Vegan
Japanese

Offers vegan dishes like Japanese curry with udon, burdock sandwich, salad with dressing. Different kinds of health tea available. This restaurant has a view on the ocean and old movies poster collection as a part of the interior. Apr 2019 reported fully vegan. Open Mon-Sun 10:00am-8:00pm.


Venue map for Malibu House
ยฉ OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by VictoriaGarafola

docCK

Points +683

Vegan
21 Sep 2022

Former lobster/steak turned VEGAN SEP2022 * NO more curry

Beautiful ocean view, 100% Vegan, Oil free, sugar free cooking ! Brown rice ! Yay. Healthy Vegan ( not a junk food Vegan restaurant). ๐Ÿ˜‹

This place is a secret ... your choice if you want to keep it that way.

Owners story is interesting. 35 year old restaurant, vegan for 12 years. Owner turned vegan himself after poor meat eating diet. Owner cared so much about health he stopped serving meat and animal foods. Wow!

Place used to be a famous steak and lobster house 12 years ago- 35 years ago. Used to be filled with Americans and tourists, now a quiet vegan restaurant.

Nice !

Updated from previous review on 2021-12-20

Pros: All vegan joint , Famous steak lobster restaursnt, turned Vegan, Yummy ๐Ÿ˜‹

Cons: Eccentric , Maybe long wait for food, NO MORE CURRY!

Advertisement

ShanayshaEvans

Points +532

Vegan
04 Aug 2021

So good!

Simple, eclectic place with an all vegan menu

Pros: Delicious, Healthy

Cons: Not a lot of options

EmmaDendler

Points +233

Vegan
14 Oct 2019

Delicious!

Absolutely wonderful! All vegan, GF, oil free, and sugar free cooking. It was so delicious yet so healthy. We got the #2 set, curry udon, okonomiyaki, and fried onigiri. It was all so tasty. We ended the night with dessert. The only complaint there was that it was not as sweet as we normally eat cake, but it was still yummy. I would definitely eat there again!

Pros: All vegan menu, Very tasty, GF, oil free, and sugar free

Cons: Location is a little inconvenient

ZMelin

Points +116

Vegan
09 Apr 2019

Healthy and delicious

As far as I can tell, this restaurant is fully vegan. The kind woman in front asked us if we were okay with a menu of this type. She got an emphatic yes ๐Ÿ˜‚. I got the impression that many gaijin leave after discovering itโ€™s vegan ๐Ÿ™.

I see a couple of poor reviews here, but honestly, we were quite satisfied with our meals. Now, if youโ€™re looking for vegan junk food, this isnโ€™t the place for you. They donโ€™t even use sugar in their recipes. As such, it might not have the flavors youโ€™re used to, but we still found our food tasty.

Together we had both flavors of onigiri (huge portions), the house curry and rice, some curry veg on noodles, an omelette-type thing, and spaghetti marinara. Everything had plenty of fresh veg worked in and was flavorful. One of my sons said five stars, the other said four because the onigiri left something to be desired for him.

The atmosphere is interesting. There were movie posters on every surface. Movie instrumental theme music played in the background over a continuous ocean wave track. It was pleasant. The venue itself was spaciousโ€”not what weโ€™re used to in Japan.

Finally, the map coordinates are off by quite a bit. This restaurant is actually ON Malibu Beach, so navigate to that instead.

Pros: Reasonable prices, Friendly staff, On the beach with windows

Cons: None

AlonGlez

Points +94

Vegan
01 Jan 2019

Special place, bad food

Its so great that this restaurant turned vegan, but the food was really really bad. They HAVE to improve.

Wizneski

Points +80

Vegan
11 Mar 2017

Good food and a hoot of a Movie buff mofif

It's true the menu is now all veg and we thought it was really good. Not a huge selection of dishes, but it's all locally sourced and they have seasonal dishes too.

Pros: Good food, Friendly service, On the beach

Cons: Brood menu

Ajolote

Points +1321

Vegan
14 Jul 2016

Bland food, few options, cool space

When you enter this restaurant, it's hard to tell where you are. The walls are covered with old movie posters and collages of actors and actresses like Cameron Diaz, Marilyn Monroe and Johnny Depp. It's a pretty cool atmosphere. Also, the windows in the back face a beautiful beach.

The food, on the other hand, is pretty bad . There are only a few menu items and they all seem designed to be hospital food. My friend ordered one of the set menus, which was curry with rice; that was probably the best menu item and was ok at best. The onigiris are big, but lack flavor and the salad is a sad little bowl half-full of overboiled vegetables with a tasteless dressing. The burdock sandwich was unexpectedly sweet. The dessert was a bland sponge cake made with brown rice flour.

Apparently, the owner used to have a steak and lobster restaurant, but after getting sick over and over again, he decided to change the menu and make it all vegan. That's a great first step! Now, please improve the food!

Go to check out the posters, but skip the food.

VictoriaGarafola

Points +970

Vegan
03 Apr 2016

Wonderful Vegan Food

Despite what is listed on Happy Cow, this restaurant is 100% vegetarian, all food is vegan. I would have given this listing a 5 star review but it is not allowed for "non-veg" restaurants.

Not only is this place delicious and cheap but it's also a retro movie poster museum. There are hundreds of old movie posters and it's really neat to see them in Japanese. The ocean front view was breathtaking and the food was healthy and delicious. They have an English menu and were very kind to us. Highly recommended.

Pros: ocean view, retro movie posters, vegan food




This page has been viewed 5120 times.