Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
Take-out
Gluten-free
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Offers a build your own style menu. Choose a turf, surf or earth item first and then add extras. The 'earth' portion is all 100% vegan including tofu, falafel, house-made veggie burgers, Beyond burger and chick’n. All dressings and sauces are made in-house and 100% plant based as well, including mayo. Also makes dairy-free cashew cheese sauce and a dairy-free cheese slice. Buns do not contain dairy or egg. All sides are vegan, and also offers a variety of vegan/gluten free cupcakes and cookies. Open Mon-Fri 7:30am-9:00pm, Sat 9:00am-9:30pm. Closed Sun.


Venue map for Turf Surf & Earth
© OpenStreetMap contributors

17 Reviews

First Review by altv

LizMas614

Points +1380

Vegan
18 Feb 2024

Unique!

This was a GREAT restaurant concept. This wasn't far from our hotel in New Jersey and they have so many vegan options. First, you pick your protein (surf, turf, or earth). As you probably guessed for vegans, pick earth ( black bean burger, mushroom burger, chicken, tofu, falafel) Second, you pick your style (over rice, greens, flatbread, taco, or bun). All "style" varieties are vegan. Lastly, you pick your flavor style. All flavor styles can be made vegan as well. (There are 10 different flavor styles) I chose the baja style because it has guacamole. We ended up trying the chicken gyro and mac n cheese as well. The service was great, and the restaurant itself was beautiful. I love the blue decor, it was super calming and cozy.

Pros: Great atmosphere , Great options, Many gluten free options

Advertisement

tylergoesvegan

Points +294

Vegan
22 Dec 2023

I Want More!!!

This place is definitely Top Notch!!
Went when they had special of French onion soup as like impossible to find vegan in NJ. It was amazing! Just missed the mozzarella cheese but still was tasty!
Finally Real Vegan Onion Rings! Actually looks home made and battered and cheap for price to quantity!
The Burger was Housemade too and Amazing!
Definitely Coming Back!!
Only Challenge is No Parking Lot, Only Street but found a spot.

Pros: Food, Service, Vibes

Cons: No Parking Lot

DanielleDemateis

Points +158

Vegan
21 Dec 2023

Basically vegan

There are many options, and almost anything can be made vegan, if it isn't already. The service style is order at the counter and food is brought to you at your table. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Pros: Many options

yummy81

Points +83

Vegan
16 Dec 2023

Just give it 5 starts already!

This is that place you go as a vegan and say thank you for existing:)

Errandles9970

Points +42

Vegan
28 Jul 2023

Love the variety, Go Vegan!

This place was featured on the “Food Network”The Mac & Cheese is to die for. The vegan turkey sub is delicious!

Pros: Flavor , Portion size , Location

Itvelikethat_

05 Jan 2024

Omg yes love the Mac and cheese! Best vegan Mac and cheese I’ve had

Itvelikethat_

Points +43

Vegan
23 Jul 2023

One of our favorite places to go

The vegan breakfast foods, coffees, chai latte, grandmas po boy 🥲 so many delicious options. Absolutely love going and with the whole family, in laws and all. There’s great options for everyone.

Pros: Pancakes/ French toast , Vegan bacon/sausage , Grandmas po boy

nsiblal

Points +24

Vegan
13 Jun 2023

I wanted to leave 5 stars. I just stuffed my face with these lovelies!

I love the flavor profile incorporated with these 3 lovelies! Build your own includes tofu, pickled onions, avocado, spouts and salsa verde- all nestled into corn tortillas

Pros: Lots of option for building your own meal

Cons: No cons, No cons

AbbyCRose

Points +16

Vegan
29 May 2023

Great variety - 5 stars

Only place that all three vegan kids and vegan me can find things we all like, and omnivore husband can find stuff he likes, too. Good prices.

Pros: Variety, something for EVERYONE , Tasty, but can get more mild things for kids, Indoor and outdoor seating

VeganbyChoice

Points +1420

Vegan
05 Apr 2023

Vegan options

1st time here. Street parking available (metered). Inside and outside dining area available. Use kiosk to place an order. Clean and inviting place. Had the vegan nachos and vegan BLT. Both came in a good serving size. Nachos were really good. BLT was really good. Looking forward to coming back and trying some of their vegan breakfast options.

April 2023
Back for breakfast. The breakfast sandwich on an English muffin with sausage and chipotle mayo was delicious. Added avocado and hash brown. Also tried their veggie lovers omelette with toast. Very tasty. Enjoyed both and looking forward to repeating. One request I will have next time is for a toasty, crispy English muffin. Also came back for the French toast stinks and they were easily the best vegan French toast sticks I have ever had (better than the Tonga toast o look forward to at Disney).

Updated from previous review on 2023-04-03

reywatson

Points +25

Vegan
24 Dec 2022

So good!

Every time I come in or even near Somerville I have to come to this place. The menu is mostly vegan and they have such a large variety
of options. Service is always quick, the food is always delicious and they always give you a huge portion. You can build your own, pick one of
their flavor styles or get one of the special options. Over the past few times I’ve been here I have had a buffalo chick’n sandwich, nachos, the grandma’s boy (fried mushroom sandwich), lentil burger pita, mexican-style sautéed tofu bowl, sweet potato fries (with an amazing vegan honey mustard sauce), etc. Everything is amazing and I have never once been disappointed! I would give 5 stars if Happy Cow would let me.

Pros: TONS of options, Huge portions, Delicious and fresh food

Cons: No cons

gorunick

Points +146

Vegan
09 Sep 2022

Delicious food

So many options and they are really nice!! I had the mushroom/ lentil burger with sweet potato fries.. delicious!! My niece had the falafel over rice and greens and that too was amazing!, cant wait to go back and try more options

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Fresh in house made items , Delicious

Cons: Not really any except to far from me😞

angeligj

Points +76

Vegan
21 Jul 2022

YUM YUM YUM!

Ate there yesterday for lunch and I already want to go back. The options are endless (almost to the point of overwhelming) in the best way! A gem of a spot for vegans and vegetarians. The aesthetics of the place are so cute too!

midstsec

Points +84

Vegan
08 Apr 2022

Tasty fast food

My first time there and for fast food with vegan options it was good. I had the falafel and it was tasty but hard. The staff was very helpful and pleasant.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Tasty food

Cons: Street parking

rparkanyi

Points +92

Vegetarian
20 Feb 2022

A burger place for vegans

As the name implies, there are meat, seafood, and plant based choices. For Vegan/vegetarians, its 3 kinds of burgers and chick'n. The food is good, prices are a bit high but consistent with Somerville.
You pick a burger, then a base (different salads and/or 1 or 3 kinds of rice), sauces and toppings. Not always clear if a sauce or topping is vegan, you need to ask or take many of the safe choices. If you are looking for a casual (order at the counter) place with several veg options and you are in the area it is worth the trip.

Pros: Good for a quick casual meal, Several vegan choices

Cons: Confusing menu, Prices not marked

reywatson

24 Dec 2022

It states it on the menu but all their sauces are vegan. Toppings are vegan unless it’s obviously something like bacon or cheese (but they have non-dairy cheese). They also have tofu and falafel as well.

JeffBrackett

Points +138

Vegan
31 Jan 2022

Great food, but confusing menu among other things

So I love this place, but it costs too much money for the amount of food. It has New York prices, but tiny amounts of food. I mean the fries are reasonably priced. It seems like the try to hide the price of all the ads-ons or make it as confusing as possible. So at the end you’re spending more money than you thought with less food than you intended.

Updated from previous review on 2022-01-31

Pros: Food is delicious

Cons: Over priced, Confusing menu

circles

Points +36

Vegan
28 Nov 2020

would give five stars if possible

By far my favorite vegan takeout experience ever. Ample vegan options to be had. I've been here twice and both times were exceptional; one of them was during the lunch rush and I still had my food within fifteen minutes. Good balance in the portions between greens / protein / other. The blackened tofu is a highlight, as well as the mushrooms. Would drive the hour up to go again in the future.

Pros: exceptional food, good value, healthy

Cons: none

altv

Points +16

Vegan
02 Feb 2020

Delicious vegan burger

Mushroom lentil burger is delicious. So are the onion rings. All vegan. They have many vegan options. Impossible burger is great too.

Pros: Vegan options , Very friendly staff

Cons: None




This page has been viewed 3306 times.