• Govinda's

  • (30)
    21
    Loading...
  • White Vegetarian
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Indian
Gluten-free

Hare Krishna vegetarian lunch restaurant. Offers a vegan option. Maybe closed when the university is closed. No alliums are used. Accepts cash. Please note that many businesses in Sweden are cashless. Open Mon-Fri 11:00-15:00.


30 Reviews

First Review by fimct

MattiasTranberg

Points +24

Vegan
16 Feb 2024

Terrible disappointment

I have been coming to Govindas in Lund for 10 years. It used to be great, good food quality, fresh ingredients and generous servings. In combination with the nicest staff it was always nice going there, and worth standing in line for quite a while.

These days the line is not a problem, it's non-existent. The past few years the quality of the food has gradually become worse. New owners have a different approach to everything and very little except the location remains the same. I have been going every now and then in the hope that they would raise their ambitions but I guess they have gotten stuck in a downward spiral. There used to be 4-6 people working in the kitchen, now two people are enough because there are few customers.

Today the food was so bad. The tahini was watered down, the soup and chutney didn't taste anything and had no texture, the salad wasn't fresh or crisp, the sauce was thin, the papadam tasted of bad oil and the bread (it used to be amazing) was under-baked. I tried the food but couldn't make myself eat it. I finished my can of water and left, with a clear decision to not come back.

Don't go there.

Updated from previous review on 2024-02-16

Pros: Nothing

Cons: Tasted terrible

Advertisement

twelve_peas

Points +858

Vegan
30 Aug 2023

Cheap food and big portions

This place seems more like a canteen for students (friends from Lund told me that the university lacks its own, so this might be a great alternative as you also get a student discount).
You can sit nicely outside and more places are indoor. The food is nothing special as you see on the pictures. There is a single choice which is usually vegan or at least vegetarian and you can get a salad and soup on top. It's very affordable and you can get free refills, also for coffee. The staff is also incredibly friendly. Definitely recommend going there regardless whether you are a student or not.

david010

Points +62

Vegan
29 Jul 2023

Must go to

Govinda's is an all vegetarian/ vegan restaurant.

They have a menu of the day, which you can see on their Facebook.

This place is located in a cute 'inner-garden'. It feels like a welcoming place.

Inside, you can grab a drink, a salad, and they will provide you with the food.

As a vegan, I wanted the vegan food. They gave me just the vegan version of the vegetarian option (which was lasagna).

The food was very very good. It was freshly made and it just tasted amazing!

I could even grab some extra food (for free), as the owner insisted on it.

In conclusion, this is one of those places that you will remember.

Updated from previous review on 2023-07-29

Pros: Cozy, Great atmosphere, Amazing staff

OskarHenriksson

Points +91

Vegan
11 Feb 2023

Wholesome food and friendly staff

Excellent homestyle food, great bread, and friendly staff. Large portions (and it's always possible to ask for more!) make it great value for the money. It sometimes gets a bit crowded around 12:30, so it might be a good idea to go a bit earlier or later.

Pros: Tasty wholesome food, Lots of food for a very fair price, Super friendly staff

•Lily•

Points +289

Vegan
09 Jun 2022

Good lunch place

Enjoyed the daily lunch here! Loved how it consisted of different small dishes, including soup, bread, curry, and coffee.

MattiasE

Points +4092

Vegan
27 Apr 2022

Great indian food

Really nice lunch place in central Lund. Good stews, bread and soups. Feels like you are in India!

Lui.se

Points +260

Vegan
29 Nov 2021

Great place for lunch!

Very tasty, changing lunch options in a cozy atmosphere! Close to the university and no waiting time - so perfect for lunch.

k8lynsmith

Points +323

Vegan
08 Sep 2021

amazing service and food

i really liked the food here and the man at the register was the kindest person i have encountered here in Sweden, he helped me pick out a meal that was vegan and answered all of my questions 10/10 recommend!

Updated from previous review on 2021-09-06

Pros: helpful staff, entirely vegetarian , nice outside seating

Djaniunic

Points +15

Vegetarian
27 Jul 2021

👌

👌

JonasPersson

Points +110

Vegan
10 Apr 2021

Indian flavor food

I can never eat to often here. Love their food.

guillaume

Points +60

Vegan
21 Sep 2020

Indian Flavored Hearty Food

I am a regular of this place :/
Which is a good thing :)

Place is unpretentious, personal super nice and very attentive to their customers, you will be received with kindness and a warm feeling food infused with spices.

During lunchtime, better come before 12, or after 13, ... can be very crowded.

Pros: Food, Personal, Quality/ Price

Cons: Space as it is a popular place

Rixt

Points +79

Vegan
04 Jun 2020

Atmosphere on point

Super nice place to lunch. Friendly people, good food, enormous portion sizes.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Nice people, Delicious and cheap

Cons: Often very busy

Alling

Points +87

Vegan
01 Jan 2020

Tasty and good price

Super friendly staff, delicious and cheap food, big portions, nice atmosphere. There is nothing not to like.

Winterdragon

Points +392

Herbivore
27 Dec 2019

Possibly the best place for a lunch in Lund

A very popular place around lunchtime, and for a good reason! They serve great-tasting food in large portions for reasonable prices, and always have a vegan option. The staff is always friendly and happy. I just wish they were open on weekends and evenings as well!

Pros: Large portions, Tasty food, Nice atmosphere

Cons: Limited menu, Limited opening-hours

piffelina

Points +3514

Vegan
17 Dec 2019

Indian Christmas feast

I was there for the yearly Christmas dinner Govinda style - all the food was great and the service was excellent.

Vege-Niki

Points +1057

Vegan
26 Oct 2019

Interesting flavours

So many interesting small dishes, served together and taste like heaven! The owner is super nice and even offers one to fill more on the plate if one is still hungry afterwards.

I’ve also been here on Christmas dinner... and holy ****, that was just heaven on earth!

madelenesvensson

Points +120

Vegan
21 Jun 2019

Legendary

You always get so much food, become so full and the waiters are the kindest people ever

JessRomano

Points +169

Vegan
06 May 2019

Best lunch ever!

If you are looking to eat delicious for food price and looooads of it! You should visit this place! They also have vegetarian and vegan options and everyday is a different lunch menu! The owner is always there serving the meals with a smile :-)! I never get tired of going to this place! Tip: arrive early as it gets super full!

Pros: Amazing food, Could eat everyday , Big portions

Cons: Sitting area could be bigger

SaraBen

Points +62

Vegan
10 Jan 2019

Just SO GOOD

Every single lunch I’ve had here has been fantastic!!!!
You leave so full you barely have to have dinner that day, hehe, which is practical since it is quite expensive.
They always offer several dishes as to make the meal as a whole versatile and enjoyable.
Their bread is like a piece of heaven!!!

Pros: Fantastic food!!, Very filling

Cons: A bit pricy (but, I admit, it IS worth it!), Limited opening hours, I would like dinner...😄

leloir

Points +19

Mostly Veg
06 Jan 2019

Consistent top quality lunches

Unwavering top quality (vaguely indian style) vegetarian+vegan lunches - at incredible price value. Basically there's a single meal option per day, but that includes a large meal including salad, soup, fantastic homemade bread a multi-sectioned main course and tea/coffee. They'll happily offer refills in (the quite unlikely case you need it. Nice homey and cosy atmosphere, expands into the small courtyard in summer.
The proprietor is fantastic, always friendly and helpful regardless of stress level.
Very popular with students and academic staff so can get quite crowded 12:00-12:30. Opening hours is mostly coordinated with academic periods so expect it to be closed when the university is closed.

Pros: The homemade bread (daily recipe) is just amazing, Student discounts, Very very casual

Cons: Can get crowded in busy hours, Somewhat noisy indoors when crowded

huggtand

Points +19

Mostly Veg
30 Jul 2018

don't miss

Best place ever!

Elktooth

Points +28

Vegan
23 Jul 2018

Bästa stället i Lund

Det självklara stället att äta lunch på i Lund.

Pros: Finns alltid veganskt, Billigt

Cons: Ofta fullsatt

Kallemaja

Points +25

Vegetarian
27 Jun 2018

Great taste!

Always nice food and new tastes for me. Good amount of food and cheap. Friendly staf and you can see them cooking. Fresh bread tastes lovely.

Pros: friendly, nice spices

Cons: many guests at lunchtime

LauuraP

Points +26

Vegan
07 Mar 2018

Best veg* restaurant in Lund

Vegetarian restaurant with a vegan option, good bread, tea/coffee and really friendly staff :) For a really cheap price !

Pros: Price, Huge quantity / unlimited

Cons: Crowded during lunch :)

ML2000

Points +68

Vegan
03 May 2016

Can't go wrong with a Govinda's

As usual, Govinda's worldwide offer a nice variety daily menu for a really good price. Ask for vegan version upfront and they'll happily give it to you. They even gave my toddler a little bowl with some of the day's rice and vegan stew for free.

Anakteros

Points +81

Vegan
24 Sep 2015

lovely place

Friendliest staff in town!

Food so good you will get addicted.

Vegan-friendly.

A classic in Lund!

Pros: price-worthy, different meals each day, friendly staff

Cons: crowded during lunch

dch

Points +28

Vegan
19 Aug 2015

So awesome!!!

LOVED this place. Awesome food, tons of it, inexpensive, friendly staff—only a monster wouldn't be crazy about this restaurant. Going back tomorrow!

Pros: Huge portions, Delicious, Inexpensive




This page has been viewed 14809 times.