Chocolate cafe offering chocolate and coffee direct from the plantations in Mexico. Includes coffee and chocolate drinks, with coconut, soy and almond milk options. Also has juices and raw coconut water, dark chocolate bars and vegan tamales. Open Mon-Sun 7:30am-11:30pm.


Venue map for Ah Cacao
© OpenStreetMap contributors

18 Reviews

First Review by RBB

monisonfire

Points +4789

Vegan
07 Jan 2024

eat that cake!!!

i will be dreaming of the mocha cake for a while! incredibly delicious! big and very reasonably priced!
ate this twice while in Playa😄

nice seating area too! #Veganuary

Advertisement

paulandria

Points +135

Vegetarian
29 Apr 2023

DELI

Este es el café más rico de PDC si. duda alguna

pikesperk

Points +869

Vegan
10 Apr 2023

Chocolate Tamale omg

Everything chocolate shop with great drinks and some vegan desserts. The chocolate tamale was something amazing. Also had the maya sipping chocolate. Mmm spicy!

DenebMazzilli

Points +210

Vegan
13 Mar 2023

Chococrazy

We order the Chocolate tamal and a frappe made with fuits and almond milk.
We loved the place.

Pros: Very clean and quiet , Delicious vegan food options

inspioraid

Points +507

Vegan
27 Feb 2023

Deli deli deli desserts

You have to try the mocha cake! Just wowowowowo!

Updated from previous review on 2023-02-27

Zuran

27 Feb 2023

MayaGreenberg

Points +877

Vegan
15 Jan 2023

Almond milk latte and spinach tamal

Very nice vegan options!🌱
Almond, soy and coconut milk, vegan desserts, moca cake, banana bread, chocolate muffin, chocolate tamal, spinach tamal and oat crackers!

-☕I had a latte with almond milk, really nice froth and the mugs are really big so you get a generous amount of beverage even if you order a medium and not a large. They don't charge extra for plant based milks!

-🫔I tried a spinach tamal and it was quite nice! Very oily, but pleasant soft flavors, I liked it!

Nice atmosphere, we set outside and really enjoyed the vibes of the street.

VeredEliyahuCohen

Points +67

Vegan
13 Jan 2023

Lots if vegan chocolate!

This chain is super surprising. Great coffee with soy milk, vegan cookies and tons of vegan dark chocolate with flavor!

peppitaly

Points +1804

Vegan
06 Jan 2023

As far as...

Chocolate goes, I felt satisfied. Cake was fluffy and drinking chocolate spicy Carramba!

pomange

Points +1300

Vegan
06 Jan 2023

Yes, cake is great

Mocha cake is goooood. Plant based options are clearly marked and you can get drinking chocolate vegan. Cool. #Veganuary

ValentineD

Points +3013

Vegan
05 May 2022

Chocolate heaven!

Great iced coffees with soy, almond or coconut milk. No extra charge for plant milks! Vegan cookie, spinach tamales, chocolats. Very friendly service. Only in Spanish though. Clean restroom, airconditioning. Also outside seating. Lots of locals and foreigners living in Playa del Carmen.

Ksis

Points +1046

Vegan
04 May 2022

Two words: Mocha cake

Holy crap the mocha cake is SO delicious!! The perfect amount of chocolate and not overly sweet, it’s delightful.

I can’t attest to anything else, but they have a lot of vegan chocolate bars, and a few chocolate drinks that you can sub nondairy milk for. Worth a visit to satisfy your chocolate tooth! 😊

RoxanaRamírez

Points +54

Vegan
18 Jul 2021

Esta buenísimo el chocolate con leche de soja y nips de chocolate 🍫🤤🌱

Para los amantes del chocolate

chelssjh

Points +299

Vegan
13 Apr 2021

Chain with various milk options

You'll see these all over 5th Ave, several vegan milk options

Pros: All over 5th Ave, Milk Options, Fairly Priced

Cons: Seems touristy

TraveLaika

Points +495

Vegan
09 Feb 2021

Great chocolate

I loved the atmosphere and great chocolate as well. Place is great for enjoying the quality hot drinks.

somosvegan❤️❤️

Points +672

Vegan
27 Jan 2020

super!!!

pasamos por allí y tienen mucho productos con cacao y artesanales, cacao en polvo y barras de chocolate aptas para veganos, me tome un café moka y el café chispas está delicioso se los recomiendo tienen leches vegetales de soya almendra y coco y el espumado del café está súper!!!

Pros: muchas opciones vegana , buen precio, productos de cacao

SerenaA

Points +112

Vegan
19 Oct 2019

Yummy

Had a soy option for coffee. Did not try coconut or almond milk but confirmed they had it. Had a soy frappe to split with my boyfriend and it was delicious! Also sold bamboo straws, we bought 2, each at 16 pesos (each under $1 USD or about $1 CAD for us). Wish we could have spent time trying more but we were limited.

MonokiaNance

Points +164

Vegan
13 Aug 2019

Tasty

The chocolate is delicious.

RBB

Points +13

Vegetarian
20 Sep 2018

Great

Love the taste of real chocolate from Mexico. The coffee supports wildlife conservation.

Pros: Taste, Natural products

Cons: Sometimes crowded




This page has been viewed 1940 times.