• Monarch Diner

  • (11)
    15
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
American
Italian
Mediterranean
Beer/Wine
Mexican
Middle Eastern
Honey
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. American restaurant, bakery and bar. Offers broccoli and seitan potato skins, vegan nacho cheesesteak, seitan marsala, loaded vegan fries, vegan gyro sandwich, vegan mac and cheese, tofu pasta primavera, cheddar seitan Beyond Burger and Beyond tex mex taco. Open Mon-Sun 6:30am-11:00pm.


11 Reviews

First Review by .aym.

Nagev68

Points +16

Vegan
01 Dec 2022

Up your game in a college town

Took my daughter tonight, we are both vegan. Seitan Cheesteak was the most inedible food we’ve ever tasted. Monarch if you read this— Please do some research On how to make seitan. Tasted like cubes of mush canned dog food and I am not exaggerating. We all know vegans are not picky! We are thrilled to find a place that offers vegan options so come on! You have literally 4 vegan options make them awesome or don’t offer them. You could make your place a go to for vegan college kids!

Advertisement

PC12345

Points +140

Vegan
21 Oct 2022

A lot of vegan options

I love their "not" cho cheesesteak. This is what I usually get. The also have a tofu scramble for breakfast. The tofu could use a little more flavoring, but it is still good. They do not have vegan butter, so bring your own. Get the hoagie roll for your breakfast bread, the other toast options are not vegan. Way too many items on the menu, make sure to ask for the vegan menu. They even have a vegan milkshake (only vanilla).

Pros: good variety, decent prices

Cons: a little pricey

FowlWinds

Points +30

Vegan
31 Aug 2022

Normalized

I had the vegan gyro. The bread was really fresh and all had nice flavor. Good fries, too. The vanilla icecream was good (maybe oatmilk). I topped it with dry walnuts and maple syrup. Oh, was that yummy.

Pros: Many Vegan lunch/dinner options, Vegan vanilla icecream

Cons: One vegan breakfast/brunch option listed, Only muffin/vanill icecream for dessert

MadisonGray

Points +628

Vegan
12 Jun 2021

They're trying.

3.5 stars. Came here for breakfast. I've been excited to try their options after finding out a nearby diner had a full page vegan menu, which is awesome! I really appreciate that they're trying.

That being said, as others have noted, the chefs don't seem experienced in preparing vegan food. I suspect they might be limited by their ideas about what vegan food can be. We sat next to the dessert counter which was telling - tons of beautifully prepared cakes, cookies, and even a marbled brownie next to a plain, unlabeled vegan muffin. There's no reason vegan food can't be just as incredible! I hope the chefs learn that over time. It's awesome to see their effort either way.

I ordered the 'Eggless Omelet', which I think is a deceptive name for any omni who might order it. It's really just tofu scramble. It came totally unseasoned (I added salt and pep before taking the pic) and was a bit wet. But it was full of very fresh and flavorful veggies which made it more than palatable, and the home fries were good.

We also didn't have a dedicated waitress, just whoever was passing by the table, and staff rushed us out. I'll give them a pass because of post-covid shenanigans.

I think I'll be back to try a few more things and will update this review.

Pros: not fantastic but they're making an effort, veggies were very fresh and homefries were good

Cons: inexperienced with vegan food - but they're trying, we didn't have a dedicated waitress, staff rushed us out

DawnMessore

21 Jan 2023

Breakfast is good. I want a scramble type bowl with the potatoes and tofu and added veggies. I asked once but an omelette came out.

Jbuddy3

Points +470

Vegan
06 May 2021

Full Page Vegan of Options

To be frank the food I ordered was not incredible, but I really believe that first and foremost a restaurant deserves a good amount of credit for offering vegan options let alone a full page of options.
I ordered the Nacho Cheesesteak and the Muffin (i think it was corn, but unspecified) Both were good and satisfied my hunger and desire for a late night vegan pig out before my drive home. I would recommend this place..friendly staff and clean diner. Would love to try some of their other stuff!

Updated from previous review on 2021-05-02

Pros: Full Page of Vegan Options, Friendly Staff, Reasonable Prices

Jugg

Points +34

Vegan
20 Dec 2020

Love this place

Great service and the veg options are on point. Most diners screw things up but here. I HIGHLY recommend

Genyvieve

Points +228

Vegan
27 Sep 2020

Meh

Lots of vegan options and while I appreciate they are trying, I feel like they just don’t know how to prepare vegan food. I got the tofu scramble and it was bland and tasteless (which of course tofu is unless you know what to do with it). I ate here when they first opened and it wasn’t good so came back a second time to give them another try but the second time wasn’t any better :(

Pros: Lots of vegan options for a diner!

ghost_ley

Points +308

Vegan
13 Sep 2020

yummy vegan cheddar!

Their vegan cheddar slaps! Got the potato skins and they were really good, non veg mom loved them too! Also ordered the eggless breakfast sandwich and as a tofu scramble expert was very disappointed. Over all definitely want to come back and try more options!

marryamn

Points +13

Vegetarian
17 Jan 2020

fries

the waitress let me know the fries are not veg friendly, they’re fried in the same oil as the bacon. this includes the vegan loaded fries - they still use the same bacon oil for those fries. it was nice of her to let me know though i wish the menu was more clear!

nat813

Points +52

Vegan
12 Nov 2019

Awesome vegan and vegetarian options

New vegan options! Expanded menu. Beyond meat options.

Pros: Lots of vegan and vegetarian options, Two full pages of options, A lot of food!

Cons: Need more breakfast options.

.aym.

Points +493

Vegan
02 Jul 2019

Lots of vegan options!

Gloucester County vegans rejoice...there's finally someplace in the area to go out for dinner! With 2 full pages of vegan options on the menu, there's definitely plenty to choose from. We tried the vegan gyro and the vegan Tex Mex tacos which were both great, although the other stuff that came with them (soup, fries, and a vegan muffin for dessert) were just so-so. This is a large restaurant with lots of seating options and a full bar, so it's a great place to come with a group, but equally great to come by yourself and sit at the counter.

Pros: Many vegan options, Lots of seating, Large portions, reasonably priced

Nagev68

01 Dec 2022

They’ve definitely gone down hill in their vegan offerings since 2019




This page has been viewed 3017 times.