• Fook Luk Sau

  • (12)
    24
    Loading...
  • White Vegetarian
Vegan-friendly
Ovo
Chinese
Fast food
Take-out
Breakfast

福祿壽 offers Hong Kong style veg breakfast and lunch. 2015 be warned that reports state fish is cooked in the kitchen for staff break consumption at the dining tables. NOTE: Reported to open later than stated times, check ahead. Open Mon-Sat 7:30am-3:00pm.


Venue map for Fook Luk Sau
© OpenStreetMap contributors

12 Reviews

First Review by Blue Cloud

Naturally

Points +75

Vegetarian
27 May 2020

Why you can afford to be vegan - cheap eats HK island

Most people complain about vegan or vegetarian options being really expensive, and they refuse to do more plant meals. Well this place gives you no excuse to eat vegan food more often (if you can't fork out $50-60 for lunch, then you can't really complain about the 'taste' and 'vibe'. )

For as little as less than $30, you get a plate of wholesome vegetables with rice. For unlimited rice, soup and noodles, that's a few more dollars, but if you are strap for cash, then go for the one with rice and 2 dish choice. Don't know Chinese? No problem, outside the tiny eatery, they have daily dishes in numbers displayed, so you just see what it looks like, and just tell them the number and say 'Deep tau faun'.

Yes it is tiny, and you will have to squeeze next to people, but for the price, location and decent food, it is the best bargain for vegan food you will get. Look out, they do have eggs in some dishes, so look carefully or ask a friendly local who speaks English.

Come before or after rush hours (12-2pm), for more space. They are open only for Lunch. Mon - Sat. You can also get take away. I would suggest bring your own lunch box, to avoid styrofoam pollution.

Pros: Cheap price, Central location, Changing daily choice

Cons: Tiny, Lack of personal space, Not the cleaniest eatery

Advertisement

Bhannah

Points +297

Vegan
03 Dec 2019

Local place

Not sure what time it opens but went here at 8am & 9am and it was closed both times... then went back again at 2.30pm when it was open. Was a bit confused because I don't speak the local language but was able to order one of two dishes of the day and serve myself some rice. Some of the staff were very friendly and some less so. We got in trouble because my partner tried some of mine but he wasn't eating a full meal (he had already eaten). We didn't realise it was a buffet style and two people can't share, even though I had no plans of topping up rice. Realised after another customer explained to us why the person who took my order was eye rolling and seemed a bit angry with me! Saw stacks of eggs so people who don't eat eggs should be a bit careful. I loved how local it seemed. Food was okay... basic local lunch place. But always so happy to see local vegetarian places!

Pros: Very authentic local feeling , Self service rice - less wastage, Lady at the till very friendly

Cons: A bit confusing for foreigners

AnthonyBravey

Points +667

Vegan
02 Jun 2019

Amazing Hole in Wall for Authentic Chinese Food

Maybe I missed the early breakfast window but they do not open for lunch until 11am.

I arrived at 10am but nothing was setup, the staff speak little to no English, but they were friendly enough to let me have some noodles and soup which was all they had in the kitchen at the time.

It only cost me around 22 $HKD and I got a huge serving size. I would have loved to come here when they were actually serving food.

Definitely worth a shout for some authentic, cheap, big portions and tasty Chinese food. Be sure to come after 11am for lunch.

Pros: Delicious food, Big portions, Cheapest in HK

Cons: Staff do not speak english.

DZet

Points +976

Vegetarian
15 Aug 2018

it is cheap

To be fair, I had not seen the samples in the wall, so I ordered by pointing at someone's plate. Also, it's cheap, looks clean, and you'll be full. However, little taste.

Pros: cheap, in the center, endless rice and noodles

Cons: not tasty

rubin110

Points +19

Vegan
03 Feb 2018

Great hole in the wall

What an amazing find. This place is great. Look at the samples outside before ordering. Saturdays they have sweet soup which is interesting.

kiki93

Points +23

Mostly Veg
21 Dec 2017

Finally some Chinese vegetarian food

Went for lunch. You can get a lunch set for 35 hkd with a choice of two different dishes and including all you can eat rice, fried noodles and soup. I had a tofu dish and another dish with different vegetables and cashews. There is no English menu, so I just asked a nice lady to help me translate. It was supper yummy and very cheap. Can highly recommend.

Pros: yummy, cheap , authentic

Cons: i believe number 2 ang in, rest is vegan

YukiPoon

Points +63

Non Veg
23 Aug 2017

HK styled vegetarian restaurant

I get to know [censored] Luk Sau in 2016 when I worked for my old boss who was trying hard to eat healthy and recommended it to me. It's price is amazing cheap under $30 for lunch in Central. You can get unlimited refill of rice, noodles - amazing right? They stirred fried dishes are pretty decent. You can choose two dishes among choices of twelve daily. It's a shop always and people would back again and again. Definitely worth trying it especially you work around central

Pros: Many choices of dishes , Cheap, Unlimited refill of rice and noodles

Cons: Small shop so prefer to buy takeaways , Lunch hour is super busy

Nieve

Points +3840

Vegan
25 Mar 2017

Very cheap, quick lunch

Ate here today for a quick lunch. $34 for the set, 2 dishes, self serve rice/noodles, soup and sweet soup for dessert. Awesome deal. Menu is in canto, but a nice woman at our table helped us order. Good food, great price.

Stevie

Points +11765

Vegan
28 May 2015

[censored] Luk Sau, Hong Kong

I was in here recently as one of the last customers on a Saturday afternoon. The staff started clearing away etc. Just as I was leaving to see a member of staff came out of the kitchen with a plateful of food to eat on a seat outside. I was surprised to see that his meal of choice was a fish. I don't mean some sort of mock meat or a piece of taro in batter shaped like a fish that us very popular here. It was unmistakeably a fish complete with head, gills, fins etc.

I question whether that means that is a genuinely 100% vegetarian restaurant. The customer menu may be all vegetarian. The kitchen certainly doesn't appear to be all vegetarian.

Updated from previous review on Saturday August 30, 2014

I have to go along with everything everyone else has said to far about this place. Quick, tasty and bargain priced.

The staff didn't seem to speak any English when I was trying to ask for no eggs. Another customer intervened and all was taken care of. 31 buck HK for that meal today in central HK is a great deal for anyone on a budget or otherwise.

Pros: Inexpensive, Quick service

Cons: Staff cook fish in the kitchen

jencompgeek

Points +311

Vegan
08 Mar 2014

Great value

We almost didn't eat here on a recent vacation because we weren't sure we had the right place. It's located in an alley with some other establishments and there is no English anywhere. Luckily we had the advice of the previous reviewer and noticed that there were plates of food displayed outside with numbers attached. You could order 2 or 3 dishes. So we joined the large queue and pointed to a few dishes when it was our turn and paid the $25 HKD each. She gave us our order number and we watched the dishes being bagged so we'd know when our number was called. The food was pretty good; lots of tofu, veggies and rice plus a decent soup. A great value for so little money! I would definitely recommend this place. Once we figured out how to order we felt a bit like locals!

Pros: huge portions, great value, vegan options

Cons: no English, crowded

sfvoyage

Points +81

Vegetarian
03 Dec 2013

Dependable, tasty, and inexpensive

I've been coming here since the 90's and am so glad that it is still in business. Ate here a couple of times last week, and everything is the same.

You order 2 items from their list of 12 or so (changes daily), and you help yourself to unlimited steamed rice, noodles, soup, and dessert soup. All this for HK$31. (Take out is $25 with rice and choice of 3 items plus soup only.)

The food is always good but nothing remarkable: dependable Chinese vegetarian cafeteria food. It gets packed at lunch time, so you'll be sharing tables with cramped quarters.

Blue Cloud

Points +98

Vegan
15 Jan 2011

Fast yummy food

Great place to get lovely veg food on the go! Although the seating was very compressed, a great variety of food at cheap prices is very attractive. Can try different things each day.
Not a place to stay and talk though - very busy.

Pros: Great choice of food, Really good value, Big portions

Cons: Limited seating




This page has been viewed 8307 times.