• Au Couscous

  • (7)
    8
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
International
Asian
European
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Menu includes some vegetarian dishes, marked. Open Mon-Sat 11:30am-2:00pm, Mon-Sun 6:30pm-12:00am.


Venue map for Au Couscous
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by biodynamicgal

SorayaPoulin

Points +921

Vegan
06 Nov 2021

Good food

Nice place to eat the evening, good ambiance, good food and friendly staff. They are quick for cooking and serving. The vegan couscous was very good but not a lot to eat I think

Pros: Good food, Fast service

Cons: Not a lot to eat

Advertisement

VeganUSA

Points +7379

Vegan
01 Oct 2021

Small plate dining experience

The food was good and so was the service. We enjoyed four of the small plate options and enjoyed them all, especially the skewered tofu. The small plate portion size is small, so, if hungry, err on the side of ordering more.
The restaurant is on the second floor of a corner location, and has an old-world charm in its sensibility. The restaurant has been in business since 1958.
The service was excellent. Because we did not speak French, the server called out another employee (owner?), who spoke our language, to verify that she had taken our order correctly- she had.
NOTE: an item listed on the menu as smashed chickpeas is Hummus

Updated from previous review on 2021-10-01

Pros: Nice small plates, Vegan options , Tasty food

veganusaurus

Points +85

Vegan
30 Aug 2021

Delicious but that's all

They do have delicious food, but the communication is really difficult as they just speak french. The woman was quite pissed off even if I tried to communicate half french and me by myself I speak 3 languages and I don't speak French but I can understand it. So for me it is hard to unterstand how anyone can be stressed by this. In the end I was a guest too and me alone left 70 swissfrancs there with 2 Mezze I had on my own. Would have be nice if it was served more friendly.

Pros: Lots of vegan options and delicious

Cons: Unfriendly

HC-Zurich

Points +37251

Vegan
05 Jun 2019

No vegan declarations

Can't judge the food but missing vegan declarations are no longer good enough for happycow IMHO.

Updated from previous review on 2019-06-05

Mondblueme

Points +89

Vegan
16 Aug 2018

North-African Cuisine

While this restaurant does serve meat, they offer a variety of vegetarien and vegan plates. In contrast to the vegetarian dishes, which are clearly labelled on the menu, one needs to read the list of ingredients given for most items to find the vegan options. Nevertheless, as Au Couscous serves traditional North-African cuisine which is very often based around plant foods and spices, it was very pleasant to have several options for main and starters and even for mezze as a vegan. The dishes were well seasoned and our waitress had always a kind smile on her lips. The central location close to the cathedral is another plus.

Pros: Selection of traditionally vegan food, Kind stuff, Central location

Cons: No indication for vegan options, No outdoor-seating

s_k_

Points +564

Vegetarian
25 Mar 2018

still good after many years

This place has been around for ages, but doesn't rest on its laurels. They have several veggie options, explicitly marked — enough that a small group can each have different items. The staff are friendly, the interior is very pleasant, and the food is prepared well. The location is easy to access from the center of town. A great place for a proper, sit-down dinner. Prices are typical for Switzerland; higher than fast-food, but not as much as a fancy dinner.

Pros: several options, good ambiance, friendly staff

Cons: slightly pricy

biodynamicgal

Points +32

Vegetarian
19 Jul 2011

Nice atmosphere, nice food

We asked at the tourist center for a vegetarian restaurant and this was a suggested option though not totally vegetarian. The food was delicious. The service was great.

Pros: character, freindly staff, nice atmosphere




This page has been viewed 4249 times.