Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Western
Mediterranean
Juice bar
Beer/Wine
Middle Eastern
Breakfast
Israeli

Little vegetarian cafe in the city center serving fresh juice and coffee, breakfast foods, sandwiches, salads, soups, and rice plates. The owner is a long-time vegan. Open Mon-Sun 9:00am-5:00pm.


Venue map for Cafe Bastet
© OpenStreetMap contributors

28 Reviews

First Review by VeganJLM

EllaHM

Points +118

Vegan
07 Sep 2023

Only one vegan sandwich

Only one vegan sandwich but it was nice and the staff are nice

Advertisement

kristinlydia

Points +326

Vegan
03 Mar 2023

Leckerer Tee

Ich hatte sehr guten Tee und einen Schoko-Cookie. Es hätte außerdem eine vegane Müsli-Option und ein belegtes Baguett mit veganem Käse gegeben sowie weitere vegane Cookies/Kuchen. Ich fand die Optionen leider nicht ansprechend und habe an einem anderen Ort gefrühstückt.

Würde das nächste Mal Nachmittags für ein Stück Kuchen oder einen Drink hingehen.

Für Vegetarier:innen sicherlich eine bessere Option.

Pros: Vegane Optionen , Sehr guter Tee, Angenehme Atmosphäre

Cons: Frühstücksoptionen nicht ansprechend, Nicht alles vegan

Leah_Rzn

Points +6528

Vegan
04 Feb 2023

Jerusalem Gem 🌈

Update: after COVID-19 pandemic the place changed but it’s still a gem of JLM. For now serves sandwiches (got one with cashew cheese — delicious), fava (so light and tasty!), pastry, alcohol and soft drinks (got two cups of mocha cause it’s sooo goood!).
Almost everything is vegan. Friendly service and good vibe.
We had a breakfast here on Saturday morning. The city was dead (no locals, no tourist) and having Bastet open was just great.
If you’re in JLM please visit and support this place!
===========
I love this place. Extremely friendly service, atmosphere of freedom, decent food. It’s really not so easy to find a place in Jerusalem where you can feel so comfortable. Located in the city center and open every day.
It’s vegetarian but you can veganize most of the dishes.

Updated from previous review on 2021-06-28

Pros: Decent food, Good vibes, Open 7 days a week, good location

Cons: Not 100% vegan

kristinlydia

03 Mar 2023

The changed the menu😒today they hade just cereals and Baguette with vegan cheese (not the cashew). Some of the sweets were vegan too.

whyage

Points +24

Vegan
15 Nov 2022

Great little coffee shop

Close to everything

Pros: Great food and drinks, lots of vegan options, Great inclusive atmosphere , Queer owned and friendly

Galib

Points +52

Vegan
26 May 2022

Lovely vegan dessert options!

Cute venue, a small cafe with seating inside and out. The staff clearly explained all options. Tempting vegan desserts!

Huraiquire

Points +8057

Vegan
22 Apr 2022

A Haven 🏳️‍🌈

A wonderful and inclusive safe place. I absolutely loved the friendliness of the staff, the decor, and was so excited to have a variety of vegan options clearly labelled and communicated. The space is small and cozy. They are one of the only places which stay open during the sabbath days as well, so it can get quite busy in this time. Downside is one barista slams the portafilter way to hard many times per batch, which makes really loud banging sounds in the small space every 1-2min. We’ve all been to cafés with regular kitchen noise, but this was over the top extra and unnecessary. Hard to work/study with that. Still one of my favourite places though.

Updated from previous review on 2022-04-22

Pros: Variety of vegan options; clearly labelled, LGBTQIA2+ friendly, Open during holidays

Cons: Expensive, Unnecessarily loud kitchen noise

sophiap626

Points +135

Vegan
26 Mar 2022

Cute cafe open during Shabbat

Went for coffee on a Saturday morning during a recent visit to Jerusalem because it was the only place nearby open during Shabbat. The service was pretty slow, but the cafe had a small, personal feel. I ordered an almond milk latte and sat outside; they also had oat milk.

Updated from previous review on 2022-03-26

MaaggieTC

Points +32

Vegan
27 Jan 2020

Amazing vegan food.

A small cafe in side street to the Jaffa Street with a lot of vegan dishes. I had the artichoke sandwich which was really good. Also the side cucumber salad was dope!

Pros: A lot vegan options., Delicious, yummy, lecker! , Cat people.

Cons: Nothing at all!

emiliemcs

Points +604

Vegan
26 Dec 2019

Really enjoyed the food! Feels healthy, nice staff and cozy atmosphere

Good ! breakfast !

Caveys

Points +80

Vegan
27 Nov 2019

A fab place for sting in Shabbat

I have the artichoke sandwich which was fab, really tasty and very welcome change from hummus.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Open on Shabbat

cjermany

Points +142

Vegan
28 Oct 2019

Tasty food with great service

Had a lovely experience here. I ate the artichoke sandwich (warning - it’s HUGE!) and their carrot cake, which was delicious. The menu is veggie and nothing is labelled vegan, but our waitress was lovely and recommended dishes for me to try.

Pros: Varied menu, Delicious food , The waitress was lovely!

KellyB-H

Points +293

Vegan
25 Oct 2019

Alternative haven

The staff could not have been nicer; the vegan hot chocolate was so delicious that I considered ordering another one and my vegan shakshuka was fresh and tasty. Even the music they were playing was good. A great food experience.

Pros: Comfortable atmosphere , Great choice, Good price for Jerusalem

Cons: I probably won’t ever come back to Jerusalem

hwe

Points +20

Vegan
29 Sep 2019

Cool place

Very nice restaurant with a good ambience and lovely food and plenty of vegan options. I would recommend to go there

Pros: Good flavors, nicely executed food, Good vibe, friendly people , Cheap

OranitShlomi

Points +299

Vegan
31 Aug 2019

Great vegan selection

We had the veggie patty and the artichoke sandwich, very tasty!

talisma

Points +431

Vegan
20 Jul 2019

Nice atmosphere

Nice café with plenty of vegan options. Food is tasty. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Pros: Location, Open during Shabbat

N_i_na

Points +407

Vegan
17 Jun 2019

Good vegan breakfast

We tried the vegan breakfast and enjoyed it.

eee135

Points +844

Vegan
02 Dec 2018

Little Gem

First - it's great to support a business in Jerusalem that stays open on Saturday and displays a large pride flag over the door.
Beyond the shared values, I also recommend eating at Cafe Bastet due to the good, simple food. We ate here on a cold winter day and got the minestrone soup, a warm lentil Dahl with sweet potatoes and cauliflower, and the recommended artichoke sandwich. All of the dishes were good, but similar to the other recommendations, the artichoke sandwich was really good. Definitely check this place out if your in the area.

Updated from previous review on 2018-12-01

Pros: Reasonable prices, Tasty

Cons: Small restaurant with limited indoor seating

eee135

24 Apr 2021

Update (april 2021) - the restaurant has reduced its food offering and now offers only 3 choices (2 sandwiches and a pea hummus dish). Still great food and fun place to sit, but now primary a coffee shop and not restaurant.

AlexandraCollinsNaor

Points +34

Vegan
23 Nov 2018

Support this place!

Nestled in the center of super conservative Jerusalem you'll find this veg-friendly gem with tasty homemade options.

Pros: Great atmosphere, Tasty food, Vegan options

Brok O. Lee

Points +3380

Vegan
08 Nov 2018

Loved it!

I was happy to find this place! They are the only ones in the area with sugar-free vegan milk so I got a lovely big cappuccino. (They did charge extra for that but I was happy to pay) I ordered the dish of the day: veg curry and basmati rice and it came with zhug (a spicy sauce) and techina on the side. And it’s nice that they have Perrier. The dish was tasty and generous, and inexpensive as well. I loved the atmosphere, very quiet and low key with a few tables inside and several outside as well. They support the LGBT community - always a plus.

Pros: Cozy, Inexpensive

sapirs

Points +47

Vegan
23 Jun 2018

Favorite cafe in Jerusalem

Vegan options for everything and great pastries

NJ220

Points +631

Vegan
09 Mar 2018

Not bad

Nice little cafe, friendly helpful staff. The Hot Chocolate was amazing (we had a couple) but I'm afraid I didn't think either of our mains were great. We had Greens with rice and Green patties with salad.

Carolinel

Points +26

Vegan
02 Mar 2018

Yummie vegan food

Nice and cozy location. Prices are okay. Menu for vegans is not that big but if you like soups, salads, sandwiches or rice dishes you will find something tasty.

LeslieGee

Points +222

Vegan
29 Dec 2017

fabulous!

Ate with two Omni friends. Had dinner and deserts. Everything was fresh, tasty and filling. I had the artichoke sandwich which was deliciously savory, served with pickles and cucumber & onion salad. The vegan hot chocolate was amazingly delicious!! Staff all speak English and menus in English.

Pros: varied menu, vegan items clearly marked and staff explained , delicious food and beverages

Cons: small indoor seating but plenty outside

SabrinaFreire

Points +30

Vegan
22 Dec 2017

on Street

It is a amazing place with delicious vegan foods. Cake chocolate for dessert it’s awful

TravelVeggie

Points +313

Vegan
08 Dec 2017

a place with agenda

Good food, they support LGBTQ rights which is super important and open during Shabbat!!

Shaya

Points +95

Vegetarian
18 Nov 2017

Yummy!!

Three dishes, three hits. Good food, good prices.

YakiHertz

Points +18

Vegan
04 Sep 2017

Grate place

Grate place in a quite, yet central street in Jerusalem city center. I love grabbing coffee and some thing to eat here (the artichoke sandwich is the best). The place is very vegan,feminist,LGBT-friendly.




This page has been viewed 5971 times.