• Koto

  • (11)
    17
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Beer/Wine
Vietnamese
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Restaurant that trains disadvantaged and homeless Vietnamese youth in hospitality. Two pages of the menu dedicated to vegetarian food, of which many items are vegan and all can be made vegan. Across from the Temple of Literature. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-10:00pm.


Venue map for Koto
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by VanVeganHanoi

Stevegan*

Points +24

Vegan
07 Jan 2024

Delicious food for a great cause

I had the tofu poke bowl which was gorgeous! They employ disadvantaged youths. Staff all do friendly. Go here before or after the Temple of Literature (which is also amazing)

Advertisement

DanBereczki

Points +22

Vegan
25 Nov 2023

Great food for a great cause

Outstanding banana flower and green papaya salad paired with the pumpkin and sweet potato in clay pot made the perfect lunch on our arrival to Hanoi. The menu has a lot of meat and fish, but there's plenty of items that either are already vegan or can be made vegan. I'd give them 5 stars but HC doesn't Like that for places that aren't fully vegan

Pros: Great flavors, Excellent presentation, Great service

stulave

Points +860

Vegan
05 Sep 2022

Lovely food, which supports a worthwhile cause

Whilst this isn’t a vegan, upon request these did preparer a lovely 3 course vegan meal. Would definitely recommend eating here!

leont

Points +681

Vegan
24 Aug 2022

Nice and good quality food

We came here for lunch after visiting the Temple of Literature. A really nice place to cool down physically and wind down your senses.
We had a delicious Pumpkin soup and a big tasty Poke Bowl. Definitely quality food!
The staff is very kind and speaks good English.
We will surely come back again when we have time.

Pros: Quality food, Atmosphere , Kind English speaking staff

AdrianEdery

Points +20

Vegan
08 Mar 2020

Too pricy for what you get

Food was good
But too expensive for a plate of vermicelli noodles.
Would not come back

Pros: Tasty

Cons: Expensive

LynnM

Points +315

Vegetarian
10 Jan 2020

Very satisfied

This place is a little bit on the pricey side but we were very satisfied with our food. We took the Koto vegetarian noodles and Braised pumpkin with mushrooms. Both dishes were really tasty. However please note that there is a 5% service charge and 10% TVA added to your bill.

EdenTsubery

Points +560

Vegan
24 Nov 2019

Good but pricey.

Had the noodles and the panini without cheese. The panini was OK, not more. The noodles were very very good!

Cons: The staff offered me stuff with cheese.

Betty2

Points +17

Vegetarian
26 Jun 2019

Meat in vegan rolls

Ordered crystal rolls off the vegetarian menu. When they came they had beef and prawn in them. We said we thought they were going to be vegetarian and were told 'you can just take it out'. Why bother having a veg menu then?

Cons: Meat in vegan rolls.

sylsite

Points +23

Vegetarian
27 Mar 2019

Delicious

I had an amazing salad and splurged on a cocktail. Delicious!

jchristie

Points +13

Vegetarian
13 Aug 2018

Fresh food Vietnamese

Good for vegetarians vegans and meat eaters . Open when others aren’t mid afternoon

Pros: Lots of vegetarian options well presented , Great staff and service , Green in practise no plastic straws

Cons: Bit expensive but doing good work , None

VanVeganHanoi

Points +393

Vegan
28 Mar 2017

vegetarian options

I ate at Koto this afternoon, there are not many options for vegans actually. (See my uploaded photos in the gallery above)
Very expensive for vegetarian foods standard in Hanoi.
~90.000 - 105.000 for a salad dish
~100.000-140.000 for a main dish
I understand their problems of renting this very expensive location which is located just nearby Van Mieu Quoc Tu Giam (First University of ancient Vietnam) so this high price is somehow acceptable. But the food's quality and deliciousness could be much more better ! :) Hope they will make some improvements in the future.

Updated from previous review on 2017-03-28

Pros: Location, English spoken staff , friendly staff

Cons: almost vegetarian options , Very expensive , not yummy




This page has been viewed 4498 times.