Lacto
Ovo
Mediterranean
European
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Restaurant overlooking Spinola Bay. Separate vegetarian menu with around ten dishes of which at least two or more are vegan. For dessert there's soy or rice ice cream and cheesecake. Art studio downstairs.


Venue map for Two Buoys Bistro
© OpenStreetMap contributors

29 Reviews

First Review by TianaNelson

Jules19

Points +495

Vegan
26 Sep 2023

Great location

Didn’t book but were lucky to get a table as it was really busy. Great atmosphere and lovely views over Spinola Bay. Had the Tittybong Tower and the Bells Beach Bowl with tofu. Both looked fab and were so tasty. Quite a few vegan options on the menu too. Would definitely go again😄

Pros: Good menu, Friendly staff, Great views over bay

Cons: Should probably book a table

Advertisement

KirstyMc-Reeves

Points +178

Vegan
09 Apr 2023

Nice enough

We came here on our first night in Malta, hungry after our trip. The food was fine, but not hugely flavourful. However the vibe was chilled and relaxed, drinks were lovely and the view onto Spinola bay is lovely. They had games available too, which I love. I wouldn’t rush back, but it was nice enough to stop at for a chilled dinner.

Pros: Views, Relaxed vibe/atmosphere, More than 1 option!

SanneKoevoets

Points +40

Vegan
16 Sep 2022

Not our fav

The restaurant looked very nice and welcoming, staff was nice. Vegan options for dinner were limited and weren’t the tastiest but it was ok. Sweet potato fries were amazing tho. But it was very nice to see a restaurant serve something else than beyond burgers.

Jordinaruscalleda

Points +211

Vegan
27 Aug 2022

Aussie vibes in Malta

I lived in Australia for over a year and this place brought me back there. Plates are huge. Sweet potato fries are really just to die for.

molly.ophelia

Points +382

Vegan
21 May 2022

Cool place for refreshments

Breezy open Australian&Maltese restaurant overlooking Spinola bay! We came for drinks but the menu looks great and I’d be open to trying the food! Vegan options are clearly labelled and even some vegan Parmesan available! Wonderful!

Pros: Clearly marked vegan options , Amazing view , Cool vibe

Cons: Non vegan options on menu too!

Christine_

Points +259

Vegan
21 Apr 2022

Loved it here!

The food is quality, and the staff are friendly and knowledgeable. We had curried cauliflower gyros and the truffle and v. parmesan risotto, both were amazing. The staff then tempted us into the raw snickers cheesecake which was well worth the food babies we rolled home with!

Pros: Good vegan options, Friendly and happy staff, Good atmosphere

kayleighetc

Points +86

Vegan
31 Mar 2022

Amazing restaurant!

Mix of both normal and vegan options - we went there for breakfast one day and then had to come back for dinner after seeing some dinner vegan options too! Lush cocktails too 😍

Pros: Good amount of vegan options, Nice view of the bay

JennyMather

Points +45

Vegan
22 Nov 2021

Delicious food and beautiful view

Lovely dirty vegan junk and cheap yet boozy cocktails. Great casual atmosphere and lovely views

OlenaBryzhko

Points +61

Vegan
21 Aug 2021

Good, but pricy

Nice restaurant next to the sea, food was good and big portions. I had some kind of vegan tower, which was smth like a burger with potato pancakes instead of buns, with tofu, avocado and veggies, served with beetroot hummus

Pros: Tasty, big portions, nice staff

Cons: Not vegan, pricy

Courage91

Points +282

Vegan
29 Jul 2021

Lovely Vegan choice

Lovely vegan choice with a very relaxed atmosphere.
They do all they can to make sure you get a nice Vegan option, some are clearly marked on the menu.

Pros: Nice vegan option, Great location

Cons: Needs booking as always full

ASTBarash

Points +512

Vegan
28 Jul 2021

Nice view and many vegan options

Not fully vegan but a lot of vegan options on the menu. Kitchen was about to close but they were willing to serve us.


Updated from previous review on 2021-07-28


Updated from previous review on 2021-07-28

Pros: Multiple vegan options to choose from, Friendly staff

annaswalsh

Points +20

Vegan
17 Sep 2020

Love this place

Lots of vegan options, and the options that are vegetarian we were told could be made vegan. Very friendly and helpful staff. Gorgeous restaurant

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Friendly staff , Lovely atmosphere

jonny-martinez

Points +28

Vegan
22 Jan 2020

Amazing location, great food, friendly and helpful service!

We had a lovely time here, and will certainly be coming back during our trip.

Good Vegan options, including deserts.

Service was really good and the location is wonderful.

Pros: Quality of food was great, Staff were very helpful and friendly, Vegan wines available

henrytkj

Points +100

Vegan
04 Aug 2019

Great food and good service

Came her with my non-vegan mum and we both had the risotto. I had the truffle and my mum had the beetroot risotto, both amazing!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Amazing staff, Good view

gemmafrench3

Points +65

Vegan
31 Jul 2019

Ok-ish food, good location

There were a few vegan options (same as on website), so at least some choice.

It was very quiet when I went but despite this service was longer than expected, especially when my food arrived and as a platter, half of it was (deliberately) cold so not sure why it took so long.

Overall, I was disappointed; spoon of each cold quinoa, cold ratatouille, with deep fried falafel and sweetcorn fritters was an odd (and sparse) mix and didn't fit well together.

But good effort nonetheless and hopefully as demand for vegan food increases so will the quality of the options.

Pros: Location

efcliz

Points +101

Vegan
19 Apr 2019

Great food, super location

The vegan menu in the restaurant is far more extensive than the one on the website, with several specials. The artichoke special starter was absolutely delicious and probably the best artichoke I’ve ever eaten.

Pros: separate vegan menu , range of specials

AnthonyDanielRosario

Points +38

Vegan
07 Apr 2019

Good Food; Good Service

came here with my non vegan friends. I had their soup of the day (I can’t remember what it was called but it was made of coconut milk) I also had the crispy tofu dish (an Asian inspired dish) which was very good and their Chianti wine. Unfortunately we came on a rainy day so we couldn’t sit outside but there is a nice view of the water.

phi

Points +54

Vegan
29 Mar 2019

Really good!

I went there after having read all those good references and was not disappointed. Everything was so fresh and nice. The alkaline salad with the crispy tofu was soooo good and we had the raw vegan cheesecake for dessert which was to die for. Will go there again!

ambermarie

Points +148

Vegan
07 Mar 2019

Gorgeous setting and decent choice for vegans

This restaurant is in a beautiful location overlooking the harbour. There is a separate vegan menu with about 3-4 starters and 3 main courses to choose from, as well as a couple of vegan dessert options.

I started with a delicious Jerusalem artichoke soup and then the crispy tofu stir fry which was tasty and felt very healthy after a couple of days of pasta / pizza / chips. There was also free bread and garlicky beans provided as an appetiser.

We ate fairly late and the restaurant was empty apart from one other table. Sit outside on the terrace as the views are lovely.

We found it to be very reasonably priced (for the vegan food) and the house wine is really cheap!

Pros: Good selection of vegan options, Great location, Cheap

Cons: Service a little slow

123emily

Points +1310

Vegan
16 Dec 2018

Delicious, friendly staff and beautiful views!

We arrived late as they stop serving food after 4pm on sundays but the staff were kind enough to cook up some delicious vegan lasagnas for us anyway which was kind.

They have quite a few vegan options which was great to see!

The lasagnas were really good! Only problem was that I wanted to eat more 😂 Couldn’t get enough of it!

The views were beautiful too, overlooking the bay.

There is indoor and outdoor seating available, and they offered us blankets for if it got cold outside.

Really lovely place overall and affordable!

Pros: Beautiful views, Friendly staff, Delicious lasagna

Unplugged

Points +53

Vegan
12 Oct 2018

5 star everything!

Fine vegan dining outside overlooking the bay it really does not get much better. The new autumn menu is gorgeous even for a keto vegan it was perfect. My favourite vegan nice restaurant.

Pros: Dedicated vegan menu, Outstanding service, Knowledge staff

Geri’sBeanThere

Points +90

Vegan
22 Jul 2018

Best meal in Malta

Can not fault this place, staff were so welcoming and enthusiastic about vegan customers! Gave us loads of info on their menu and how it came about. And.... the food was just delicious! Chefs welcome of homemade hummus- ate it so fast we forgot to photograph. I had a special, truffle and asparagus risotto 10/10 and bf had portobello mushroom (vege dish). We both had mushroom soup to start! To die for! Would have given 5*

Pros: Loads of vegan choices, Beautiful setting , Staff are soooooooo lovely and helpful, attentive

jesskempton91

Points +44

Vegan
18 Jul 2018

Great service, good food

I must say I was a little concerned about this place after reading some reviews but we had a lovely evening there. They brought out bread and dip and crackers which he highlighted was vegan (bean dip), the bread came out with some little packets of butter but I asked for olive oil which was brought over immediately. For mains I had a creamy mushroom penne in cashew creme and my partner had a saffron risotto. Mine was so good I was concerned it wasn’t vegan but the waiter definitely said vegan about ten times to reassure me! For desert I had the vegan cheesecake which was delish and definitely vegan as I have made these before and can tell, my partner has some black currant sorbet. It was odd that the other sorbet flavours were not vegan but this was the only one labelled vegan. The service was lovely and we even had some cats and dogs for company as it was pet friendly!

Pros: Lots of vegan options including desert , Pet friendly , Great views and good service

MaryKFox

Points +70

Vegan
13 Jul 2018

Vegan friendly

Several dishes of veganopitions. The staff knew what veganism is and served me special snacks. The food was nice. Will visit them again.

DeepakVerma

Points +32

Vegan
16 May 2018

Great location but food and service not so great.

They have quite a few vegan options so maybe the other options are better. I had the risotto and it was pretty bland. Service also wasn't that great. Almost felt like they forgot about us. Too bad because location is really good.

Pros: Multiple vegan options.

Cons: Food was bland, and service slow.

HJS

Points +97

Vegan
05 Apr 2018

Crab in 'vegan' pasta and served non vegan cheesecake

This restaurant has a nice outlook and a separate vegan menu. Though, I am concerned some staff have missed the concept of veganism. My husband was served crab in his vegan spaghetti. They made him a new pasta and offered a vegan dessert to make up for it. However he got half way through a cheesecake before the waitress gave a horrified look and ran off.
He had to track her down 10 minutes later (as we realised something was amiss) and she then admitted the cheesecake he had been served wasn't vegan. She had withheld this information from us when she realised, which is what actually upset us greatly.

We gave them a chance to redeem themselves at the end and spoke the the manager to give feedback but were met with rudeness and defensiveness and the waitress actually said 'well at least I didn't charge you extra for soya milk' before she ran off crying. It was literally like a sketch out of Fawlty Towers!

I feel as if I have a duty to report this on here even though they did reduce the bill for the price of the cheesecake in the end. I just feel they have a distinct lack of grasp of veganism. If I had been served the crab I could have gotten very ill. I don't feel as if they took the mistakes seriously enough.

AnnadeSousa

Points +54

Vegan
06 Mar 2018

Greaf vegan options!

I ate here and it was delicious! One of the bests tofu I’ve ever eaten. It had a whole vegan menu. The staff was really nice and the prices very reasonable!

Pros: view (you can see the bay), lots of options




This page has been viewed 5413 times.