Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Beer/Wine
Asian
British
Fusion
Honey
Breakfast
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Tea bar & kitchen with focus on healthy food and local produce. Offers brunch menu including a full vegan breakfast, buddha bowls which are mostly vegan, and sharing deli boards including one vegan one. Open Mon-Sun 08:00-22:00.


Venue map for Birdhouse
漏 OpenStreetMap contributors

20 Reviews

First Review by annie.virtual

HarleyJones-Ryley

Points +349

Vegan
21 Jan 2024

Vegan benedict is divine!

Ah, I love it here. The food is consistently great and it's a fantastic option when eating out with non-vegan friends and family. The vegan benedict is so good, as are the pancakes. And of course an oatmilk 'tea fog'. Yum!

Advertisement

AlexanderMorgan-Jones

Points +22

Vegan
24 Jun 2023

Beautiful

Gorgeous food for both vegan me and my omni girlfriend.

purrsitivity

Points +794

Vegan
06 Jun 2023

Due a return!

The most beautiful interior and exterior, perfect when the weather鈥檚 good (we sat outside!) , photos provided馃馃徏

They had a range of vegan options as well as vegan bakery bits too馃憖I had the vegan breakfast and my friend had the raspberry pancakes 馃槏both were incredible and I would definitely return to get some pancakes for myself too鉁ㄢ湪

Also staff were lovely I have to sayyy AND remember they have student discount too!!

VeganVVitch

Points +826

Vegan
08 Jul 2022

Wish I could give this place 5 猸愶笍

I鈥檝e seen this place on Facebook and heard great things, so me and my partner decided to go for brunch! Really lovely place, lovely staff and amazing food. I had a blueberry & maple pancake stack with ice cream and opted to add vegan bacon! (Try it, great combo!!) and my partner went for the birdhouse vegan breakfast but was intrigued by the tempura mushrooms that they do on their Vegan Benedict, so he added them on as extra! The drinks choice was amazing too, I recommend the rhubarb and lemon iced tea! I was so full but when I went to pay, they had a great choice of brownies, so brought one home! Can鈥檛 wait to visit again!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Massive portions, Great venue and dog friendly

Telle

Points +45

Vegan
05 Jun 2022

Amazing Vegan pancakes

Really enjoyed my visit, great atmosphere, staff were friendly. Great selection of vegan food.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Staff were friendly

Klarajj

Points +2098

Vegan
15 May 2022

Lovely food

Nice milkshakes and great food

Pros: Options , Outdoor seating

路X路

Points +17199

Vegan
27 Apr 2022

Birdhouse

They were out of matcha both days I stopped by so I enjoyed a lovely green tea upstairs instead. They offer Oatly, thank goodness! Tons of vegan options on the menu, particularly for brunch. A few vegan baked goods too. My only regret was being unable to stop by for brunch, as the only day my friend and I were available was the day the restaurant was closed. Definitely a great option for brunch, so do try it!

NorthernVegan

Points +132

Vegan
31 Mar 2022

AMAZING! Should be 5 stars

Honestly everything was superb. I had vegan Benedict with added potatoes. I鈥檝e never seen/had anything like it, so inventive and tasty. They used silken tofu which was a pleasant surprise as it had that egg white texture and firm tofu is the easy option. Hollandaise sauce was amazing. Spinach tasted a little gritty but heyho, that鈥檚 spinach. Also tasted the pancakes and they were fluffy perfection. Hot chocolate- I could have downed 3, they were so good. Happy cow knocks a star off for none vegan places but this should be an exception.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Friendly staff, Tasty food

KatieHollingsworth

Points +28

Vegan
03 Mar 2022

Galentines

A few friends and I went here for a Valentine's catch up. The food and drinks were lovely and everything is always presented nicely. There are always plenty if vegan options whenever I go here, so you'll always be catered for!

Updated from previous review on 2022-03-03

MadeleinePowley

Points +204

Vegan
11 Jan 2022

Lots of vegan options!

Had a tasty vegan benedict with This isn鈥檛 bacon and battered tofu for the eggs! Could have done with a bit more 鈥渉ollandaise鈥 sauce but was still delicious and unique as I have never seen a vegan benedict option before. Cute interior and lots of drink options too.

MarmiteHappy

Points +616

Vegan
01 Oct 2021

Breakfast

Great breakfast with generous mushrooms and tomatoes. Loads of latte options with soya milk. Friendly service.

Pros: Lots of tomatoes , Big portions

Cons: Emphasis on fake meat

HeatherHolt95

Points +18

Vegan
08 Sep 2021

Always brilliant

So many vegan options. I go quite regularly, good for breakfast, lunch and dinner. They also do lovely themed evenings. Veganism here is not an afterthought!

Pros: Lots of Vegan Options , Brill for all occasions, Local business

Fattyted

Points +3251

Vegan
21 Sep 2020

Wonderful vegan afternoon tea (and epic vegan breakfasts too)

Birdhouse never disappoint. Their vegan options are fantastic at breakfast, and for special occasions try their gorgeous vegan afternoon teas which are so yummy!

Pros: Great varied vegan choices, Fantastic afternoon tea for vegans, Great vegan breakfasts

NomadEmma

Points +201

Vegan
15 Aug 2019

Good vegan options - Poor service

Plenty of vegan options (including pancakes!). Serves oat milk. Make your own Buddha bowl with lots of vegan choices was delicious. Oat chai latte was amazing. Good value. Would give 5* if able to because the food was excellent! Great service & nice atmosphere too.

Edit: been back several times & whilst they continue to offer good vegan choice the service is increasingly poor. Often make mistakes with orders. As most seating is located upstairs & staff are downstairs they ignore & forget about customers often. Frequently waiting a long time to be served, even when it鈥檚 not busy. Tables are not cleaned promptly & often have to eat at a dirty table. Buddha bowl has changed from make your own to a (small) set dish. Reduced rating to 3*

Pros: Nice food, Plenty of vegan options

Cons: Poor service

nagevear

Points +408

Vegan
09 Jul 2019

lovely food

lovely fresh food, couldn't fault it. vegan options marked on menu with 've'. offers plant based milks and has many vegan options. really enjoyed the buddha bowl. quite reasonably priced. tried one of the teas, kelham island, which i wasn't a fan of, it was quite overpoweringly smoky.

Updated from previous review on 2019-07-09

Pros: lovely food, lots of vegan options, lots of seating

Cons: had to wait to be seated (on a weekend ~15mins)

Enjali

Points +1561

Vegan
01 May 2019

beautiful and delicious

I've been here twice and I loved it twice. Once I came for tea and cake (I had an oreo brownie) and once my friend and I shared the Buddha Bowl and had some matcha lattes to go with it. The food is nice and fresh, the matcha is fairly strong (be aware if you're new to matcha) and the vegan brownie and pancake options make it hard to decide. I'll definitely be back, the look and feel of the place alone are worth a visit, especially on a sunny day when the sun shines into the lovely big windows!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , friendly service, fresh and delicious food

Cons: slightly more expensive , often busy during lunch hours

Iauren

Points +54

Vegan
22 Mar 2019

Good breakfast

The vegan breakfast was nice (except for the really salty beans) and there were a few different vegan choices including cakes. Unfortunately it took over 45 mins to get our order.

Pros: Various vegan options , Choice of plant based milk

Cons: Slow service

LivBurley

Points +38

Vegan
01 Jul 2018

Love it!

Been for breakfast here twice and can't fault it for the vegan food. Only downside is they sell meat products.

Pros: Plenty of choice for vegans

Cons: Meat options

HollyHoneychurch

Points +74

Vegan
10 Apr 2018

Delightful

We loved our trip to Birdhouse cafe today. We were greeted by friendly, smiley, sweet conscientious staff and got to sit at a lovely table with lots of natural light. We had a full vegan breakfast with yummy homemade beans, delicious tofu, tasty friend potatoes, tomato, good quality bread, vegan sausage and succulently braised spinach. Well presented. Really thought out. We also had a Buddha bowl with great vegan choices. Fresh, colourful, healthy, tasty, good value. Coffee was exquisite. Best I鈥檝e had ever I think : ) Lots of unusual teas and drinks to try. Vegan puds too - Victoria sponge and Chocolate brownie. Will definitely be back. It's a great new space and we're happy it's there! Thank you lovely Birdhouse, your staff really care! : ) Sparkles and smiles H & S

Pros: Healthy tasty vegan food, Smiley friendly staff, Clean and well looked after

Cons: Serves meat

annie.virtual

Points +131

Vegan
02 Apr 2018

Great staff, lovely food

Went for dinner at the Birdhouse and had their lovely Mediterranean platter which was delicious. They also offer a vegan pie as a dinner options. Definitely want to go back to try their buddha bowls which sound amazing. Also great tea selection.

Updated from previous review on 2018-04-02

Pros: Lovely staff, Good selection of vegan dishes, Great tea selection

Cons: Buddha bowls not offered in the evening




This page has been viewed 4419 times.