Vegan
American
Western
Fast food
Beer/Wine
Take-out

Vegan mylk & burger bar est. 2018. By day it's a mylk bar that serves breakfast foods like pancakes plus lunch sandwiches, cakes and sweets, vegan soft-serve. By night it's a burger bar that offers also local draft beers and boozy milkshakes. Reported closed May 2023.


Venue map for Deer Mama
© OpenStreetMap contributors

256 Reviews

First Review by Jjse13

LuluGrim

Points +150

Vegan
20 Nov 2023

Fun Vibe

I liked the reimagined sort of old-fashioned American soda shop vibe of the place. I had a delicious latte, and my boyfriend and I shared the croquettes and a tasty mylkshake.

Updated from previous review on 2023-11-20

Advertisement

david_droes

Points +2490

Vegan
12 May 2023

Closed down for good

They are no longer in business.

MattPreston

Points +42

Vegan
05 May 2023

Very good breakfast/brunch

Mama’s big champion breakfast was, as titled, big. Everything on the plate was lovely, the scrambled tofu has a slight kick to it. The kebab pitta was delicious and so was the accompanying side and mint-yoghurt. Unfortunately quite a few items were not available, unsure if they have been stopped completely or just out on that particular day.
Best coffee we had in Amsterdam by far.

Pros: Coffee , Portion size

Cons: Possibly a tad expensive

DaphD

Points +4504

Vegan
26 Apr 2023

One of my faves in Amsterdam

I love their mylkshakes so much! They’re the best in NL (and I’ve tried many). Their food is usually good: tasty burgers (that can be ordered as salads), lentil salad, tofu banh mi, ramen, Big mama’s champion and soft serve sundaes.

The only things I like less are their pastries: they tend to be really sweet with a slightly chemical taste. I only liked their carrot cake.

Last but not least: their staff is very nice! I’ve never encountered bad service over here. However, it’s a shame they use disposables when serving some foods.

food4ricky

Points +952

Vegan
23 Apr 2023

The best milkshake ever

Peanut butter salted caramel milkshake with slagroom and sprinkles on top, party! I will make it my personal mission to taste every milkshake on the menu. Stay tuned.

TaraFernándezOrtega

Points +159

Vegan
22 Apr 2023

Leckeres Essen!

Sehr leckeres Essen! Bitterballen mit etwas scharfer Sauce, Fries, Waffeln, Milchschakes alles was das Herz begehrt

CharleyHarris

Points +661

Vegan
21 Apr 2023

Classic American Vegan Diner

Delicious burgers - perfect after cycling around keukenhof! Highly recommend - I had the new Asian burger with sweet potato fries and my partner had the bbq burger with dippers.
Only complaint is that I nearly tripped up in the toilet as there’s a sneaky step you can’t see in the dark corridor (lighting is automatic but doesn’t come on until you’re inside the bathroom and then goes off very fast).
Maybe some bright tape would help? Or an idiot proof mind the step poster?

From a clumsy reviewer.

Pros: Delicious, Great atmosphere

Cons: Dark toilet step

lizardjae

Points +113

Vegan
18 Apr 2023

loved it!

great atmosphere, food was served quick and very tasty. vegan milkshakes are hard to find so I was very happy there :)

dogwooddesign

Points +220

Vegan
17 Apr 2023

A must-do in Amsterdam

I had the bbq burger, fries, and a peanut chocolate salted caramel milkshake. Perfection! Super indulgent. Amazing staff.

Doortjez

Points +5096

Vegan
17 Apr 2023

Great food and vibe

Very friendly staff and delicious food. Nice interior with lots of cute pinks and some retro aesthetics though the seating could be a bit more comfortable.

We were given a menu with already plenty of things crossed out, even though it was a weekday. Which is a bummer but okay. We were later told though that 3 different items, 2 drinks and one dessert, were also out of stock. But that was after we already ordered them. I just hope this isn't happening regularly as it is quite a let down.

Pros: Delicous dishes, cute vibes, very friendly staff

Cons: Multiple items sold out, seating could be a bit more comfortable

ElliotPalmer

Points +78

Vegan
12 Apr 2023

Amazing!!

This place was sooooo good! Lots of options and super tasty!
Shared the kebab pitta, nacho bucket, burger and sweet potato fries. Oh, and two milkshakes to finish. Can't recommend this place enough!

Pros: Tasty food, Loads of options

Matt_Schreck

Points +275

Vegan
11 Apr 2023

Fun place with great food!

This place had a really fun vibe and the food was great too! The burgers were really creative and the dessert was: *chef's kiss*

Pros: Creative burgers, Dessert, Vibe

Kimmisventure

Points +320

Vegan
26 Mar 2023

Insanely good

Went here with a group of 9 people and only 2 were actually vegan... Everyone loved it ! The flavours were unreal, textures 10/10, service was super kind! Cannot wait to go back

Pros: Everyone loved it , Super tasty , Brilliant staff

Yararacz

Points +48

Vegan
18 Mar 2023

Lekker en betaalbaar

Heerlijk gegeten, leuk interieur en vriendelijke bediening

Pros: Veel vegan opties, Smaakvol eten

ElenaaaRaynova

Points +251

Vegan
18 Mar 2023

Great burgers

American-style colorful diner. Great burgers, the fries and red velvet cake were underwhelming, though.

RainbowTrainy

Points +895

Vegan
06 Mar 2023

Best vegan spot in Amsterdam!

A must try it you're in Amsterdam. I've been to Amsterdam many times, and this place is always the first place I visit. Deer Mama is perfect for brunch, lunch and dinner. They have a variety of food and drink to choose from, but if you go, you must get the mylkshake and the cookies (sooo good!) 10/10 🔥

Pros: Relaxed venue , Great selection, Amazing mylkshakes!!!!

oatmealnik

Points +194

Vegan
02 Mar 2023

Nope

I came for their sundae’s and mylkshake, and hated it. The icecream doesn’t have a taste and the milkshake just tastes like your average Alpro soymilk. There is way better vegan soft serve in Amsterdam (TLC for example, like 5 minutes from Deer Mama). Even the fries with cheese sauce were bad (too starchy, no cheese flavour).

Cons: Just bad

dbader13

Points +1934

Vegan
26 Feb 2023

Excellent vegan diner!!

This cute pink-themed vegan diner has yummy burgers and fries, mylkshakes, malted mylkshakes, soft serve, and more. My BBQ Cheeseburger and curly fries were delicious. I highly recommend this restaurant and also, save room for dessert. Many cakes and sweets to choose from!!

PriyankaPatel1690

Points +350

Vegan
26 Feb 2023

Best Fried chicken

Deer Mama’s fried chicken is the best I’ve had so far in Amsterdam. Super crunchy and delicious. The milkshakes are incredible too. Bonus points for the unisex toilet!

Updated from previous review on 2023-02-26

Pros: Best fried chicken , Best milkshakes

Cons: Tad expensive

ÉmilieManseau

Points +106

Vegan
19 Feb 2023

Great place!

I liked the restaurant and the food as well! They have an inclusive bathroom sign, which I absolutely loved. 🥰

Thomasclq

Points +391

Vegan
17 Feb 2023

Great vegan diner - American style

Another awesome diner in Amsterdam serving only delicious food for which no animals had to die or suffer.

Pros: Extensive menu

dennisedge

Points +308

Vegan
10 Feb 2023

Nice diner

Lovely vibe & decent food! Maybe a little expensive tho, compared to the portion size. Would still recommend.

ReneedeHaan

Points +723

Vegan
08 Feb 2023

Fantastisch!!

Kom hier regelmatig en de kwaliteit is altijd hoog! Of ik nou voor burgers, ijs of taart kom 😍

Updated from previous review on 2020-08-05

Pros: Altijd hoge kwaliteit, Fijne staff, Mooi aangekleed

Cons: Prijzig maar worth it

Bobanthar

Points +394

Vegan
05 Feb 2023

Decent

Had a rendang which honestly reminded me of chippy chips with peanut on it, which is a pro. Filled me up well but the portion looked somewhat small, but whatever. Also had a strawberry milkshake which comes recommended, staff were nice. Asked for a tea and they gave me Clipper, which is good. I work round the corner so I won't hesitate to come back.

Pros: Easily accessible , Decent food

Cons: Decor is too vibrant (yeah sorry)

Meltron

Points +762

Vegan
05 Feb 2023

Great bakery section and Mylkshakes

This might be the only vegan diner-style place in the Netherlands. The food was very good and they have a nice selection of sweet treats. Can't wait to come back here and try more.

Updated from previous review on 2023-02-05

iokan

Points +1725

Vegan
29 Jan 2023

For sweet teeth only

Deer Mama is listed among the best vegan restaurants of Amsterdam. However, that doesn't mean it is the best. It means it excels at something and for Deer Mama that's sweets and fast food. Their cakes, shakes en burgers get top notch ratings from many visitors.

So... I ordered the lintel salad! Big mistake. The lintel salad basically has two ingredients: lintels and red beets. Other than that there are a few bits of garnishing and a minimal amount of dressing. While the salad is healthy, it's just too simple for a restaurant dish. Restaurants should prepare things I can't, and putting two ingredients together is something even I can.

Luckily, my company was smarter and ordered the waffles. Apparently they are top notch. So good in fact, that they were gone in record time and I didn't even get to taste a snippet!

As a dessert we ordered Deer Mama's signature dish: the carrot cake. It is as sweet and overwhelming as a cow milk based cake. The frosting is rich and sweet, while the cake part is fluffy and very tasty.

Pros: experts at sweets

Cons: salad too simple

xo_bethany69_ox

Points +35

Vegan
24 Jan 2023

Fave restaurant

Best vegan place I’ve ever been to. Visited every day (sometimes more than once!) on our visit to Amsterdam




This page has been viewed 33592 times.