Vegan-friendly
Ovo
Japanese
Macrobiotic
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Gluten-free
Breakfast
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Macrobiotic cafe at 淀川区西中島6-8-8, a 10-minute walk from Shin-Osaka station. Offers breakfast, lunch, dinner, sweets, and takeaway bento boxes. Menu is mostly plant-based, with set meal options including a daily feature, taco rice, pasta, ramen, and chilled tofu. Family owned with dog on the premises. Uses milk and eggs on request. Reported July 2022 to serve meat. Open Mon-Fri 7:30am-10:00am, Mon-Sun 11:00am-2:00pm, 5:00pm-10:00pm.


Venue map for Merrymomo
© OpenStreetMap contributors

27 Reviews

First Review by Ruwi

nikhui

Points +171

Vegan
18 Feb 2024

Spicy ramen is a must!

The cutest little restaurant with plenty of vegan options. We absolutely adored our waitress who was so friendly. I had the spicy ramen which is my favourite ramen EVER! Also had the curry, fried ‘meat’, and gyoza.

Advertisement

EerishikaPankaj

Points +41

Vegetarian
16 Dec 2023

Absolutely amazing!

This place is such a life-saver if you are a vegan and living near the Shin-Osaka station area. Amazing food, and a wonderful staff!

I went there for almost every meal during my 3 days in Osaka!

Updated from previous review on 2023-12-16

Pros: Staff: English Speaking!, Food: So lovingly cooked!, Ambience: You can shop also!

Cons: None.

SíodhmhaithWalsh

Points +91

Vegan
28 Sep 2023

Tasty food

Really lovely café/restaurant. The friendly waitress was able to guide me as to what vegan options were gluten free. Had a really yummy sweet & sour dish. And even had a stunning chocolate cake. They have a takeaway menu too, so I was able to get something for lunch the next day.

KshiSur

Points +105

Vegan
23 Sep 2023

Great food

Loved the food. The waitress was friendly and explained the dishes and recommended. And it was quite easy to find

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-23

Pros: Delicious , Restaurant can be identified easily

Cons: Music

TanLC

Points +111

Vegetarian
12 Jul 2023

Delicious food!

Loved this cute space! Wasn't a fan of the music playing, but that's a minor detail. The food was delicious, and the staff were amazing. Also loved all the vegan treats available to buy, like sweets broths.

Pros: Lots of veg / vegan options , Vegan treats , Can buy broths for home (vegan)

Cons: Music playing in store (but that's personal pref)

thisisme

Points +107

Vegan
03 Jun 2023

Exceptional

One of my best meals in Osaka. Popular with locals. Go!

Monkipp

Points +30

Vegetarian
06 Apr 2023

Really excellent owner-run little restaurant

Lovely little restaurant with a predominantly vegan and vegetarian menu. (There are a not many meat options). I would have liked to have given this more than 5 stars. Great food and very friendly service (English speaking and English menu). It’s a very nice cafe / small restaurant and very easy to find. Excellent value.

Pros: Lots of vegan/veggie choices , English menu , Delicious food

Cons: None

itsrinokt_

Points +3348

Vegan
13 Nov 2021

Macrobiotic, vegan-friendly cafe

It’s a 15-minute walk from Shin Osaka station to the cafe, and it’s worth it.
Would love to eat “black sesami tan tan noodle” again.

Updated from previous review on 2021-11-13

UnaMJ

Points +182

Vegan
29 Apr 2021

cute and yummy

nice place, and the food was good. mostly vegan menu with one meat dish. i had the vegan daily and it was good! pretty interesting and relatively filling :-)

Updated from previous review on 2019-03-27

Pros: also there was a dog!

wormcloud

Points +208

Vegan
31 Jul 2020

new favourite lunch spot

Excellent menu. All vegan, no meat. Had the spicy sesame noodles and they were the best thing I’d eaten for ages. Nice ambience and friendly, English-speaking staff.

Highly recommend this place.

As with most of the Happy Cow entries for Japan, the opening hours are wrong.

tatikei

Points +32

Vegan
17 Feb 2020

Delicious food!

Cosy little restaurant, very popular in the area and can get busy at lunchtime. We had the vegan set menu with miso, brown rice, pickles and seitan. Also tried their mapo tofu and different desserts - all very tasty. NB: They will close when they sell out so it’s best to come early.

Pros: Great food

Cons: Can get busy

FredrikCarenborn

Points +15

Vegetarian
18 Sep 2019

Wonderly cozy restaurant and friendly staff. Good and fresh food.

After we lived on broth and carbohydrates for several days, we finally found a restaurant that could cook meat substitutes. We ate both Temphe and soy bits.

Pros: Nice staff, Nice place, Good food

Cons: No english meny, but went fine when we talked

Bergie

Points +19

Mostly Veg
19 Jun 2019

Best vegan sushi in Japan

We were in Osaka, consulted the Happy Cow app, and chose this restaurant. Except for one table, the place was empty.

In retrospect, there was probably a sign in Japanese saying the restaurant was closed, because it was the owner's 61st birthday. But they served us anyway.

The vegan sushi was the best we experienced in Japan. The service was excellent. The value was great.

And we got to share Poppi's birthday. Thank you for the wonderful experience!

Pros: Vegan sushi was outstanding, The service was excellent, The value was great; the experience outstanding

naturallyemmablog

Points +236

Vegan
26 Apr 2019

Nice option for lunch on the go

Nice little bento box for lunch, although I didn’t like all of the elements of it, most was tasty!

Pros: Lunch on the go!

ach

Points +273

Vegan
12 Apr 2019

Delicious lunch

Sweet restaurant! I had the delicious plate of the day that included seitan, brown rice, miso and a couple of vegetable and bean additions. Vegan blueberry cheesecake was divine.

HollyJacob

Points +133

Vegan
12 Jan 2019

Excellent food!

Cute little cafe with lovely staff. My friend and I shared plant based gyoza and a small cake. Very fresh!! I’d come here again

breadandwalter

Points +20

Vegan
19 Dec 2018

It won’t let me give 5 stars since it’s not full veg. But it’s 5 stars.

It was such a pleasant experience. The dog Limu was incredible and the owners were so so nice. They fed us a massive vegan feast that was easily the best food I’ve had in all my trips to Japan. Will 100% go back every time I’m in Osaka. Thanks for everything!

Pros: Mostly vegan, Mostly gluten free, Amazing food

Cons: Nothing

Tomo Okabe

Points +737

Vegan
17 Dec 2018

One of the best restaurants in Osaka

It’s very disappointing to not give them 5 stars because this place is by far the best restaurant that I have been to in Osaka.
Very fine and delicate taste and so delicious this is a place not to be missed

Pros: Mostly vegan , Delicious

LissyBurton

Points +52

Vegan
08 Dec 2018

Extremely Disappointed!

We walked 20 minutes to get to this restaurant, which was meant to be open until 10-11pm, but when we arrived at 7pm they would not serve us as they were about to close. What a waste of our time!

Pros: Who knows, we never got the chance to try anything

Cons: Closing when they are meant to be open

trouvien

Points +289

Vegan
30 Nov 2018

Amazing Japanese cuisine

Delicious food with great care given to presentation and flavors. I had the impression that perhaps they expect more foreign customers for lunch, since only the lunch menu had an English translation, but the staff was happy to explain the menu. For dinner, there was one set course that was vegan, so there wasn't necessarily a lot of flexibility, but I felt taken care of with the chef's choices and being brought along on a journey of vegan Japanese dishes. The dishes were brought out one-by-one with explanations about each one, and with dessert, I thought it was a well-thought-out and filling amount of food for about 2500 yen. I had an excellent experience.

Jordan333

Points +84

Vegan
22 Oct 2018

Lovely owner and atmosphere

I spent hours here. The ownervwas very kind and let me play piano for them. The dog sat with me and one of her culinary students was also very kind to me. It was a fabulous experience.

Pros: authentic food, delicious, cozy

SabrinaNizeti

Points +180

Vegan
20 Sep 2018

Mostly vegan menu

Love this place, the owner was so sweet and she explained the menu to us as it wasn’t in English. Really delicious and wholesome food. And they have a sweet little dog who’s really cute whos behind the counter.

Pros: I suggest the taco rice! , Very friendly , Mostly vegan

Cons: None!

yeogicchi

Points +68

Vegan
25 May 2018

Sweet and worth the walk

This place is a little out of the way of any big attractions, but the food is worth it. I tried one of the morning sets with rice, miso soup, and several side dishes, all made by the friendly woman who owns the establishment. It was also surprisingly cheap for the quality. I haven’t tried any of the other foods here, but everything looked equally as good.

Pros: Affordable, Nice Establishment

MILI8

Points +24

Vegan
04 May 2018

Awesome!

My best vegan restaurant in Osaka. It’s family owned restaurant with a cute dog. They serve vegan macrobiotic breakfast, lunch, dinner, and sweet. You can get vegan bento too! The owners are so kind. I highly recommend you to visit this restaurant and try their awesome foods if you’re in Osaka!

Pros: Friendly staff, Good vibe , Excellent food

EmmaCebuliak

Points +1735

Herbivore
29 Apr 2018

Yummy Vegan Set Meals

This restaurant is pleasant, bright and spacious inside, has free wifi and an almost completely vegan menu. The food is simple but really carefully prepared and balanced; I'll go back soon!

Updated from previous review on 2018-04-29

Pros: Inexpensive, Good food, Close to Shin Osaka station

JeppoMAX

Points +685

Vegan
01 Jan 2018

Charming mainly vegan spot

Went for Christmas dinner with my girlfriend; from what I understood from the server, the entire menu is essentially vegan but certain items can be changed to non-veg. Not sure if that's a step forward or back..? The staff also weren't borderline aggressive like they inexplicably tend to be at places here, which was nice.

As can be seen in my photos, they have separate breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. Breakfast seems sandwich-centred, lunch teishoku and dinner half Chinese half western/Japanese.

In any case, the food was good and the portion/price ratio wasn't bad as it can be, at least not for what we ordered. Dinner for two with a beer was ¥4000. I hadn't seen vegan rice omelette before, so that was a treat!

Pros: Variety, Atmosphere, Flavour

Cons: Some dishes pricey, Will add meat to dishes (?)

Ruwi

Points +745

Vegan
09 Aug 2017

Great vegan friendly cafe in Shin Osaka

Great customer service, the owner greeted us & explained the menu in English. She understands vegan requirements and went above & beyond to ensure we were satisfied with our meals. Tasty Japanese style food with a modern twist, lovely cafe!

Pros: nice ambience, English menu, understands difference between vegan & vegetarian

Cons: serves meat




This page has been viewed 6904 times.