• Himalayan Nepali Cuisine

  • (17)
    27
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Indian
Take-out
Nepalese
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Nepali restaurant extensive menu. Vegan items indicated on the menu, and allergens listed for each dish. Vegan suitable include samosas, manchurian gobi, aloo tiki, vegtebale pakoras, lentil soup, Nepali tarkaki, himalayan dal fry, yellow dal fry, chana masala, bindhi masala, and a few others. Open Mon 11:00am-3:00pm, 5:00pm-9:00pm, Wed-Sun 11:00am-3:00pm, Wed-Thu 5:00pm-9:00pm, Fri-Sat 5:00pm-9:30pm, Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm.


Venue map for Himalayan Nepali Cuisine
© OpenStreetMap contributors

17 Reviews

First Review by xxxx

ZacharyShackary

Points +217

Vegan
30 Jul 2022

Great food, but not fast

My lentil soup tasted great and was very inexpensive, but it took a very long time to get ready. I recommened ordering online beforehand for takeout.

Pros: Had everything you could want taste-wise, Very inexpensive

Cons: Long wait time

Advertisement

jex

Points +58

Vegan
23 May 2022

Choose this place for Nepali food

Truly remarkable, this is one of two plaza-contained restaurants in this part of town with pretty much the same name. I talked to an HN Cuisine employee about this, and she acknowledged that sometimes they receive reviews for the other place or vice versa, or customers drive to the wrong restaurant to pick up their phoned-in order. Ya think one of em would change the name, right?

Nope. But the baffling business choice here (literally, call your establishment ANYTHING else, guys — it's not like you stumbled upon some great name it's hard to part with) doesn't extend to their aptitude in the kitchen.

At many Indian places, it can be hard to tell what contains dairy and what doesn't — and I doubt it's generally much easier at Nepalese restaurants. It seems to be that ownership here cares enough to label their menu quite specifically, which purveys a first course of _relief_, an experience we can all appreciate.

Moreover these well-labeled items on the menu refer to actual dishes that turn out to be great! The tea is also memorably good, and I don't even like tea.

I took my folks here for dinner when they visited town, as a final meal before they left. Grateful to have chosen this spot. It's rare that this happens, but expectations were exceeded.

If you're trying to choose among the many options in the area, go with this very generically named restaurant, and don't confuse it for the other one. On my second attempt to visit HN Cuisine to take out a visiting friend for dinner, guess where we ended up (and the appellation doppelganger is not a restaurant I'd take five minutes to write a review for)…

Updated from previous review on 2021-02-15

WHA

Points +1391

Vegan
10 Apr 2022

I wish I could give 5 stars

This is one of the most consistent, delicious, and reasonably priced restaurants in the area.

Pros: Clearly labeled vegan options, Low price compared to nearby restaurants , Consistent service and quality

ShelbyDains

Points +43

Vegan
01 Jul 2020

Good curry and tea

You get free tea and appetizer!

darcyj

Points +24

Vegan
08 Nov 2019

Vegan options clearly marked

Best Chana masala I’ve had!

Pros: They sent vegan naan chips with my order, Delicious, tasted fresh , Decently priced

FeleciaB

Points +57

Vegan
27 Oct 2019

Chili Potatoes are a must

First of all, this restaurant may be the cleanest I’ve seen. The glassware, etc was sparkling clean. The vegan items are clearly marked and the wait staff was knowledgeable. The food here is great! We started with the chili potatoes which where very crispy fried potatoes with a spicy tomato and cilantro sauce. Sooooo good! We shared the okra which was a little oily but otherwise very good. We also had the chana masala and the mixed vegetables. The mixed veg was the favorite. It was light and flavorful. The endless hot lemon tea was refreshing. Every item on the menu is made from scratch as ordered so be prepared to wait a bit but it was still quick considering.

Pros: Tasty vegan options, Super clean, Knowledgeable staff

Cons: Affordable

CharonMoon

Points +953

Vegan
24 Sep 2019

Dedicated veggie fryer!

The food was excellent. The staff was familiar with at least vegetarian options. The menu was marked with vegan options. Interestingly, the server told me that they have 2 fryers, one for meat items and the other for veggie items. He was not specific about dairy or eggs though, so it may not be a fully vegan fryer. I thought it was interesting. The food was good and portions were large. The lentil soup was practically a meal on it's own! My only concern was the complimentary tea they brought out. No one told us what it was or what was in it. It smelled very sweet, so there might have been honey in it. I didn't drink it just in case.

Pros: Excellent food, Many options

Sossanna

Points +386

Vegan
14 Sep 2019

Loved it

Lots of vegan options clearly marked. Staff was amazing reasonably priced. I asked for mild to guage the spice. Will go medium next time.

Pros: Lots of options , Cozy dining room

Cons: Seating was a bit uncomfortable

bochulindra

Points +185

Vegan
19 Jan 2019

They are knowledgeable about vegan

They are aware of what vegan means and what is in their food so they can help you pick out vegan options are make things vegan. Good food but be aware that service is slow.

JessyC

Points +162

Vegan
28 Dec 2018

Fantastic food & service

Nothing overly surprising on the menu: just very good food and prices.

4/5 only because Happy Cow caps it at 4 for having meat.

Pros: More than reasonable prices, Efficient and friendly staff

Ziosmile

Points +29

Vegan
09 Jul 2018

VEGAN HIMALAYAN FEAST

We were traveling through and found this fascinating little place. Delicious, friendly, multiple menus options for vegans. We wish they would move to where we live. So sad they are 5 hours away. Such good food! You can be sure we will stop here if we ever travel this way again. Highly recommend it for vegan and for non-vegan.

Pros: Lots of vegan options., All menu items listed to designate vegan or not, All food allergies tagged on each item

Cons: None

Dog_Lover

Points +93

Vegan
15 Jun 2018

Amazing Food!

We ate here while visiting a friend that lives in Cary. The place was really good.

When we walked in the place was packed, but they were clearing a table, so we got seated pretty quickly.

All the vegan food on the menu is clearly marked and they mark food with other common allergens, which is a nice touch.

We ordered the potatoes as an appetizer. They were crispy and spicy in all the right ways.

I was the only vegan in the group and I ordered the vegan curry option. It was amazing. The flavors blended well the veggies were cooked perfectly.

Pros: Fair Prices, Amazing Food, Clearly Marked Vegan Options

path217

Points +67

Vegan
02 Jan 2018

delicious and spicy!

Very delicious and great spices. We enjoyed our dishes very much. We had samosas to start and then tarkari and chana masala. It was all very good. We had our dishes with “little spice” which I think is comparable to medium spicy at other places we are use to.

Pros: good food, friendly staff

Cons: serves non-vegan foods

zeesoap

Points +297

Vegan
21 Dec 2017

Wide array of options. Delicious!

As soon as I pulled into the parking lot, you could smell the delicious, amazing food! The menu is very easy to understand and everything vegan is clearly marked "vegan." All allergens are also listed next to each menu item. I also took note that they make everything to order, there is no batch cooking so everything came out fresh! Our food came out fairly quickly as we were one of the only people in the restaurant. We ordered the govi manchurian (you can order them mild, medium, or hot) which was my favorite and soooo good! We also ordered potato samosas, chili fries, and aloo gobi. The wait staff was so friendly and inviting, and even treated us to some complimentary hot tea and other food items. You cannot beat the pricing, generous portions, and excellent service. I highly recommend coming here and everyone needs to order the govi manchurian!!! I'm obsessed.

Pros: Affordable, vegan options are clearly marked

EmilySuttonTaylor

Points +153

Vegan
08 Sep 2017

Delicious Himalayan food

This is a hole in the wall kind of place, but food and service is excellent. Several vegan options clearly listed on menu. This is going to be a regular spot for us!

Pros: several vegan options , authentic food

plantbasedalex

Points +31

Mostly Veg
13 Jun 2017

Great food!

Numerous vegan options are clearly marked on menu. I enjoyed everything we ordered, wait staff was very kind!

xxxx

Points +267

Vegan
22 Feb 2017

I love this place!

This is probably one of my favorite restaurants (my husband agrees). The Govi Manchurian is amazing! Crispy cauliflower transformed into delicious awesomeness. The lentil soup is scrumptious too (I know, why am I so stocked about mere lentil soup, but it's worth it). I've had several of the main dishes and they are all really good too (I love the okra). The service is so sweet and thoughtful. And the prices are so low, we always get some take out when we eat here, 'cause why not?

Updated from previous review on 2017-02-22

Pros: Awesome food, Cheap prices, Sweet service

Cons: the decor is not fancy, but who cares?




This page has been viewed 4588 times.