Buffet
Beer/Wine
Asian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Vegan dishes are marked on the menu such as cauliflower Katsu curry, basil chilli stir fry and vegetable gyoza dumplings. Additional dishes can be made vegan on request. Reported closed February 2024.


Venue map for Bar Soba
© OpenStreetMap contributors

17 Reviews

First Review by EmmaFaeEdinburgh

orangensaft

Points +460

Vegan
20 Mar 2023

It was ok

The service was very slow considering we were the only ones ordering food in there, my pad Thai wasn’t fully hot, was very very salty and didn’t contain more than four lumps of tofu.

They do give you 40% off food and 20% off drinks if you’re a student which makes the price somewhat acceptable - you need to apply online on their website for their student membership. If it weren’t for this I would have been really disappointed with the experience.

Cons: Open late, Expensive , It feels more like a drinking venue

Advertisement

RobertaBartowskiBru

Points +339

Vegan
21 Jul 2022

Pad thai d asporto

Abbiamo ordinato d asporto due pad thai vegani con tofu fritto spaziali e ci hanno anche offerto delle verdure in tempura😍

Lostbuthappy

Points +176

Vegan
23 Apr 2022

Lovely vegan options

Been here a couple of times and the food has always been great. Love the tofu basil stir fry and the vegan dirty fries.

Pros: Many vegan options , Very friendly staff

Cons: A little expensive

Drub

Points +51

Vegan
06 Apr 2022

Could do better

Food was tasty but cold.
A reasonable variety of vegan options
Quite expensive for what it was
Staff very dismissive of us generally

Pros: Tasty vegan options

Cons: Expensive, App ordering which charges admin fee, Cold food

GinaDearing

Points +32

Vegan
23 Jan 2022

Vegan food is a work of art

The food was out of this world, the colours grab you as soon as it comes out, then the taste is a beyond expectations. So many different ingredients used but all work together so well.
Bar stuff where so friendly and attentive, and glad to hear they will be expanding to different parts of the UK too. Its a must visit for all. #Veganuary

Pros: Very attractive setting, feast for the eyes, Food amazing mix of flavours and colours, Staff very friendly and attentive

NiamhC41

Points +1364

Vegan
01 Oct 2021

Student discount

Not the most mind blowing, authentic Asian food but it’s pretty tasty and a good portion size I think. If you are a student make sure you take advantage of the hefty discount.

gearsforqueers

Points +1581

Vegan
20 Aug 2021

Expensive but nice

The side plates are the winners here, but the portions are a little small. The satay chips, okra fries and cauliflower are the stars of the menu!

Cj0989

Points +194

Vegetarian
09 Jul 2021

Good number of options

Quite a cool bar/restaurant in the new town, although we were up in a little balcony part.
The food was pretty good, the Thai fries with satay sauce was great although the tofu katsu was very plain. Quite reasonable price, good service even though we were warned they were short staffed.

Pros: Quite a few options, Good student discount

LittleAliceFell

Points +1743

Vegan
21 Jun 2021

Super tasty - tiny portions!

Such delicious food - the tofu pad Thai was gorgeous, but the portion was tiny! Felt like half of it was missing and was quite expensive for such a small dish. Allergens are labelled properly, which is great

Pros: Allergens labelled, Delicious!

Cons: Tiny portions!

rachelburns7

Points +1148

Vegan
20 May 2021

Dirty Vegan Fries

Very tasty fries!! Would highly recommend! Cauliflower tasted lovely.

Pros: Vegan Options Available , Discount for students

HannaBrown

Points +205

Vegan
08 Mar 2020

Lovely food.

I had my birthday dinner here. It had good options for everyone, and a lovely menu. The service was efficient and friendly, and the atmosphere was great. Would recommend!

Hoptza

Points +90

Vegan
19 Nov 2019

🌱

Loved this place!

DavidHay

Points +34

Vegan
02 Aug 2019

Good appetizers

Stopped for a quick snack. A few vegan options. Cauliflower was really good. Friendly and quick service

katy.graham95

Points +162

Vegan
15 Jul 2019

boozy brunch

had boozy brunch here for my birthday. was great. 4 drinks, a sharing platter and a main course for £25. I could eat the veg gyoza off the sharing platter and ordered the cauliflower katsu for my main which was delicious.

KateEmmett

Points +3284

Vegan
20 Jun 2019

Lots of vegan options, very tasty food

£7 lunch deal is great value, we had katsu cauliflower curry and tofu chilli stir fry, both delicious. We also had loaded Thai fries. The staff were really friendly and funny

allym3

Points +34

Vegan
25 May 2019

Tasty vegan options!

Lots of tasty vegan options, the tofu is amazing!

Pros: Tasty vegan options, Lovely cocktails , Cool decor

Cons: More of a bar than a restaurant

EmmaFaeEdinburgh

Points +1360

Vegan
03 Apr 2019

Funky place with lots of vegan options

Bar Soba has lots of vegan options that are clearly marked on the menu - and a few more can be easily veganised if you ask. My favourite dish is the vegan super Thai fries with peanut butter and Sriracha Sauce - so good!




This page has been viewed 3122 times.