Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
International
Beer/Wine
Ethiopian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Ethiopian restaurant with traditional food, you share your food and you eat with your fingers. Offers lots of vegan choices including a vegetarian and vegan set. Open Tue-Sat 12:00-15:00, Tue-Sun 19:00-23:00, Sun 12:00-16:00. Closed Mon.


Venue map for Abyssinia
© OpenStreetMap contributors

17 Reviews

First Review by jenny_noisy

ViniGF

Points +30

Vegan
21 Oct 2023

Une très agréable expérience

Le restaurant propose des options véganes et végétariennes. La nourriture était copieuse et délicieuse.

Pros: Nourriture très savoureuse, Diversité de choix, Personnel très sympathique

Advertisement

Mirko96

Points +584

Vegan
17 Oct 2023

Vielseitige vegane Platte

Mal eine etwas andere Art zu essen. Auf einem großen Galette werden verschiedene Gemüse und Soßen serviert (teilweise scharf). Dazu bekommt man noch mehr Galette serviert und man isst mit den Händen. Es gibt auch vegane Vorspeisen.

Effess

Points +489

Vegan
07 Oct 2023

Hands & Feast

Very warm and welcoming atmosphere here, great service!

Went there for lunch without reservation and found the place not too crowded on a Friday.

Used our hands to wrap the ingredients of the vegan plate into the bread as it is custom, which worked out nicely. Not sure if it’s because of the lunch special, but could have used more hot sauce and Ingrediens for all the bread.

jo3rn

Points +1210

Vegan
20 Aug 2022

Almost great

... if the vegan plate would have some more variety and volume.

For example you get one spicy sauce which is quickly empty and all dishes are cleared with 2-3 bites. We had some (rather dry) bread leftovers at the end that could have been enhanced with a nice dip.

For variety I had hoped for some more "fluid" offerings that could also soak the bread, like a stew - or something with collard greens, spinach or onions.

Some of the food had little taste on their own, but it was okay together with the hot sauce.

The concept of grabbing/wrapping the food with the bread is cool. And the staff was friendly and welcoming.

In the evening they have two slots for serving, so either come at 19h or 21h, better yet: reserve a table.

SandraMarquesFavinha

Points +1404

Vegan
07 Jun 2022

Comida maravilhosa

Ideal para partilhar e comer com as mãos

Pros: Muitas opções veganas

syka1

Points +49

Vegan
06 Mar 2022

Succulent

Le restaurant propose un assortiment de plats vegan, parfait pour découvrir la nourriture éthiopienne. Belle ambiance, magnifique déco et très bon accueil

Updated from previous review on 2022-03-06

SadieDodson

Points +102

Vegan
11 Jan 2022

Great Ethiopian food and wonderful service

We had the vegan platter for 2. Everything on it was delicious. Get reservations ahead to be sure you can get it. This place is worth it.

Molllly

Points +296

Vegan
26 Oct 2021

Delicious

Simply delicious! Great portions, great atmosphere, great food.

Tamy

Points +2888

Vegan
27 Jun 2021

Ok food in spartan portions

Decent food. A bit bland. Portion was really small, especially for the price. We ordered a vegan platter for two and they basic fill up the space on the plate by spacing things and adding random elements, like arugula, that take up space. But in terms of lentils and the actual meal, you get maybe a quarter cup total each. It was very disappointing. The spicing was also not great. Everything was a bit bland. Overall, I feel like I got full in injera rather than actual food, which is a shame because I love Ethiopian food.

Pros: Nice plating

Cons: Small portions , Bland, Inattentive service

daviszu

Points +163

Vegan
01 Mar 2020

Ótima experiência! Boa comida

Espaço muito legal. Ótimo atendimento. Experiência única. Para o prato principal não se usa talheres. Comida gostosa.

Pros: Algumas opções vegetarianas e veganas, Bom preço , Boa experiência

HappyAnimal

Points +122

Vegan
23 Feb 2020

Highly recommendable!

Very tasty and authentic Ethiopian food. The staff is really friendly and has no problem finding good vegan food for you.
We highly recommend this restaurant.

Pros: Extremely deliciously, Friendly staff, Good prices

Jasmeet

Points +21

Vegetarian
03 Nov 2019

super tasty

A new kind of experience. Worth a try

Füchsen

Points +92

Vegan
09 Oct 2019

Delicious food, nice atmosphere and friendly staff

You can choose between a vegan mixed plate or one of the vegan dishes seperatly. As vegan deserts they offered bananas flambé or orange salad.

Pros: Tasty food with a variety of vegan choices, Cosy atmosphere, Very friendly staff

Cons: Portion sizes a bit small concerning the price

ErnestBerlot

Points +204

Vegan
19 Aug 2019

Best food experience!

Great place, easy do find. I had the big plate for two persons (look at the picture). It comes with bread. Coast 31,80 Euro. They have also single main meals for around 11-15 Euros. The menu is only in France. Stuff know what is vegan, ask him about vegan. The location looks inside so interesting. You eat only with fingers, its normal. The food is with much oil. Great vibes and great music. Restaurant is not busy.

Pros: Stuff help about vegan food, Looks inside interesting, great music great vibes

Bumoka

Points +142

Vegan
16 Aug 2019

In Ordnung

Die Menschen dort waren sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Das Essen war lecker, aber von allen drei Äthiopiern/Afrikanern bei denen ich bis jetzt gegessen habe, wäre dieser Foodspot auf Platz 3.

Pros: Vegane Option als Hauptspeise auf der Karte, Freundliche Mitarbeiter, Schönes Ambiente

Cons: Lecker, aber nicht herausragend

Oxygene

Points +222

Vegan
18 Jun 2019

Delicious Ethiopian restaurant

Sûrement le meilleur restaurant éthiopien où j'ai mangé. Le plat végane est copieux (assortiments de mets à manger avec une galette, l'injera) et très sympa à partager avec autant d'amis qu'une table peut accueillir. Coloré, savoureux et varié.

Probably the best Ethiopian restaurant I have been to. The vegan plate is copious. You can and should share it with your friends, and enjoy the colorful and tasty dishes along with the injera bread.

Pros: Délicieux , Très bon accueil, Décor soigné et reposant

Cons: Un peu cher

jenny_noisy

Points +695

Vegan
02 May 2019

Best food experience!

Wow! The food was absolutely delicious! I had an entry and a vegan set serving in a big plate that you share with the others (don't worry, if you eat with non-vegan/vegetarian person, the food is not mixed), everything was delightful. Some meal can be a bit spicy, that's perfect for me but if you don't like too spicy just tell them, they are really understanding and friendly. :)
We finished with the traditionnal ethiopian coffee, best coffee I ever drank!

When you enter in this restaurant, you are in a different place, in a different country.
What a beautiful experience!

Pros: Delicious, Colorfull, Delicious, again!




This page has been viewed 4265 times.