! Very friendly owner and made a small little fruit platter off menu for us on request.

Advertisement

JordannHorn

Points +327

Mostly Veg
05 Nov 2019

Kind family, fun cooking class!

Did a vegan cooking class with friends and loved it. Nice artwork, sweet kids and amazing food! Would definitely recommend even if just going for a meal!

ReginaKe

Points +385

Vegan
16 Sep 2019

Art meets food

It's a nice place a little bit away from the center. We took the Morning Glory and lemon grass tofu, both were good

JessieNelson

Points +96

Vegetarian
21 Apr 2019

Nice to try

I had heads amazing things about this place so was super excited to check it out. While the staff were really lovely the food was a little bland. In saying this I want to give them the benefit of the doubt and come back to try something different.

Pros: Lovely staff , Lots of options

Cons: Little on the pricey side

Lauraleec

Points +11315

Vegan
14 Mar 2019

Nice to try

This was the first place I had food in Hoi An. The place itself has a cool vibe but so many mosquitos on the night I was there which I know can't be avoided. I didn't see a specific vegan part to the menu but was able to double check which was vegan friendly with the waitress. However they didn't understand that I wanted egg noodles so just be really sure to make yourself clear. Good value

tpuryear

Points +37

Vegan
07 Mar 2019

Hidden gem!

In our 3 days in Hoi An, this is our second visit - we really love the vegan and veggie food here (and cocktails), but the real draw is the uniqueness of this family business: The restaurant is small and tucked away off a busy street, dimly lit and quieter than many of the restaurants nearby; the husband is a self-taught artist and his work is on display throughout the space (and for sale); and the wife does all the cooking (and serving) plus also teaches small cooking classes. Highly recommend!

Tisa93

Points +342

Vegan
03 May 2018

I wanted to love it but it was just meh

I’ve heard good things about this place and although the service was top notch, the food was the blandest I’ve had in Vietnam. I ordered the vegetable coconut curry partner ordered the mix vegetable with rice and both meals were lacking in flavour and texture. Prices are bit dear for what it is

Pros: Nice staff , Lots of options

Cons: Bland , Expensive

LieselotVerheye

Points +83

Vegan
14 Apr 2018

Had good food here.

Had the curry, fresh springrolls (can be made vegan if you ask) and Cao Lau which is a must try! The lady is super sweet and the place felt very cosy/homely. The food is cheap and really good, service was always quick. I loved coming here! Would give 5 stars if I could. (Happycow only allows 5 stars on fully vegan places)

Pros: Very friendly, Cosy, Cheap

M00m1n

Points +13

Vegetarian
14 Apr 2018

Gentle, beautiful and delicious food

We were lucky enough to have been recommended this restaurant during our stay in Hoi An. We were welcomed by the owner and she was just delightful and made us feel so welcome and comfortable.
The food was incredible, authentic Vietnamese cuisine cooked with love and attention to detail, I can’t recommend this restaurant enough- best food in Hoi An

VeronikaSeebald

Points +201

Vegan
14 Apr 2018

Most terrible food we ever ate!

Me and my friend ordered juice and vegetarian curry.
The juice wasn’t fresh and the food very tasteless, bland and cooked without love- big chunks of vegetables in a pudding-like base, reminded me of hospital food or even worse. Place itself didn’t make a clean or inviting impression, staff very obtrusive and slow.
Don’t go there, I guess even plain bread would be a better option if you can’t get anything else Vegan around.
The one star is for the fact that they didn’t charge us for the food, otherwise would be a minus five.

Lauremy2018

Points +49

Vegetarian
09 Jan 2018

great food

Lovely restaurant- would definitely recommend. Tasty food and a great atmosphere.

Pros: tasty food, reasonably priced

Cons: can get a bit warm inside

LilacHippy

Points +11987

Vegan
28 Dec 2017

Veggie Menu

A narrow cosy place that is nicely decorated with beautiful art work. They have a whole page of veggie food. I tried the papaya salad which was good although different from how I am used to it in Thailand. Must be the Vietnamese way. Good prices.

Illymm

Points +17

Mostly Veg
12 Sep 2017

5/4 stars

Please note: this app only allows max 4 stars to non veggie exclusive restaurants. My rating would be 5, hence 5/4.

The place is lovely, very cosy, cute and well put together. It is delicious, the prices are very reasonable and the owner, who is also the cook, is really kind and welcoming. The story behind the restaurant is really touching, so I would recommend to speak with the hostess and ask about it.

Cons: Cheap

VeganGecko

Points +271

Vegan
16 Jun 2017

Cute, artsy place

This tiny eatery is hard to find between touristy fashion shops in Hoi Ans ancient town, but well worth a visit! Filled with artwork from the owner himself, it has a lovely, cozy atmosphere. As for the food, you boyfriend and I both had the vegetarian curry with rice, a fruit juice and the fresh spring rolls (without the egg). Everything was delicious. Would recommend looking for this place if you're in Hoi An!

Pros: Good good, Artistic decor , Friendly owners

Cons: Little hard to find

JazminSabeto

Points +40

Vegan
02 May 2017

GRREEAATT VEGAN FOOD

Small place easy missed but a hidden gem. Very welcoming and friendly and had many vegan/vego options on the menu. Great ambience and beautiful art made by her husband hanging on the walls. The eggplant clay pot was a must try and they have a wide range of fresh juices for a small price. Would have given 5 stars if there the option to! Booked in for a cooking class tommorow for only 20usd, which includes getting your own produce from the market and any 4 dishes from the menu (you can pick all vegetarian and she can alter things like fresh spring roll so there is no egg). Would eat again!!

Pros: lots of vegan/veg options, friendly, bomb as food

Cons: only small so book ahead




This page has been viewed 3450 times.