Vegan
Italian
Organic
Western
Buffet
Fast food
Delivery
Take-out
Catering

Casual bistro serving organic vegan food with dishes like hummus, burgers, tofu, tempeh and seitan. Has sugar-free cakes. Relocated from Via Maddalena, 3B. Open Mon-Sat 12:00-15:00, Fri-Sat 19:30-23:00.


Venue map for Vegan e Veg
© OpenStreetMap contributors

30 Reviews

First Review by JessCardile

giorgiakappa

Points +449

Vegan
20 Dec 2023

Good homemade food

The place is the first and only vegan restaurant in Messina, a reality to support for sure. The staff was incredibly sweet and the food quite good.

Advertisement

CarolinaK.M.

Points +15

Vegetarian
03 Nov 2023

deliciosa brioche gourmet e cerveja artesanal

um acaso a procura de um restaurante vegetariano em messina, uma salvação!!! servem tanto pratos do dia como brioches, minha escolha da brioche gourmet (deliciosa é gigante) e cerveja artesanal local. recomendadíssimo para quem procura comida gostosa e veg na região!

Pros: delicious brioche gourmet, comfy enviroment, beautiful decoration

Merenda

Points +20

Vegan
26 Oct 2023

Esperienza positiva!

Il locale è piccolo e tranquillo e a due passi dalla stazione.
Io ed il mio amico abbiamo passato una serata in pace mangiando cibo molto buono, così buono che è piaciuto pure a lui nonostante fosse il suo primo assaggio di cibo completamente vegano. Ci ritorneremo senza dubbio

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-26

Pros: Qualità e freschezza del cibo, Semplicità dei piatti, Combinazione dei sapori

Cons: Prezzo, Alcuni piatti mancanti la sera

ladybry

Points +15

Mostly Veg
24 Sep 2023

My fav vegan place in town

I live in Messina and this is my go-to place for delicious vegan bowls, sandwiches, brioche and desserts.

Menu changes everyday, everything is fresh and homemade and tastes great. And ghey provide microfiltered water too.

Also great position, just a few steps away from the train and bus station and a short walk from the cruise terminal and the city centre.
100% recommended!

Pros: Delicious food, Clean, quiet

VeganEVeg

09 Oct 2023

JillBelsanPoston

Points +375

Vegan
30 Aug 2023

Short walk from the cruise terminal

Refreshing sandwiches and chocolate dessert for lunch. Such a nice change from cruise food.

Pros: Tastes great, Fresh ingredients , Friendly staff

MGV

30 Aug 2023

Thank's a lot Jill, It was a pleasure to welcome you!

Tureah

Points +24

Vegan
24 Jul 2023

Great food and service

Awsome food, had a sandwish and a bowl, both great. Also forgott my wallet and they helped out posting it to my hotell!

Pros: The bowls , The service

ElizabethMcKinsey

Points +21

Vegan
21 Jul 2023

Delicious and delightful!

My husband and I just had the most delicious and delightful dinner at Vegan e Veg! The food was all local, organic and very tasty! The restaurant owner is extremely committed to supporting and sustaining the local island farming economy and sharing the message of all things plants! Additionally she is a fine chef.
We feel so lucky that we discovered this wonderful restaurant on our first stop through Sicily!

Pros: Wide variety of plants., Great service., Lots of food.

miriblitz

Points +16

Vegan
02 Jun 2023

Really cute place

Great food, lovely location and really nice people working here. I felt very comfortable. And even a clean toilet which is rare in sicily :)

VeganEVeg

02 Jun 2023

NilsBrönstrup

Points +64

Vegan
10 May 2023

Unfortunately somewhat disappointing

 After all the reviews here, I was unfortunately a bit disappointed. I had really imagined something different. I had Travegzzino with hummus, salt and saitan. Unfortunately, there were two slices of grey bread, which were not toasted. Also, unfortunately, the food was very bland and could have used some spice. The local beer, however, was very tasty.

Pros: Veganes Essen , Das Konzept an sich

Cons: Das Brot war nicht getoastet , Fade im Geschmack , Doch recht teuer für das Essen

MGV

13 May 2023

Unfortunately you didn't ask us to toast your travegzzino , why?About our food , we have a mediterranean Natural cooking style, so our food Is not spiced but flouverd with olive oil and our typical aromatic erbs: garlic, onion, rosemary,sage,basil,Mint, parsley, laurel, celery, Red chilli pepper. Maybe you weee looking for oriental food?

GustenBaldrup

Points +26

Vegan
13 Feb 2023

So glad to get a good meal

We were so glad to get a real meal after getting pizza without cheese or same deal with pasta for over a week in italy.
Had daal and a chicpeaflour omelette 👌
Def reccomend.

Pros: All vegan, Nice staff

GarrrliCat

Points +1650

Vegan
18 Jan 2023

Fresh and healthy

There are three basic meals(Buddha bowl, sandwich and something I forgot 😅) which are changing the ingredients they made of by the daily delivery of the local farmer. Super nice concept, fresh and healthy food.
Bit confusing the way menu is made but we worked it out

Pros: Fresh ingredients

luikn

Points +562

Vegan
13 Nov 2022

Great food

We went here on our way to the south. While the food was really good, I was a bit disappointed by the service.

We parked the car in a nearby parking (5€ first hour).

They have several options and the offer is very interesting and fresh. The service is fast, as everything is already cooked.

I had a salat, vegan burger (chickpea-based) and pasta. And a cake for desert. Everything was delicious.

Nonetheless the staff seemed kind of rude to me. I did not feel welcome. Based on all previous reviews here this seems to be my very personal experience and perhaps a very particular day (maybe not their best). You should go regardless, food is very good.


What felt strange to me:

At some point I had to ask if I had said something wrong, but she said that everything was OK. Some of the things that seem strange to me:

- The way the menu works seemed non-standard to me, so I had to ask several times. Plus the menu was in Italian, so I had some questions. It felt as if they were annoyed by me when I was asking. Probably I asked more than once, but it had been a long day driving.
- The menu was on WhatsApp Catalogue, and did not show up very structured on my phone (that seem to be a WhatsApp issue), so I was confused at times on which dishes qualified for a menu combo they had. Again, they seemed annoyed whenever I asked.
- I asked for their personal recommendations and they were unable to propose anything. They went like ‘anything you want’, ‘depends’ etc. I tried asking twice, but no luck.
- An older couple came after us, and they explained everything in careful detail to them. I could tell how kinder they were to them. They were also tourists. It felt to me as if they were worth their kindness because they were older and we were couple of youngers.
- They had some problems (not their fault, probably bank’s) with the TPV when we were trying to pay. Took like 5 min. It was not their fault at all, but once it worked they did not say ‘sorry’ or not even a ‘ciao’. They just waited for me to pay, that was it.

Updated from previous review on 2022-11-12

Pros: Fresh healthy food, Local, Tasty

Cons: not so welcoming staff

Nica59

Points +26

Vegan
19 Oct 2022

Nice

The food was very good and super friendly staff🤩👍🏼

Jeanette&George

Points +39

Vegan
19 Jul 2022

A lovely little spot

Our experience here was very much in line with what other people have said before; a lovely little cafe with a few outdoor shaded high tables, genuine local handcrafted food and extremely friendly and helpful staff. Definitely worth a visit if you are in Messina. Tip: about a 10 minute walk from the cruise terminal (if you visit Messina by ship).

Pros: local, handcrafted dishes, extremely helpful staff

VeganEVeg

04 Aug 2022

GaetanoVeg

Points +18

Vegan
07 Jun 2022

Best choise

Everything, location and food

Pros: Good food vs price rate, Daily menu and rich and tasty menu, Organic and local fresh food

NadineRichter

Points +129

Vegan
30 Apr 2022

Fresh and seasonal

Nice owner, food was tasty, cute location.

Pros: All vegan, fresh & healthy

MGV

30 Apr 2022

CaterinaP

Points +22

Vegan
27 Mar 2022

Cucina genuina, fresca e gustosa

Sono stata ieri sera a cena e sono rimasta piacevolmente colpita da tutto: dal locale curato e carinissimo, dalla gentilezza del personale e ovviamente dalla cucina. Particolarità: ogni giorno c’è qualcosa di fresco, in quanto la proprietaria ha scelto di non avere il congelatore proprio perché tutto quello che viene cucinato non debba essere avanzato o fare sprechi. Ogni giorno riceve da contadini e fornitori piccoli verdura fresca e con questa realizza cose veramente strepitose. Ogni volta che passerò in futuro da Messina ci tornerò

VeganEVeg

27 Mar 2022

Grazie Caterina, quando vuoi sarai la benvenuta! A presto

cazorla19

Points +176

Vegan
11 Mar 2022

The best vegan place in Sicily so far

Full vegan menu, the owner is very friendly and generous, the food is very good and healthy, the location is in the center, awesome place to eat

Pros: All options are vegan, Friendly owner, Great location

VeganEVeg

15 Mar 2022

Thanks a lot! We are Happy you enjoyed the food and location too.

Salvidor

Points +18

Vegetarian
13 Nov 2021

The best in Messina

New location but same delicious Vegan food

Pros: Many and fresh option changing every day

ZEJost

Points +18

Vegan
27 Oct 2021

Quick and tasty lunch

It’s beautiful tasty food awesome service, can’t wait to bring my friends here. It’s right near the train station, and in front of the park.

Pros: All vegan!!!, Tasty colourful

VeganEVeg

15 Mar 2022

Thanks web are looking for to meet you and your Friends too, veru sono!

Lenii_Hu

Points +393

Vegan
28 May 2021

Fresh and organic food

The first fully vegan place we found on sicilia. You can order 2 different dishes (10€), 3 different dishes (13€) or 4 different dishes (15€) for your bowl. We could choose between 6 or € dishes.

Pros: Fully vegan

bendufeu

Points +214

Vegan
28 Sep 2020

Interesting local food

Small relaxed cafe with a variety of locally grown seasonal food. Good portions. I left very full. 5 mins walk from Messina Station.

Pros: Staff Fluent in English and English Menu, Nice atmosphere , Tasty

Cons: No toilet in cafe but this seem normal for Sicily

GeoffreyMille

Points +48

Vegan
05 Aug 2020

Yummy!

Amazing fresh and organic vegan food
Glutenfree options available too
Manuela the owner is very friendly and gave us super advices to visit the city.

Pros: Super tasty, Gluten free and vegan , Fabulous raw cakes

Cons: Suggestion: make vegetable juice !

SamOBrien

Points +26

Vegan
31 Oct 2019

Absolutely delicious, great variety & value. Super cute place & friendly staff😊

Will definitely come back here!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Homemade and fresh

MartineNoors

Points +34

Vegan
21 Sep 2019

Delicious vegan food in a eco-friendly place

What a nice place! We were couple of minutes too early but welcome. We could make our own composition of lots of delicious food. We also had nice vegan wine. The lady was very helpful in English and gave us lots of information about vegan wine on Sicily and restaurants in Catania. A pity it's only open for a couple of hours.

photoagency

Points +222

Vegetarian
05 Sep 2019

Local, organic and vegan!

This is maybe the best spot on the whole island to get some healthy, nutritous and wholesome food! The menu is set on a day to day basis depending on what the farmers bring in. Now how about that!! Food is fresh and flavours are great. Highly recommended.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Local and organic, Super friendly service - in English

VcorrineV

Points +65

Vegan
22 Oct 2018

amazing!

I arrived before they opened and the lady opened for me anyway and was very helpful with deciding what to have. It was tasty and most was locally sourced and bio as well. I had a selection of 3 different options and all were flavorsome and reminded me of home cooked food (which is amazing as I'm travelling for 9 months)




This page has been viewed 3767 times.