• Khasiyat

  • (7)
    22
    Loading...
  • White Vegetarian
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Indian
Buffet
Delivery

Orlando Indian vegetarian restaurant featuring an all-you-can-eat buffet. Tell a staff you are vegan, and s/he will direct you away from the few dairy items. Very informal and low key; previously located on Lancaster Rd. Open Mon 11:30am-8:00pm, Wed-Sun 11:30am-8:00pm.


Venue map for Khasiyat
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by VeggieGamer

GaëtanBernard

Points +54

Vegan
19 Feb 2024

Authentic and delicious

Super authentic and delicious restaurant ! We were able to discover a lot of dishes that are usually not found in regular Indian restaurants (at least in Europe). Staff was very kind and helpful.

Pros: Very tasty, Good portions , Helpful staff

Cons: Plastic cutlery

Advertisement

SJoshi

Points +40

Vegan
31 May 2022

Excellent Place for Vegan Indian Catering

Khasiyat and Mitesh catered my wedding in May 2021 and did an excellent job. It is hard to find someone willing to experiment with vegan Indian food. Mitesh was able to not only experiment, but excel at making it. I am go glad I found him. His business is more geared towards catering, so this review is not as useful for those dropping in as he may not have a lot of the vegan ingredients. However, if you are interested in having catered, vegan, Indian food at your next event, then this is the place to go. I have posted photos of some the following food items:

Gulab Jamun
Pizza
Palak tofu
Seitan chicken with gravy
Navratan korma
Sliders made with impossible meat
Avocado keg ole
Mac and cheese balls
Egg tartlets
Seitan chicken tikka station
Vegan breakfast burrito
Apple coconut barfi (dessert)
Badam katli (dessert)
Vegan taco station
Vegan nacho station
Beyond beef and mushroom empanadas

If you don't see something you want on the menu, Mitesh is willing to work with you until the job is done right. In this day and age, it is hard to find people so patient, skilled, and motivated. I highly recommend this place and will be using them for our next catered event!

sglcklch

Points +2815

Vegan
21 Dec 2019

Good, cheap food but atmosphere lacking

Came here for dinner on an overnight by the airport. Pretty standard Indian fare apart from a few Gujarati specialties. Food was good, if a bit salty, and came in big portions. The general use of foam plates and plastic utensils was unfortunate. The kind and warm owner did help make the place feel less cold and dead.

Pros: good food, nice owner, huge portions

Cons: single-use utensils, atmosphere

vegpilot

Points +416

Vegetarian
27 Oct 2019

Great food

Excellent Gujarati food. Vegan options available.

Pros: Friendly staff, Very helpful

feorag

Points +526

Vegan
22 Jun 2014

Basic but good

On arrival at Khasiyat, I realised that it was the good Indian place I'd been to previously, but could not remember the name. My fault for not reviewing it for the Happy Cow back then!

On both occasions, we had the buffet. The non-vegan items were pointed out to me (and to other customers who came in and said they were vegan), and I still had quite a bit of choice, including dhokla, and some curries. The breads, puri and roti, were cooked fresh and brought to us. The aubergine curry was a rich, earthy delight, though the mixed beans reminded me a little of anaemic British baked beans. There were toasted bread rolls and a mince-style curry intended to be poured over them (pau bhaji, I think), and a spectacular carrot pickle with lots of mustard.

The Omnivore expressed delight on arrival, and remains happy to eat here.

Pros: cheap, filling

Cons: basic, disposables used

cinnamonstick

Points +28

Vegan
21 Jan 2010

great Indian food!

I made a special trip to this restaurant because I live on the other side of town, and it was a little hard to find, so make sure you take a good copy of directions with you. We arrived late and missed the lunch buffet because we got lost, but the owners were VERY nice and prepared a sample platter with vegan items from the buffet especially for us! Just make sure you tell them you do not eat dairy (ghee, yogurt, etc). The restaurant was very informal, but neat & clean, and they had a funny Bollywood movie playing on their TV while we ate. Worth the trip.

Pros: inexpensive, great food, nice owners

Cons: location

VeggieGamer

Points +22

Vegetarian
07 May 2009

Not very fancy, but delicious food

After struggling to find this restaurant (the address was incorrect), we finally arrived. It's a medium sized business in the middle of a small strip center.

The food is clearly intended to be taken out of buffet style. They do have a menu, and we tried numerous entrees, but they don't have the normal restaurant equipment. Meals are eaten off of Styrofoam plates (taken off the buffet), they only have plastic and styrofoam, very simple set up.

But the food was delicious - not to oily - and was completely vegetarian.

We went on a Friday night, and the place was completely empty (distressingly so!). But without a doubt, as long as I don't need anything fancy, I'd eat there again.

Pros: Vegetarian, Good Fare, Friendly

Cons: Very informal, Throwaway dining gear, Empty




This page has been viewed 10566 times.