• Zinc Cafe and Market

  • (12)
    15
    Loading...
  • White Vegetarian
Lacto
Ovo
American
Take-out
Bakery
Breakfast

Ovo-lacto vegetarian cafe with a small retail/market area, situated at a few blocks from Pacific Coast Hwy 1. Serves breakfast and lunch food during the week, also dinner on weekends. Uses egg and dairy in most all dishes. Open Mon-Fri 7:00am-6:00pm, Sat-Sun 7:00am-4:00pm.


Venue map for Zinc Cafe and Market
© OpenStreetMap contributors

12 Reviews

First Review by Veganmilitant

LarissaK

Points +3145

Vegan
14 Jan 2024

Loved it! Veg and filling!

We loved this place! After a certain time the buffet it's half the price! They have some vegan options and are knowledgeable! Very yummy, healthy, nutritious! Recommended!

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-14

Pros: promo for the best price!, healthy and fresh food, nice outdoor seating

Advertisement

Stratosphere7

Points +92

Vegan
09 Oct 2023

Not many vegan options

The chili here is really good but multiple times I have been given sour cream (or even an entirely different soup) when specifically asking for it to be vegan. The food is good but I’d assume a vegetarian restaurant to understand the difference between vegan and vegetarian better.

Pros: Taste, Ambience, Price

Cons: Mistakes, Not enough vegan options

restaurant_data

Points +39

Vegan
02 Apr 2023

Awesome Food, Service and Dining Area

This is the second time we enjoyed this gem. Lots of vegan options. Ask for a plate and choose a spoonful (or two) of their options.

Pros: Fresh and unique tastes, Great service, Fast and easy

Dwerber

Points +114

Vegan
27 Nov 2022

What a vibe

On a Friday morning, the place was packed. Although vegetarian for the most part, it still had great vegan options and plant based alternatives.
I was mostly excited about their marketplace, where they have a selection of seasonal salads and entrees and you choose and pay per lb. The clerk had an understanding of veganism as she pointed out salads that have honey.The food was really yummy and the overall ambiance sitting there is very lively and hip!

Updated from previous review on 2022-11-27

josmt46601

Points +194

Vegan
28 Aug 2022

Excellent!

Fantastic in all ways! Highly recommend. I have been vegan for decades.

Pros: Variety , Quality , Service

ViktoriaNieva-Gomez

Points +1166

Vegan
31 Aug 2021

Delicious vegan options!

Lovely little cafe with mostly outdoor seating. The buffet has quite a few vegan options if you are lucky (sometimes they run out of some) and often there is a vegan soup available. Most breads and items on the menu are not vegan but have eggs or dairy

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-31

Pros: Lovely location, delicious vegan options

Cons: Most dishes have dairy and/or eggs

feelgoodpicks

Points +252

Vegan
12 Jul 2021

Fresh and delicious

The best hummus dip. We ordered a bunch of sides: Brussel sprouts (ask for no cheese), broccolini and roasted cauliflower. There was a healthy bowl filled with quinoa, sweet potato and veggies. Also delicious green salad, ask for no feta. I don’t think there were any vegan desserts.

vmarinda

Points +297

Vegan
17 Apr 2021

Will need to modify menu items to make vegan friendly

The menu is 100% vegetarian and not really vegan friendly honestly. Some, but few, things you can modify to have vegan. We came here for breakfast and did the avocado toast which was great. We also did the Zinc Granola which was really amazing to me! I loved the orange zest and fresh berries with oat milk (which I had to request).

DebeWaisman

Points +123

Vegan
09 Mar 2021

Favorite place for vegan food

I looove coming here for a large selection of truly delicious and healthy vegan options in the deli case! I can score with awesome veggies and tofu and quinoa/rice dishes, etc. During the last half hour of service, they discount the deli sides half off, so it’s wonderful. However, if you want to order an entree like a vegan lasagna or a tofu scramble or something similar, not the place. Their vegan menu options are very limited (it’s very vegetarian and dairy/egg based) so just go straight to the deli sides and choose those. Mix and match at will and you’ll enjoy plenty! Good coffee too.

Pros: Many vegan options in the deli case, Friendly service, Discount during the last half hour of service

Cons: Not many vegan dishes on menu besides in the case, No vegan muffins/scones, No tofu scrambles

VeggieHeather

Points +202

Vegan
31 Mar 2019

A few vegan options

Their special, a harvest bowl, was vegan, had arugula, corn, quinoa, harissa, and was okay. They also offer oatmeal. Oat, almond, and soy milk options for coffees.

Pros: Delicious vegan lattes, Friendly service, Nice patio outdoor atmosphere

Cons: Food was ok not great, Pricey

Rrrami777

Points +46

Vegan
29 Dec 2016

lovely spot; not very vegan-friendly

I'm sorry to say, this charming spot is not very vegan-friendly. Not many options, even with alterations. The sandwiches are pre-made, so the cheese cannot be withheld. Even though I repeated that we are vegan, our food arrived with cheese and had to be returned. The hummus is ok, and vegan chili is good, and my mom liked the Thai salad. I wish vegetarian places would be more vegan-friendly... Why must there be cheese in everything?

Veganmilitant

Points +76

Vegan
28 Jun 2007

Not a good place for Vegans

They have a lot of meals with eggs and dairy. Its a good environment though, always busy.

AlexanderTaylor

05 Nov 2019

2019 update: can confirm, still not a good place for vegans! I had the Margarita pizza which was one of the only options.




This page has been viewed 7320 times.