• Journey To The Dumpling

  • (6)
    8
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Chinese
Take-out
Asian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Vegetarian items are listed on menu, ask which are vegan. Many dishes can be modified including the chow fun and veggie chow mein. Also has Impossible dumplings, vegetarian black bean chow fun, vegan fried tofu and garlic green beans, Open Mon-Fri 11:00am-3:00pm, Mon-Thu 4:00pm-9:00pm, Fri-Sat 4:00pm-9:30pm, Sat-Sun 10:00am-3:00pm, Sun 4:00pm-9:00pm.


Venue map for Journey To The Dumpling
© OpenStreetMap contributors

6 Reviews

First Review by karl8704

sparkley_vegan

Points +61

Vegan
06 Jan 2024

Fresh, delicious, and many vegan options!

Absolutely delicious food with tons of choices! Food was super fresh, and the staff are very knowledgeable on vegan food offerings. We were told most things on the menu can be made vegan. All dipping sauces except one are vegan. Salt and pepper tofu is usually served with bonito but if you specify vegan they will not prepare it with bonito. They were out of the impossible dumplings when we visited, but the house made vegan dumplings were so fresh and flavorful, that I wasn’t disappointed at all missing out on the impossible ones! The onion pancake is vegan and so good. We subbed rice noodles to enjoy the dumpling noodle soup, I highly recommend on a day when you need something to warm the soul ☺️

Pros: Vegan dumplings, Onion pancake , Helpful and knowledgeable staff

Advertisement

JenineBarghouty

Points +23

Vegan
20 Dec 2023

Worth the drive

We drove down from the Auburn area. It was so worth it. Parking wasn’t bad either. Everything I ordered that was vegan was delicious! Ask if they are out of anything before you get excited about ordering though. They sell out of things. Service was outstanding!

Updated from previous review on 2023-12-20

Pros: Impossible dumplings, Mushroom bao, Chow Fun

Vegan_Hiker_Foodie

Points +2961

Vegan
21 May 2023

Food was good and service was ok

So the food was pretty good and there were several clearly marked vegan options on the menu. Unfortunately the server mixed up the vegetarian and vegan dumplings when serving them to the table…a mistake not realized until many were eaten! The vegan dumplings were really good though and the impossible dumplings tasted eerily like meat! We got the chow fun with black bean sauce too which was good but we’ve had better. The green onion pancakes were ok. We were disappointed that they could not veganize the Vietmese coffee or Thai iced tea. The place was packed at lunch time on Saturday!

Pros: Good food , Vegan options clearly marked , Easy parking

Cons: Servers mixed up vegan and vegetarian dishes , Can’t veganize beverages

Tierza

Points +58

Vegan
21 Jan 2023

Never disappoints

My family and I have went here multiple times, we have recently made the transition to a vegan lifestyle and are relived that they offer a pretty varied vegan menu. We have tried pretty much everything from the vegan menu and it was just as delicious as everything else they cook up, specifically the vegan dumplings, potato pancakes salt and pepper tofu 😋DELICIOUS

JKLMNO

Points +28

Vegan
15 Nov 2022

Excellent Chinese food and dumplings- Vegan options a plenty

We happened to find this place on a search on happycow. We were drawn due to the amount of vegan options, not just the standard "add tofu or veggies" to a standard dish. They offered multiple vegan dumplings, which our vegans loved. The dough is slightly different than the standard dumplings but hardly noticable. The fried rice and chow fun with mixed veggies was great. Fresh veggies, large pieces and plenty of them. So I was me ok with the "add veggies" option. The salt and pepper tofu was super yummy also.
For any non-vegans (sorry but it sometimes happens) in yur group, the long Baos were awesome.
We travel through Sacramento a few times a year during our 2 day trip to SoCal and will make this our go-to stop both going down and coming back up I5.

Updated from previous review on 2022-11-15

Pros: Vegan dumplings were great, fresh veggies in rice/chow fun, good portions

Cons: The only cons were for non-vegan items , it's busy, probably 30 take out orders in 45 min

karl8704

Points +452

Vegan
11 Nov 2021

Our go-to Chinese restaurant in Elk Grove

Having lived in Elk Grove since 1985, we've tried just about every Chinese restaurant in the area and this place is the best (that includes Loving Hut, which we found to be too oily). Omnis love the place on Y**p, and there are good choices for vegans too. Our go-to dishes: green beans in garlic sauce; seasonal veggies in garlic sauce; Impossible dumplings (they sometimes sell out!); and the vegan Singapore noodles. Ample outside seating, but we're still ordering our food to-go.

Updated from previous review on 2021-11-11

Pros: Good flavors and sauces, Impossible Dumplings are GREAT, The Singapore noodles are unique to this place

Cons: Order early - the kitchen is often overwhelmed, Located in a busy shopping center




This page has been viewed 1243 times.