• REMOVED: Jak's Place

  • (8)
    9

    Closed

  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
American
Fast food
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Catering
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Vegan items include a game changer burger, the vegan wytch salad, smoked butternut squash black bean chili, smoked butternut squash tacos, zucchini fries, and other sides. Has vegan cheese that you could get in grilled cheese sandwich or quesadilla. Sauce options include vegan fry sauce, a maple dijonnaise, and cilanto-lime aioli. Removed due to no longer offering vegan options.


Venue map for Jak's Place
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by puggirl

happyandhealthy

Points +277

Vegan
25 May 2023

Noisy sports bar

2 vegan items. An avocado slice would be great in the wrap.

Pros: The fries with vegan sauce

Cons: The food on the floor below the red blender, The dirt and grime on the black fan and trash can , The noise level

Advertisement

emmaroseyy

Points +123

Vegan
21 Oct 2022

Game Changer

The game changer burger was so good 😁 I asked if they could make it like one of the non vegan mushroom burgers but vegan and they did it was delicious!

OrianaRodriguez

Points +37

Vegan
06 Aug 2022

Great food and service!

We went on a whim, and with our dog. We asked to be seated outside, because of our dog and they were more than accommodating. They brought her a bowl of water, then explained which items on the menu were vegan, and what their gluten free items and processes are. We, and our dog), had vegan chili cheese fries. Then my husband and I ordered ourselves vegan burgers with fries, mine was gluten free. The food was very tasty and the service was great. We are so glad we happened to stop! We’ll be back again!!!

Pros: Loads of vegan options , A lot of gluten free options, Separation of gluten free products during cooking

crebert99

Points +35

Vegan
22 Jul 2021

Good food

We had the Game Changer burger and butternut squash tacos. Very tasty. Nice to have lots of menu options.

Pros: Lots of options , Flavorful salsas

fromsoca23

Points +13

Vegetarian
29 Jun 2021

Good vegetarian options, poor/sneaky service

Came here 4 weeks ago and the service and food was outstanding. We came back to celebrate my birthday last week and we will not be returning. The service was good when we ordered our drinks and appetizer, but it went down hill after that and it was not super busy.

After finishing our appetizer we had to wait 15-20 minutes for our meal to come. We shared our appetizer and main dish. We had originally asked for an extra plate to split our salad and the waitress said she'd just have it split in the back to make it easier, which seemed nice (more later). Once we finished our salad, once again the waitress was nowhere to be found/seen anywhere. We had to wait another 10-15 minutes to settle our bill. Our waters were never refilled or offered to be during the meal, even though we finished them completely after our mixed drinks.

When she finally came to settle our bill she asked if we'd be paying cash/credit. I said credit, she took my card and inserted in her mobile device and it asked for a tip. I thought it was strange not to give us an itemized bill first and that is my mistake for not asking for it before charging. The bill seemed a little off, but I finished the transaction then she gave me an itemized printout. Well, she ended up charging us a $3 split fee for the salad that she offered to split!! Mind you, 4 weeks earlier we had asked for our burger to be cut in half to share and there was no split charge, in fact, they cut it in half in the back, put them on two separate plates with fries on each and the chef personally brought them to our table.

I reached out to the restaurant through their website "Contact us", wrote a lengthy email and waited for a response, 4 days go by and no response, they obviously don't care and have lost a customer and we'll share our experiences. We thought we had found our new favorite vegetarian place, but we'll move on.

The sub par service, sneaky split charge and the lack of response from the restaurant shows a lot. We want to support small businesses and will, but I'd rather go where we get good service and feel we are valued.



Updated from previous review on 2021-06-06

Pros: Vegetarian menu section

Cons: Limited seating due to COVID, make reservations , Sneaky charges, Poor service

Indigo1111

Points +23

Mostly Veg
18 Nov 2020

Very good!

Very happy with our experience. Waiter Brian was amazing. Very knowledgeable, helpful and attentive. Game changer burger and appetizer combo were delicious. Vegan “chicken” patty was a little different and just did not suite our taste. Overall it was pretty good and worth trying out.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Vegan section on menu, Staff extremely knowledgeable and helpful

veganlucie

Points +129

Vegan
12 Sep 2020

Can’t believe I didn’t eat here sooner!

I was so excited to see the huge array of vegan options! And it’s a section for “Animal Lovers” I love that. Great little spot with live music and the food is amazing. We got their Vegan Burger and the Veganwhich and both settle well and are delicious.

Pros: Quality food, Huge Vegan Menu, Personable spot and employees

puggirl

Points +24

Vegan
01 Mar 2020

Best Vegan Menu - Great place to take your omni friends

Just took the family out to lunch at Jak's Place in Nampa to try the vegan menu there and the food was incredible! It has to be one of the best vegan meals we've eaten locally. We ordered the chili cheese fries, fried artichoke hearts, veggie wrap, Game Changer burger, squash street tacos, and butternut squash chili.

Everything we ordered was amazing and we will definitely be back. The chef is so talented - the Game Changer burger is the best veggie burger patty I've had. We shared everything and no one could decide what item was the best because they were all so good. Definitely worth the drive if you're not in Nampa!

Pros: Whole foods, doesn't rely on meat substitutes, Creative Menu




This page has been viewed 1767 times.