Villa Sandra

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
    ( 8 reviews )
Contact
n/a
Find

Malapascua, Daanbantayan, Malapascua Island, Philippines

A vegetarian restaurant inside Villa Sandra Hostel. Offers local and international organic dishes. Hosts live music. Open Mon-Sun 8:00am-10:00pm.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Ovo, International, Organic, Fusion, Filipino

8 Reviews

First Review by fguarachi

Go to other places like Bakhaw Kiwi. - Edit

Totally disappointed with this place. They should learn some cooking class before serve food to people! I didn’t know that I could find more vegan options in other places nearby... I regret being there so many times!
The atmosphere is like a lounge, a good place to have a beer and meet friends, but not to eat (at least for vegans)... I explain you why...
First of all, they say that it’s everything homemade and organic... not sure...
I asked for a chickpeas and beans curry and what came was some beans, a very small amount of chickpeas in a fake tomato sauce (industrialized, very strong and acid, no way that was homemade). There was NO curry neither mushrooms (which was described in the ingredients list). The carrots that came were totally raw (nobody expects raw vegetables in a curry...) and even the “real” tomatoes pieces were raw... I mean.. they didn’t cook/prepare my food! They only add some already baked beans in a fake tomato sauce, forgot about the mushrooms and CURRY and just heated that with carrots and tomatoes, not enough to cook! You guys know that tomatoes cook very fast, which was not this case... Totally disappointed!
My husband asked for a vegetable paella (it was ok, BUT too salty, and the worst, with Sand?!?!). We complained with the owner and at least he said the cook was new and didn’t allow us to pay.
So we decided to give them a new chance. We went there next day and asked for a green juice (php 30 - weird taste, they say there’s no sugar... I am not sure), and the worst bruschetta (if I can call bruschetta...) of my life. They prepare their own bread, which I thought it would be awesome. The sauce on top was ok but the bread was like a very thick pancake but again not well cooked and very heavy.
Vegan pizza (php 200) is very so so (a lot of industrialized tomato sauce).
Chocolate pancake (php 120): the worst pancake ever. No tasty, no chocolate, only wheat with a fake fruit jam on top, which was terrible.
Vegan burger (php 185): weird (the same kind of bread of the bruschetta!), with lots of fake tomato sauce (like ketchup), not well prepared, not beautiful...

Pros: What was good: pumpkin soup (too salty though), mu

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Regular food - Edit

I don’t know why the reviews are that good. We tasted a lot of options in the menu and mostly all of them had something bad about it.. I explain: all of them were too salty, the breads are not well baked and hard to digest, the tomato sauce they use is industrialized with acidic taste, once vegetables came raw, not well cooked and so on.. we only had disappointments! The only good thing is the lounge ambience with good music. You can have much better and also cheaper vegan food eating on street places.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good but never the same - Edit

I'm a little ashamed to admit that 90% of the meals I ate in Malapascua were ordered at Villa Sandra. Food is really nice but the taste can vary a lot, the same exact dish might be very different the next time you order it. For example I ordered a mango shake which was thick, yellow and sweet mango deliciousness but today it was just a watered down pale yellow liquid... Nevertheless, delicious food!

Pros: Cozy setting and delicious food, plenty of differe

Cons: Service(Don't come in a hurry and don't expect the

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

best food best vibe! - Edit

where to start??
hardly ate anywhere else while on the island after finding this gem!
some of the best food we ate on our 6month travels!
an extensive veggie and vegan menu, all made fresh and with love!
we tried almost everything on the menu over a week, and was never disappointed!
nice chilled reggae vibe, and really lovely people! we got on so well from the minute we met!
beside the food and the vibe, was great to see them helping the community with the youths jam sessions and local charity, not to mention teaching the kids about waste management and recycling!
great place! not to be missed!
with love from barry and jemma x

Pros: good food, big portions, cheap price, chilled vibe's, lovely people, helping the youths learn

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Hidden Gem - Edit

An amazing restaurant, vegan and veggie friendly.
The food here is delicious, all freshly prepared and a reasonable variety of flavours and cuisine.
The atmosphere is very relaxed and reggae style, choice of seating from carved benches to cushions and beanbags!
Its all very eco friendly which is an added bonus, even has reusable straws.
The food is all presented beautifully and the taste certainly doesn't disappoint.
The only negative thing I could say about it is the service which is very slow. However its such a nice place to sit and relax that this really wasn't an issue.
Would highly recommend, I myself will certainly be returning whilst I'm here!

Pros: Delicious Food, Chilled out atmosphere, Very Eco-friendly

Cons: Slow service

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

interesting & delicious - Edit

Villa Sandra has a really interesting & varied menu. Lots of delicious fried stuff, but also really nice healthy options. The prices are good, the service very relaxed (be patient!) & a very chilled atmosphere.
The only thing I didn't like was the fact that there is a tank full of poor fish in the middle of the restaurant - not quite cruelty free then!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great food, unpredictable service! - Edit

We ate here quiet a few times whilst on the island of Malapascua. It was great to find a fully vegetarian restaurant with plenty of vegan options on such a small island! As part of the backpackers hostel, Villa Sandra served up epic vegan breakfasts such as tofu and beans and pancakes, lunches like sandwiches and wraps and largely portioned dinners of curries, burgers and pies. Delicious, home cooked hearty and healthy food. Our only hunch was with the waiters and waitresses who had a tendency to not make you feel too welcome and sometimes the food would take forever to be served BUT it was the many vegan options that kept us coming back each day. Definitely worth a visit!

Pros: vegan options , hearty food, cheap

Cons: unpredictable service, staff could smile a bit more!

1 Response
Read More

jonjonvillasandra 23 Sep 2017 - Dear Melissa!
Thank you very much for your review! We are sorry that our staff didn"t make you feel too welcome, it was a period with only temporary staff, but we make sure our staff members are professional and kind to customers. We are also sorry about the slow service! Our excuse to that is that we make everything fresh here - we don't pre-chop the ingredients, nor do we freeze them, and we don't use cans/other processed foods either. Hence, foods take longer to prepare! That is why they taste so delicious :) However we try our best to speed up the service as much as possible! Once again, thank you and best wishes!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Food made with love - Edit

I usually don't give 5 stars to a restaurant, but this one totally deserve it. The food is amazing!!
The menu is not the typical menu with the usual choices, they have a lot to choose from, lots of vegan options and every dish i have tried so far there is really good.
Best food i had in the Phillipines and one of the best in Asia.
The place is also really cool, good music, nice setting.
Totally recommended :)

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Great ambiance, Amazing food

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Malapascua Island Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Villa Sandra closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 205 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support