Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Organic
Beer/Wine
European
French
Fusion

Serving vegetarian and vegan versions of French peasant food as well other cuisines like falafel and specials. Located in Paris Latin Quarter, in the 5ème arrondissement, near Saint Michel metro. Not handicap accessible. Open Mon 12:00-14:30, 18:30-22:00, Tue-Fri 12:00-23:00, Sat-Sun 09:00-23:00.


Venue map for Le Grenier de Notre Dame
© OpenStreetMap contributors

227 Reviews

First Review by Poundie

saragrw

Points +109

Vegetarian
21 Feb 2024

Angolo vegetariano nel quartiere latino

Personale gentilissimo e ambiente piacevole. Vasta scelta nei piatti e tutti abbondanti. Noi abbiamo optato per due insalate auvergnate: insalata verde, formaggio bleu de auvergnate, crostini noci e olive

Advertisement

Pha3nna

Points +122

Vegan
10 Feb 2024

Riche et gourmand

Une super expérience! Les portions étaient bonne et la nourriture délicieuse

DominicHowell

Points +49

Vegetarian
05 Feb 2024

Lovely Vegetarian Restaurant

Well-established vegetarian restaurant very close to Notre Dame. The menu is quite varied including vegan options. Staff were friendly and the food was good!

alexstaffo851

Points +250

Vegan
30 Jan 2024

Great food

Quite pricey and small little place but amazing authentic French food.

travellingtempests

Points +26

Vegan
29 Jan 2024

Flavoursome food, sweet staff + service - romantic!

We visited Le Grenier de Notre Dame on our first night in Paris. We booked an hour ahead but think it would have been fine to walk in too.

We ordered the L’Escalope de Seitan and L’assiette berbère - they were both delicious and very flavoursome and it felt like a hearty, healthy and wholesome meal - just what we needed after a day of travelling.

We also treated ourselves to the chocolate cake and brownie for dessert.

Several dishes either vegan already or could be made vegan.

The service was excellent, very sweet and attentive staff and it was very calm, relaxed atmosphere. We visited in January but reckon it would be lovely to sit outside in the summer months!

#Veganuary

Pros: Tasty, flavoursome food, Nice, authentic atmosphere, Great service

k1223a

Points +34

Vegan
26 Jan 2024

Good food and good vibes

This cosy restaurant is so cute and friendly and the staff were incredible. The menu is extensive with lots of different types of options, vegetarian and vegan. I had the vegan potato dauphinois and it was incredible! I also had the brownie for dessert, which was also amazing. So great to be able to have French cuisine as a vegan!

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-26

Pros: Extensive menu, Friendly staff , Great food

Cons: Not cheap (not expensive either)

SeanBerger

Points +686

Vegan
21 Jan 2024

A little on the bland side

Stumbled upon Grenier Notre-D and it's a hidden gem, though it could use a bit of flavor tweaking. The menu is extensive, offering a number of choices.

Tried the lentil burger, but it was on the dry side and lacked that cohesive flavor burst. The gratin, while promising, fell a bit short on seasoning and ended up on the bland side.

Despite these hiccups, I'd give the restaurant another shot if I lived in Paris. It seems to have tons of options, perhaps a tad too many. A little less choice and a bit more refinement could elevate the dining experience.

Pros: Diverse menu, Creative menu items, Friendly staff

Cons: Food was on the dry and bland side

Meech

Points +105

Vegan
24 Dec 2023

Decent

We had the vegan cheese plate, the fuax gras, the seasonal mushroom gratin special, and a plate with tofu, seitan, and rice.
The cheese plate and tofu/seitan plate were pretty good, but overall nothing was particularly exceptional. The fuax gras just tasted like curry hummus and the mushroom gratin was very salty and fatty.

Pros: High quality vegan cheese, Tender seitan, Service

Cons: Salty, Lack of flavor variety

spacetag

Points +628

Vegan
09 Dec 2023

Vegan cheese board was amazing

Great little romantic restaurant. They have a vegan cheese board which was amazing, I've never tasted anything like it. Everything there we tried was very good, but it was expensive

Pros: Big menu, mostly vegan

Cons: Expensive

MsDW

Points +353

Vegan
03 Dec 2023

Local French vegetarian restaurant

We came here after our expected reservation cancelled. It is a tiny and cosy little restaurant with upstairs seating. It is popular with locals and a few tourists.
The menu is vegetarian and vegan. Some vegetarian options can be veganised but beware cheese on some dishes.

We had a big food day the previous day so opted to share one starter and one main. We had chickpea ‘faux gras’ which was essentially hummus. The main was a seitan escalope that we had asked to have vegan. It came with salad , potatoes and a ratatouille. It was delicious. Portions were massive so we were glad that we shared.

We didn’t have dessert but they looked amazing! Highly recommend trying one of the fresh juices. Delicious!

Pros: Local restaurant , Staff!

cynicaloptimist

Points +1379

Vegan
29 Nov 2023

Okay food

The food was okay but rather pricey - comes with the neighbourhood and location I guess. A huge range of things on the menu which is great if you can’t decide but I think we found it meant each dish was mediocre.

I got the dauphinois and it was okay - lacking in seasoning. My partner got the curry and it looked very disappointing.

suricatoavellana

Points +532

Vegan
22 Nov 2023

Nice food and atmosphere

This vegetarian place is very vegan friendly. The atmosphere was nice and the food was ok. Nothing special but we enjoyed it after a lot of walking. Very nice staff

Plantbaseddallas

Points +159

Vegan
10 Oct 2023

Exceptional!!

We all ordered the daily special which was 3 courses! So so good!

Pros: Excellent Food, Friendly staff, Quaint

Gal_Efraty

Points +417

Vegan
07 Oct 2023

very good food and nice atmosphere

Vegetarian - vegan-friendly restaurant with several vegan dishes. Ate there a good cuscus dis hand a really good chocolate cake with a rose ice cream.

vegantrace

Points +143

Vegan
09 Aug 2023

fabulous french food

The menu had plenty of options and we ended up choosing le burger au bleu d’a and the gratin, then the le gateau au chocolat. it was all so tasty and reasonably priced.

Pros: the cafe decor, the staff, the food

dpollinger

Points +71

Vegan
01 Aug 2023

Great location

Have visited twice in the past 10 months and been happy with the food and service both times. Vegetarian restaurant, although plenty of vegan options which are clearly marked, with descriptions in English as well as French. Lovely location in a little street just opposite the Notre Dame. Nice to have some healthy vegan food rather than just junk food. I thought the flavours were a little basic compared to other restaurants I have visited, although it was good for the price, especially considering the location.

Pros: Healthy vegan food, Great location, Good price

calibeartree

Points +20

Vegan
26 Jul 2023

Delicious vegan French dishes!

Delicious gratin, vegan burger, and chocolate avocado cake!! Excellent service!

mohanaholloway

Points +481

Vegan
10 Jun 2023

unique and delicious food

absolutely loved the food here! very flavorful. highly recommend seitan dishes. staff speaks limited english.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

TiffanyAnn

Points +244

Vegetarian
08 Jun 2023

Very tasty and friendly

We got the Gratin and the seitan steak and both were very delicious. Excellent French meals and so close to Shakespeare and Company as well as the Notre Dame. Well worth a visit

hellokitty79

Points +28

Vegan
07 Jun 2023

Fantastic vegan and veggie restaurant

Staff were really lovely, so helpful too. Food and cocktails so delicious!! Fantastic location. Wonderful restaurant that we highly recommend!

TwanB

Points +106

Vegan
04 Jun 2023

Oldest vegetarian restaurant of France

The oldest vegetarian / vegan restaurant of France! Very nice menu with many vegan options.
Nice place to sit. Friendly staff. We had a delicious dinner.

MsIreneWalsh

Points +220

Vegan
03 Jun 2023

Good quality vegan and GF food

Solid food option in a touristy area; has 2 gluten free options and some vegan options too.

Pros: Tasty food, Good outdoor seating, Good service

Cons: Quite expensive, Touristy vibe around you

Schmandpfropfen

Points +57

Vegan
26 May 2023

Upscale vegan hidden spot

Nestled below the former Notre Dame, this cozy restaurant delivers some very intriguing vegan options and delicious lemonades. I tried the gratin and was delighted, but it is a bit more expensive to eat there.

Pros: Cozy, Delicious

Cons: Expensive, Not all vegan

IsoldG

Points +24

Vegan
07 May 2023

Lovely little place!

Cozy little place, great (organic!) food, nice and attentive staff 😊. Be sure to book a table though as it fills up fast!

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-07

JulieEA

Points +2456

Vegan
03 May 2023

A perfect evening meal

We had a lovely evening meal here with a great ambiance sitting outside under the canopy with some light rain. We ordered the avocado appetizer and it was really delicious! I would definitely get it again! Four our main dishes we chose a seitan dish and a gratin dish, both were delicious, but the seitan was really perfect. We paired the meal with a nice red wine and had a delicious chocolate cake for dessert. Really pleasant. A nice place for an upscale vegan meal.

Pros: really wonderful vegan dishes, creative flavors, pleasant outdoor seating

Cons: not 100 percent vegan, could have more vegan options

hack_man

03 May 2023

A truly fabulous place indeed - last time I was here was 31st Dec 2010 for a fantastic NYE meal. Looks a bit more upscale now

MiraAuroraMarlow

Points +51

Vegan
20 Apr 2023

Ok food but not exciting

This place was recommended by two vegan guides so we expected more than we got. The food was not hot or had any exciting flavours. We also got a tiny table with very little room for eating and had to squeeze between tables in a tiny corner. But the service was good and it was inexpensive. Better for people who don't need more than average food.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Good service , Inexpensive

Cons: Unexciting food , Tiny place , Could not decide where to sit

IssyFidderman

Points +307

Vegan
02 Apr 2023

Delicous

Really yummy food with good veggie and vegan options and lovely service. Centrally located with a lovely ambiance inside. Particularly impressed with the vegan cheese in the dauphinon gratin - I can’t believe how yummy this was!




This page has been viewed 58589 times.