• The Tropical Bar and Restaurant

  • (8)
    6
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Macrobiotic
Thai
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Thai restaurant with a wide variety of vegan options, including appetizers, entrees, soups and salad. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-3:00pm, 5:00pm-10:00pm. Closed Mon.


Venue map for The Tropical Bar and Restaurant
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by EmilyBethNelson

JamesRyanYoung

Points +39

Vegan
05 Jun 2023

On Top of My List

Indulge in the exquisite array of vegan options available at this wonderful restaurant! During my recent dining experience with a group of four, I made a delightful choice by selecting the tofu appetizer and treating myself to the delectable eggplant stir fry. I must say, both dishes exceeded my expectations and left me thoroughly impressed!

Meanwhile, my companions opted for non-vegan fare, opting for tantalizing chicken and beef dishes. Additionally, they couldn't resist the allure of two delectable desserts, and they couldn't help but rave about the incredible flavors they experienced. The fact that they couldn't stop talking about the tasty offerings clearly indicates the remarkable quality of the food.

Located conveniently near Memorial, this tropical gem of a restaurant was a hidden find that we stumbled upon while searching specifically for vegan-friendly establishments. We were absolutely thrilled to have discovered this culinary haven! The vibrant atmosphere and welcoming ambiance created an enjoyable dining experience for our entire group.

Although we didn't fully explore the extensive drink menu, it's worth noting that they boasted a selection of tempting cocktails that were hard to resist. Despite not indulging in the full bar experience, the allure of those creative libations was undeniable.

This visit marked my first time at the restaurant, and I couldn't help but notice how bustling it was. It was heartening to see that while the place was busy, it wasn't overwhelmingly packed, allowing us to be promptly seated even on a bustling Friday night at 7:00. Based on the lively atmosphere, I'm confident that my experience reflects the overall vibe of this establishment.

In addition to the fantastic food and vibrant atmosphere, the service we received was top-notch. The staff members were attentive, friendly, and efficient, further enhancing our dining experience. Their excellent service truly added to the overall enjoyment of our meal.

Given the exceptional experience I had, I am undoubtedly looking forward to revisiting this remarkable restaurant in the future. Its enticing vegan options, coupled with the lively ambiance and outstanding service, make it a must-visit destination for any food enthusiast.

Updated from previous review on 2023-06-05

Pros: Really good thai food, Authentic taste

Advertisement

ptrq

Points +20

Vegan
08 Jan 2021

Disappointing - skip this one

Overall I’m dissatisfied and would not recommend this place. The food was bland, junky, and way overpriced.

I ordered the Pad See Yu and it was completely flavorless aside from the taste of ... oil. I mean, come on, at least give me like 5 grains of salt. I also asked for spice level 3/5 and it tasted like there was no spice at all.
I asked to replace egg with just more vegetables and they ended up charging me for an add-on (without asking).
Even with “extra vegetables”, the dish was 80% greasy noodles, 10% tofu and 10% veg. Definitely not a wholesome meal.
I also ordered a side of corn cakes. I got a single corn cake with no dipping sauce or dressing.

If it were at about half the price point, I’d be fine with cheap greasy noodle junk food if that’s what I wanted. But this was a $20 entrée at a place I found on happy cow, and it did not meet expectations.

Cons: Overpriced for what it is, Bland food , Mostly noodles/rice, hardly any veg

TheloniousG

Points +332

Vegan
27 Oct 2019

Good Thai food

We had the lettuce wrap which was remarkably delicious. The vegan pad Thai was fine, although it made me a bit nervous that she asked if I wanted egg in it. Service was outstanding.

annanicole_

Points +120

Vegan
04 May 2019

Yummy

The tropical pad Thai with no eggs and tofu was really great ! I continue to come back here the tofu texture and flavor is phenomenal.

Pros: Can make anything vegan , Staff knows how to make items vegan

CarissaLopez

Points +41

Vegan
15 Aug 2018

THE BEST

I go here ALL. THE. TIME. I could eat here every single day. The lettuce wraps are divine. I also order the vegetable stir-fry without protein. (You can get tofu, but I don't like tofu.) Be careful about the level of spicy you ask for. You can get #0-5. A #3 makes it not enjoyable for me. I usually do a #2. They have the spicy seasoning on the table, so you can always add more. I like to get my orders to-go because the service is rather slow. It's so worth it though! You'll die, it's so good.

Pros: Delicious, Addicting, Stupid good

Cons: Slow service

Mrs_Rowe

Points +112

Vegan
11 Mar 2015

Vegan Thai

I really enjoyed my meal here. This was my first visit and the staff was very friendly. They were very helpful helping me pick out the vegan options.
The atmosphere was very nice too. Very calm and relaxing.
It wasn't voted best new restaurant for nothing! :)
I will return when I'm back in Tulsa.

Pros: lots of vegan options, friendly staff, great big portions

CarissaLopez

15 Aug 2018

LaurenV

Points +187

Vegan
21 Jun 2013

Outstanding find in Tulsa!

Fresh and delicious. Great service. Terrific menu.

CarissaLopez

15 Aug 2018

Do you know the names of those dishes? I would love to try them.

EmilyBethNelson

Points +20

Vegan
12 Jun 2012

Excellent!

You walk in and feel like you are on a vacation. The dining area is goegeous and the place is emmaculate. There are several vegan options ranging from appetizers to desserts. The food is presented in the fanciest way possible and tastes amazing! The owners also own Lanna Thai. The chef had a 5 star vegan restaurant in Thailand. They even grow their spices in gardens surrounding the building.

Pros: Amazing food, Fresh




This page has been viewed 5407 times.