• India Palace SA

  • (8)
    14
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Indian
Buffet
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Indian food restaurant. Staff is knowledgeable of veg diets. Vegans to inquire about dairy use. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-9:30pm.


Venue map for India Palace SA
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by mkzk77

HernandoCastro

Points +111

Vegan
21 Jun 2020

Could have more vegan options

This place is great however it could have more vegan options.

Advertisement

LucianTaylor

Points +18

Vegan
11 Jan 2020

Very good food overall, although I really do wish it were more seasoned.

Solid choice for a meal

Pros: All buffet items labeled with ingredients

Cons: A bit bland

rharha2711

Points +15

Mostly Veg
22 May 2019

Needs a little more spice

Nice atmosphere, good customer service, food lacked spice

Pros: Good value, Service

Cons: Lack spice, Buffet could be warmer

Suz

Points +359

Vegan
11 Feb 2018

Long time favorite

Good comfort food, reasonably priced, consistent and authentic, lots of wonderful vegetarian (some vegan) dishes on the buffet every day.

Downside: lots of salt, oil and cheese in many dishes that might be even better without ... tho once India Palace hosted San Antonio Vegetarian Society monthly meeting, they served us *all vegan* foods ... even more delicious than their standard yummy fare... esp the spinach paneer with soft non-dairy cheese. mmmmmmmm... tastier than the usual soft (dairy) cheese. Wish they offered *that* all the time on their buffet!

Super fresh naan, tho they do spread butter or ghee on it. Fun to watch it cook on the big round tandoor(?)

Would also love their creamy, rich desserts -- mango and rice puddings -- to be made vegan instead of with dairy.

I'd eat there much more often if my favorites were vegan (and they can be, easily). So we make and enjoy vegan versions of these dishes at home, instead. even the naan.

Great for quick take-out. Food is much spicier these days. Not sure if new owners from southern India took over a few years ago.


Updated from previous review on 2011-12-15

Pros: Decent $$ value, Comfortable dining experience, Colorful, inviting buffet

Cons: Not enough vegan dishes, Too much ghee, salt, cheese

Imriela

Points +349

Vegan
07 Sep 2015

Good but not authentic

Plenty of vegetarian and vegan options on their menu. Some of them looked authentic, what I had was definitely not authentic, but it tasted very good. If their menu says it's spicy, they're not joking. They have a lunch and dinner buffet, and a menu for dinner.

Dara.Skara

Points +35

Vegan
25 Jul 2013

Love! Love! Love!

I love everything about this place! I recommend it highly!

Pros: Everything!

Cons: I'm not near it anymore! :-(

ellyn.arsenault

Points +30

Vegetarian
21 Dec 2010

SO GOOD!

Very veg friendly even on the buffet, which is wonderful!
the atmosphere is pretty cheesy and could use better design but the food makes up for all that!

Pros: WONDERFUL food

Cons: ugly atmosphere

mkzk77

Points +20

Vegan
18 Aug 2009

Hands Down 1 of the Best Indian Restaurants in SA

The food is ah-mazing. One of the best Indian restaurants in the city, and I have been to several Indian restaurants because vegetarian Indian cuisine is one of my favorites. Very authentic, taste and quality is consistently excellent and authentic. Service is quick, prices are reasonable. Place is clean. They really do pack 'em in and get a steady crowd. Everytime I've been- whether it was a Monday afternoon or Sunday evening, it was busy. I guess that's the only downside =) Try the Kingfisher beer (from India) it's a wonderful lager with full flavor- it's excellent with curries.

Pros: authentic, delicious buffet, affordable

Cons: need to expand, busy




This page has been viewed 5373 times.