• The Vegetarian

  • (11)
    10
    Loading...
  • White Vegetarian
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Indian
Take-out

Northern and southern Indian vegetarian cuisine. Dumm aloo, naan, uthappam, dosa, curry dishes, desserts, and more. Previously in the Twin Cities for 20+ years. Currently open for take out. Open Tue-Sun 11:00am-2:30pm, 5:00pm-8:00pm.


Venue map for The Vegetarian
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by TALLROTTIEMAMA

StacyMN

Points +211

Vegan
18 Mar 2023

Great food and service

We were the only customers, so it felt like the chef was our personal chef! The food was wonderful and loved all the vegan options!

Pros: Lots of options, Quiet

Advertisement

HeatherMarie

Points +26

Vegan
12 Aug 2022

Excellent

The flavor of the food is great without being too spicy for my Minnesotan palate.

Rumptastic

Points +48

Vegetarian
26 Jun 2022

A gem!

This spot is great! They had plenty of familiar dishes and some that I'd never seen before (e.g., coconut chutney). Lots of interesting options.

Pros: All vegetarian, Lots of vegan/vegan on request options , Unusual and flavorful dishes

Cons: Small and crowded when busy

Brock.Lee

Points +30

Vegan
03 Mar 2022

Fire

This place is the [censored]. The owner Ashuk’s the man. Super solid vegan options 💪🏼

MissRoses

Points +157

Vegan
08 Nov 2021

Clutch

We had a full day of hiking and shopping around the area. With limited veggie food options at small-town cafes and bars, this restaurant comes in to save the day! As of right now (Nov 2021) their dining room is closed but we got our dinner to go and found a park nearby to eat by the river! The staff was super helpful and getting our food was no problem. We ordered a few appetizers and two entrees ended up swapping and sharing everything. Everything we have tried here has been amazing, I would highly recommend it to everyone!

Pros: Lots of vegan upon request , Staff is helpful, Parking is easy

Cons: Meal Hours (dinner at 5)

EricL

Points +16

Vegan
30 Jul 2021

Love This Place

Have loved everything I have tried here. Lots of flavor and feel good when I leave. (Beautiful neighborhood)

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-23

Pros: Great flavor, Lots of options, Friendly owners

Cons: Pickup only (at the moment 7-21-21)

Evster

Points +80

Vegan
14 Jun 2019

First experience

Stopped in for dinner after hiking around Taylor's Falls, around 5:30. Service was quick and the food was tasty. Portions were small but quality and had nice flavors. Our waiter was friendly and eager to recommend dishes. The Aloo Gobi was perfect and the Dosa Masala was good too. It was my first time having Dosa and I will try it again for sure. Eggplant Masala was pretty good as well.

Pros: Many vegan options, quick service, quality food

Cons: Spendy for portion sizes

DonnyMcKercher

Points +18

Vegan
30 Jul 2017

Excellent food and service!

I love going to the Vegetarian. I haven't had a meal here yet that I didn't like.

VeganChazilian

Points +102

Vegan
04 Sep 2016

They don't spare the aromatic spices!

Delicious, authentic and affordable! We had dosas and tamarind rice and ladoo (a "donut hole") for dessert. Came within a reasonable time. Magical, since it was just the owner and the server feeding over 25 people and 4 takeout orders while we were seated! So hot and fresh, all dishes made to order. Can't wait to come back!!

ChristopherKrull

Points +63

Vegan
03 Jul 2015

What a gem in a small town!

My parents have lived in the area for years, and what a revelation it was when they told me they had a vegetarian restaurant!

The owner/chef makes great food and is also very friendly.

Almost anything can be made vegan, and the taste of the dishes I have had has been excellent. My omnivore, raised-on-the-farm parents even love the place!

Highly recommended, and support it if you live near by, please!

Pros: Indian food, Vegan options, Friendly

TALLROTTIEMAMA

Points +11

Mostly Veg
29 Apr 2012

WORTH A TRIP!!!

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE GOING TO THE VEGETARIAN. I TRY TO PICK A DIFFERENT ENTREE EACH TIME, BUT SOME THINGS REMAIN THE SAME- I START OFF W/ A FEW FAT TIRE'S & THE APPETIZER SAMPLER. I ALWAYS ORDER THE ONION NAAN W/ MY MEAL. IT COMES OUT BUBBLY HOT MMMMM. I COULD TRULY JUST HAVE THESE, BUT I JUST CAN'T STOP. THE BEST PART IS, I ALWAYS BRING HALF MY ENTREE HOME. OF COURSE IT DOESN'T MAKE UNTIL DAWN! I SWEAR IT CALLS OUT TO ME & I CAN'T SLEEP.
EVERYONE IS SO KNOWLEDGEABLE ABOUT ALL THE FOOD, YOU CAN ASK THEM ANYTHING. THE OWNER IS VERY NICE TOO, HE USUALLY COMES OUT TO CHECK ON US TO SEE HOW EVERYTHING WAS. I LIMIT MYSELF TO COMING HERE ONCE A MONTH, OR I WOULD BE HERE DAILY.
IF YOU DON'T LIVE CLOSE BY- MAKE THE TRIP HERE! IT'S SO WORTH IT! ST CROIX FALLS IS BEAUTIFUL. IT'S A GREAT LITTLE TOWN TO WALK AROUND, SO COME WHILE IT'S STILL LIGHT OUT. THERE'S A PARK TO WALK AROUND ABOVE THE DAM, AND YOU CAN WATCH THE EAGLES. IT CAN BE FUN OR ROMANTIC. IT'S FUN TO EAT, THEN WALK AROUND THE PARK AFTER. IT'S A NICE ENDING TO A GREAT MEAL!!

Pros: HEALTHY, EXCELLENT FOOD, EXCELLENT STAFF




This page has been viewed 3635 times.