• Monsoon Cafe - Aqua City Odaiba

  • (17)
    11
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Ovo
Chinese
Japanese
Thai
Beer/Wine
Asian
Vietnamese
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Asian cuisines restaurant with several branches in Tokyo. Menu indicates the vegan options which include spring rolls, lotus root and lettuce salad, vegetable stir fry, veggie skewer, fried rice, and tofu soup. Open Mon-Thu 11:30am-12:00am, Fri-Sat 11:30am-3:30am, Sun 11:30am-12:00am.


Venue map for Monsoon Cafe - Aqua City Odaiba
© OpenStreetMap contributors

17 Reviews

First Review by Netta1229

-Vik-

Points +24

Vegan
11 Nov 2023

Spring Roll is not Vegan!!!

The spring roll includes shrimps…it was very disappointing

Updated from previous review on 2023-11-11

Advertisement

kaus19

Points +904

Vegetarian
01 Oct 2023

Good for a light meal

Location and ambience is really good. Food wise they just serve few vegan options and it’s enough for a light meal.

lenaaleew

Points +121

Vegan
01 Jan 2023

Okay if you're looking for a snack only

Only two side dishes clearly marked as vegan which were the grilled water spinach and spring rolls (consisted mostly of salad with a few rice noodles).
I think I would've been able to order some rice as a side though. Quite pricey and the portions are very small.

Wouldn't recommend coming here if you are very hungry.
The fried rice I was expecting to eat here was not on the menu anymore.

Updated from previous review on 2023-01-01

Pros: Kind waiters

Cons: Pricey, No main dishes available

Marties

Points +1421

Mostly Veg
11 Jun 2022

Amazing location and decent food

I have a thing for funky shōwa-style malls that emulate foreign locations in a tacky way, so I was all about this place even before visiting, just trying to find my way through Aqua City.

It's true that the tables with a nice view are just a few, but I went for a weekday lunch (not very busy), so even the rest of the seats felt nice with the tall ceilings and around the open kitchen. Even though I'm not a big fan of these, the vegetation inbetween and the large dining hall don't make it too in your face or suffocating.

I was glad to see there are quite a few customizable dishes (both for vegan and low-carb options), and I got a feeling this could be applied to the lunch sets as well, but I just ordered a couple of items from the grand menu.

However -- and this wasn't very clear to me -- you have to explicitly ask for the vegan option, because otherwise you get the "standard" for whatever item you order. It was cool to get some shrimp in my Vietnamese roll for me, but I know this isn't the case for everyone.

The food is a bit pricey, yes, but the service is super fast, and the free flow of iced Jasmine tea was a huge plus for me.

Pros: The menu is quite customizable, Vegan options clearly stated, Free iced Jasmine tea

Cons: Vegan options feel a bit poor/subpar, Expensive

sasham

Points +3896

Vegan
02 Jan 2021

Pretty food

Went a while back and this place is really cozy, but very packed. Vegan items on the menu are limited, and slightly expensive (well, not really - I just thought the portions were a bit small and I wish they were more options). The plate presentation was pretty, the restaurant is a bit inconvenient in terms of where tables are placed, a lot of ppl want the window view seats, but you will most likely be placed somewhere far away from the beautiful view.

Finding vegan food in Odaiba is a bit tricky, but this is a safe option! I was missing more protein in the vegan dish, maybe a tofu ball or some soy karage, as it felt like a lot of grains.

Pros: Beautiful food presentation, You are very lucky if you end near the pretty view

Cons: Packed, Vegan menu could be bigger

GrayHorwitz

Points +1659

Vegan
07 Nov 2019

Overpriced and not the tastiest but still might be the best option around here

Ambiance is nice, view is good, but otherwise not much to say. It is nice they have vegan friendly options clearly labeled, but the food is plain and small and overpriced. Rice dish is good, adding avocado is an option

MoiraDonovan

Points +18

Vegan
04 Oct 2019

only stopped here because taco bell didn’t have beans

The menu adversities “vegan options,” but instead of providing vegan foods or substituting the non-vegan ingredients, they simply removed the main component of the meal. I ordered some lettuce for ¥380

Pros: Friendly staff, Nice view

Cons: expensive, small portions, no replacements

kperry4

Points +69

Vegetarian
28 Sep 2019

Yummy fried rice

The menu options were clearly marked with a leaf and I mentioned while ordering. Staff spoke pretty decent English and was able to accommodate my English-speaking self. Not a ton of menu items to choose from but enough that I did have to make choices as to what to order. Great view of Tokyo Bay if you happen to get a window seat, but don’t worry if you don’t as there are many other viewpoints in the area. Also, best mojito I have had in a long time!

AusetTu

Points +49

Vegan
08 Jul 2019

A haven in a mostly non-vegan country

The food is good and fresh. It’s not plentiful but nowhere have I eaten in Japan that it is, by my American appetite. I had the Vietnamese spring rolls and they were beautifully presented, stuffed with cucumber and vermicelli noodles and lots of fresh leafy lettuce with a sweet chili dipping sauce. I also ordered the fried rice with veggies and note that the veggies were not stir fried. Just fresh veggies on the side of the brown hearty rice. The view is amazing and ambiance is excellent. Very happy that Happy Cow directed me here.

hunterxxx360

Points +53

Vegetarian
19 May 2019

Super Aussicht

Sehr schöne Aussicht und nette Atmosphäre. Der Vegane Reis ist sehr lecker aber leider sehr wenig, die Suppe könnte etwas würziger und abwechslungsreicher sein, ist dafür aber genug zum satt werden. Evtl. kombinieren.

Pros: Super Aussicht, Nette Atmosphäre, freundliches Personal

Cons: Reis ist etwas klein

ValentinaTéllez

Points +50

Vegan
27 Mar 2019

Small dish

I ordered a simple fried rice and it was so small! The smallest fried rice of Asia haha. For the price not worth it. (950 yen tax).

Pros: Nice view

Cons: Expensive for the small portion

FelixDorn

Points +15

Vegetarian
18 Feb 2019

Great view - good food

Main dish Stir Fried Water Spinach is very delicous. Spring rolls are not recommentable.
Portions are not very big.

erinsilv

Points +28

Vegan
17 Dec 2018

Good view but food wasn't great

Great view. Clearly marked vegan options. But spring rolls were litterally just lettuce wrapped in rice paper, soup was small and watery, fried rice was kinda cold and really sweet. Wouldn't recommend

Pros: View, Clear vegan options

Cons: Bad food

AmandaRogmark

Points +62

Vegan
15 Oct 2018

terrible place DONT GO THERE

Went for lunch and order vegan spring rolls which only contained 98% lettuce and 2% noodles. For main I order vegetable fried rice which had no vegetables only lettuce, tomato and raw onion (??) Was utterly so disappointed with it all! If I could I would give this place 0 stars

Pros: nothing

Cons: no good vegan food at all, expensive for what you get, AVOID

ReiAmber

Points +3086

Vegan
19 Sep 2018

around six options that can be made vegan

We called ahead on a busy holiday to see if we could get a table for the same day and were told that we couldn't be guaranteed a table at the time we wanted, but we'd be put on a priority waiting list. We were seated within 5 minutes of arriving, which was great.

The decor is pretty, with a lot of dark wood, and the restaurant has a great view.

There is a mark that lets you know which items can be made vegan, but you still need to tell the waitstaff you want them vegan.

We got a cilantro salad, a soup and a fried rice. The salad was decent, rice was horribly oversalted (and I love salty food) and I thought the soup wasn't good at all.

I really appreciate them taking the time to write clearly on the menu what can be vegan but I wasn't impressed by the chain restaurant food at all.

If I'm in the area and hungry I might go back to try the other options that I didn't try yet but I definitely wouldn't go out of my way to eat there when there are tastier restaurants with vegan options in the area (I prefer Bill's at Decks Odaiba).

Pros: vegan mark on menu, nice decor, nice view

Cons: food doesn't taste very good

SimoneMcGuire

Points +36

Vegan
27 May 2018

delicious food and vegan options clearly labelled!

Was pleasantly surprised by the flavour of the food! The view was beautiful too!

Netta1229

Points +26

Vegan
17 Aug 2017

Gets one star for the view

Most tasteless meal I've had in a while. We waited for more than half an hour and didn't even get everything we ordered. Eventually we gave it up and left because the food was so bad. The view is nice, but you can't eat that, can you.

Pros: Nice view and interior design

Cons: Tasteless food, Bad service, Small portions




This page has been viewed 5747 times.