• Vegan Vato

  • (11)
    29
    Loading...
  • Food-truck Food Truck
    Vegan
American
Fast food
Take-out
Mexican

Mobile truck serving New Mexico and California fusion food including tacos and loaded fries both with protein choice of impossible ground, seitan asada or jackfruit carnitas. Or get the Vato burger that consists of Impossible patty on whole wheat buns with sautéed mushrooms, caramelized onion, queso, green chile, and slaw and served with fries. Schedule is posted its website. Launched 2021.


11 Reviews

First Review by SarahPugh

SaulK

Points +22

Vegetarian
30 Jun 2023

OMD (Oh My Dog, I'm an atheist) delicious

Don't bother with impossible or jackfruit, get the seitan mushroom asada. We had tacos (rice, beans, salsa, salad) and a christmas burrito (chips and guac). We should have doubled one of those or gotten one other item, but it was almost enough to stuff the two of us. Everything was muy delicioso.

Advertisement

plantymom

Points +214

Vegan
27 Jun 2023

These folks were packed!!

Oh my word…. These poor people have more customers than they have space… it’s time fore a storefront, y’all!

The food was pricy, especially for a food truck… if I’m remembering right, it was $15 for a burger, no fries included. My kids loved their food, but truly, it’s cost prohibitive to go regularly.

Updated from previous review on 2023-06-27

Pros: Good food, Friendly owners, 100% vegan

Cons: Ex.pen.sive!!!, Long, long wait (an hour+ for 3 burgers), Inconvenient location

crystalnm

Points +224

Vegan
30 Nov 2022

It’s alright

I’ve been here a couple of times and certainly didn’t have my socks knocked off like the previous reviewers have. The food was expensive, the portions were tiny, and it wasn’t all that good. The only highlight for me is that the Vegan Vato seems like a really nice guy. The last time I was there they were clearly very swamped and he and his help were really trying to be as attentive as they could despite being super backed up.

Pros: Fully vegan, Very friendly staff

Cons: Expensive , Small portions

Dipomaj69

Points +381

Vegan
18 Nov 2022

So Freaking Good

Not sure if you can cuss on this app, but this burrito was so good that I was spouting F words. I had the burrito with seitan asada and my goodness, it was delicious. Any non vegan wouldn’t know the difference.

Pros: All vegan truck, Delicious Food, Super cool staff

CarrieKuhn

Points +15

Vegetarian
09 Sep 2022

Bomb a$$ tacos!!

This food truck is an amazing find... Especially in New Mexico where vegan restaurants/food trucks are hard to come by. The tacos were the bomb diggity, I got 2 cauli tacos and 2 jackfruit tacos. I'm from out of town, so sad I won't be eating here often... But i will absolutely be going back any time I'm in town to try the rest of the menu!

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-09

Pros: Fully vegan menu, DELICIOUS! , Locations posted online & easy to find

Cons: Styrofoam containers😒not eco-friendly

Mmaarrss

Points +456

Vegan
03 May 2022

No Longer a Food Truck

I've been to Vegan Vato multiple times since they opened just a little over a year ago and have been happy every single time. You get so much food for such a reasonable price. Like really. Get the burrito or loaded fries and tell me that's not at least two meals.

Unfortunately their new location (Lava Rock Brewing) is a bit inconvenient, and honestly the beer is just meh, but it is definitely worth the drive.

Pros: Huge portions, Good prices, DELICIOUS.

Cons: Out of the way

bduboff

Points +1396

Vegan
11 Apr 2022

Great vegan joint in ABQ NW

Good location, free parking, local beer ... What else could you ask for!

Pros: Great vegan menu, Suberb seitan

ChrisMontoya

02 Jun 2022

_MLE_

Points +46

Vegan
19 Mar 2022

Yummy, filling, flavorful

The food was incredibly flavorful and hearty. Very impressive and satisfying!

Pros: All vegan!, Excellent seasoning / flavor, Gluten free options

NicoleVanDuyn

Points +48

Vegan
31 Oct 2021

Amazing vegan street food!!

Title says it all! I try to catch them at sidetrack brewery on Friday nights when I can!

OreoSharp

Points +16

Vegan
02 Jun 2021

The Loaded Fries Are Amazing

My wife and I, both of us are Vegans, discovered this food truck about two months ago. We have been back four times.

Pros: Everything is Vegan

Cons: Currently only open two days per week.

SarahPugh

Points +16

Vegan
16 Mar 2021

Amazing!

Great food, parked at great breweries and other venues.

Pros: Totally vegan, delicious and varied.

Cons: Only open a few days a week for now




This page has been viewed 2658 times.