Cafe DA

  • Veg-options Veg-options
  • ( 19 reviews )

Find

Brennerstrasse 29, Stuttgart, Germany, 70182

Serves meat, vegan options available. Cafe in historic Bohnenviertel. Makes vegan banana bread and raw cakes and small warm dishes with at least one vegan. Beverages are coffee, smoothies, and matcha shakes. Breakfast is served until 5pm. Offers gluten-free options for lunch and cakes.
Note December 2021: Some regions in Germany, such as Bavaria and Saxony, may limit restaurant hours (call ahead). Indoor dining is only possible with proof of vaccination/recent recovery from Covid-19. Takeaway is available for anyone. Call ahead as availability, hours, and rules may vary. Open Tue-Thu 09:00-18:00, Fri-Sat 09:00-19:00.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Ovo, Beer/Wine, Take-out, Bakery, European, Breakfast, Non-veg

19 Reviews

First Review by aka_tatti

VeganPia

Points +64

Vegan
01 Oct 2021

Very nice and cozy

I went here only for a coffee, it was nice but a bit pricey, milk alternatives costing extra 50 cent. They offer many, mostly vegan, cakes. Some are gluten-free, but when I was there there were no cakes which were both. But there are also some gluten-free and vegan options in the menu and I am sure you can check out the ingredients of the cakes by contacting them in advance. The atmosphere here was very nice, you can escape the “big city feeling”, being in a rather small alley. The staff here was super nice, so it is a real recommendation :)

kimsophie

Points +59

Vegan
29 Sep 2021

Leckere, vegane Kuchenoptionsn

Wir waren hier nachmittags, war angenehm leer und ist in einer ruhigen Seitengasse. Die Kuchenoptionen waren größtenteils vegan, ich hatte Zitrone-Kokos und fand diesen sehr lecker!

Ist allerdings auch etwas hochpreisiger, Cappuccino mit Sojamilch kostet 4,10€ (Pflanzenmilch 50cent Aufpreis)

Pros: Kuchen größtenteils vegan, Pflanzenmilch, süßes Ambiente

Cons: teuer

LeaCaro

Points +100

Vegan
12 Sep 2020

So many vegan cakes

I go there often and they have some vegan staples, but mix their offer up on a daily/weekly basis. So everyone will find an option they like

Pros: Lovely small Cafe , Vegan cakes, Glutenfree options

Advertisement

lilScorpio

Points +4929

Vegan
04 Sep 2020

disappointed

I have been at Café Da some years ago and it was an okay-, but not great stay.
After another visit I didn’t change my mind for the better.
I had hazelnut cinnamon cake and matcha iced latte (~9€), not inexpensive, but still alright and both good.
Unfortunately the staff was kind of rude to me and my friends. I have gastronomy-background too and I really understand, that this is an exhausting job!
But if you step into the restaurant (as a customer!) and ask to use the toilet and get a rude „no“ as an answer (restaurant closes at 7, some guests were still sitting outside, door was still open and we‘re about to leave), what happened to my friend - this is a no-go.
Also they advised us in harsh tone to wear mask (Covid), while the team itself weren’t...

There are enough vegan-friendly places in town now, also to get vegan cake. So...

Pros: nice location in quiet, but central area , yummy cake , quite some vegan options

Cons: we didn’t feel welcome , a tiny, little bit too expensive (value)

lunami

Points +101

Vegan
17 Aug 2020

A lot of cakes to choose from!

The name is “cafe“, therefore there are no main dishes.

hiha

Points +125

Vegan
15 Aug 2020

Great coffee and pies

Really good quality for a reasonable price. Sympathetic neighbourhood.

Three types of coffee beans

Either reserve or take away (Covid).

AnnaBa

Points +46

Vegan
05 Mar 2020

Delicious Breakfast

I had a great breakfast and coffee at Cafe DA. They have a lot of vegan cake options and a few other vegan breakfast options like bread with pesto and tomatoes.

Pros: Many vegan cakes, Great coffee with oat milk , Nice staff

Cons: Only a few vegan non cake options

blacknroses

Points +4070

Vegan
13 Feb 2020

Super sweet cafe

- lots of vegan food available. The cakes are fanatastic!
- they have a few vegan milk options
- the Café is small so reservation required
- you can seat outside
- friendly staff
- you order at the bar
- friendly staff
- have also a few warm dishes as soups and salty tartes
- recommended

Reviewer Avatar

Guest

31 Aug 2019

Nice

Some vegan options; sweet and savory.

giovern

Points +285

Vegan
19 Jun 2019

Great fresh food!

Super cute cafe with shaded outdoor seating on a quiet street. It’s about a 10 min walk out of the main center of town. Soy milk as an option for their coffee drinks, fresh squeezed lemonade, and an entirely English menu. I went with the vegan plate, which included hummus, bread, salad, and avocado (extra charge but totally worth it). They let me know the dressing had honey in it but she could make me a vegan dressing instead. They also have a handful of vegan baked goods. The ginger lemonade was super fresh and refreshing on a hot day, and the vegan plate was perfect for a lighter, healthy meal.

Pros: Light lunch, Vegan baked goods, Soy milk

juleid

Points +152

Vegan
19 Oct 2018

Good but expensive

Has always a good choice of good vegan cakes and plant milk. Cakes are yummy, the place is nice, but prices are high. Staff is friendly but slow/unorganized. I like to come here though.

MarieJo

Points +30

Vegan
29 Sep 2018

Good cake/ bad sandwiches

Café Da is my favorite spot in Stuttgart to get some vegan cake. They have a nice range of different cakes. I wouldn’t consider their plant milk coffee beverages as the best but their satisfying. The staff is extremely friendly, the atmosphere welcoming and chilled. However their sandwiches are a huge disappointment- it’s just an open-faced sandwich, not toasted with a few toppings. The bread is rye bread or something comparable and the sandwich options are just ok taste-wise. For the price definitely a no-go

Pros: Many vegan cakes, Nice to sit, Friendly stuff

Cons: Plant milk coffee is just ok , Sandwiches are quite simple, cold &expensive

Tiggy

Points +10144

Vegan
29 Jul 2018

Refreshing

The only place in Stuttgart I found that had smoothies standard on the menu. None of the vegan cafes do. I had a strawberry smoothie and it was delicious and refreshing, not too watery or too sweet. The outdoors eating is nice, down a side street at sunken tables.

Pros: Good smoothie, Nice outdoor setting

NicoleGünther

Points +91

Vegan
08 Jun 2018

Comfortable café

Many vegan cakes and more than one plant drink options. Nice spot to sit outsite or even inside and very nice staff. Good place to find some silence in a big city!

Pros: Many vegan cakes, Soya, oat and other plant drinks

KathrynLamb

Points +306

Vegan
19 May 2018

really nice

Lovely staff, space, beautiful big outdoor seating area. Lots of vegan cakes, there's vegan quiche, soup and a sandwich, you have to pay for soya/almond milk unfortunately. Great standard of coffee, with 3 types of beans to choose from. Would probably say it's $$ not $ as rated on happy cow! Note that there's no WiFi - take a book or talk to people! (But basically don't expect to be able to sit and work there etc, which is a shame)

Pros: vegan cake options , lovely staff and atmosphere, 3 types of coffee beans

Cons: extra charge for non-cow milk, no WiFi if you want to work

Whiteindian

Points +103

Vegan
02 Feb 2018

nice&cosy café

Very welcoming staff, delicious cakes (also vegan&glutenfree), warming soups and sandwiches - all in all a place to relax and have a great time:)

berrybluee

Points +325

Vegan
02 Nov 2017

Great Café

Nice atmosphere and yummy cakes, which most of them are vegan!

Updated from previous review on 2017-11-02

antoniareid

Points +23

Vegetarian
13 Dec 2016

Matcha brezel brekkie

Had a delicious classic brezel with butter and Matcha latte. Delicious. They also have some amazing looking vegan cakes, cupcakes and quiches. Cosy atmosphere and nice smooth tunes. Would be perfect if they had WiFi too!! L

Pros: Vegan cakes, matcha

Cons: No WiFi

aka_tatti

Points +40

Vegetarian
21 Feb 2016

Cool AND Cozy

Cafe Da is a cool, tidy and at the same time cozy place with tasty vegan options and delicious coffee. I like the sandwiches best. Most of all I like the sandwiches and homemade lemonade.

Pros: Friendly staff

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Stuttgart Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Cafe DA closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 3466 times.