The Sweet Praxis

  • Bakery Bakery
  • ( 12 reviews )

Find

203 E Water St, Syracuse, New York, USA, 13202

Local bakery with vegan options including vegan doughnuts and cookie sandwiches. Serves tea and coffee, and has soy and oat milk. Now offers a monthly vegan brunch the last Sunday of the month with a changing menu each month. Open Tue-Fri 7:00am-5:30pm, Sat 8:00am-3:00pm.

Categories: Bakery

12 Reviews

First Review by SuzieJoConstantin

sspace_invader

Points +59

Vegan
01 Oct 2021

absolute favorite bakery in syracuse

I go here every sunday basically for brunch, their donuts are absolutely to die for, and their vegan breakfast sandwich is so good. I always get it on the rosemary focaccia and it makes me want to make focaccia every time

Pros: so many vegan options, best donuts i’ve ever had

Cons: a lil pricy, donuts can be greasy at times

veganotw

Points +330

Vegan
17 Jul 2021

Everything is so good

They make the best vegan croissants and donuts. They also have gluten-free and vegan treats.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Gluten-free and vegan options

fxp

Points +561

Vegan
26 Jun 2021

Amazing breakfast sandwich and avocado toast

The breakfast sandwich was really tasty, I had it on sourdough. Also, the avocado toast was great.

Advertisement

DestinVegan315

Points +62

Vegan
28 Apr 2021

vegan options

Great vegan treats to satisfy your sweet tooth.

Pros: vegan options , tasty sweets

nyyanks224

Points +455

Vegan
14 Oct 2019

High quality and delicious

I haven't had something yet at The Sweet Praxis that I don't like. Their menu changes somewhat daily and seasonally although there are some items that are on it year-round. Their Avocado Tartine is a particular favorite, and can be made with vegan feta. All of the baked goods are delicious and are clearly marked if they're vegan. The almond croissant is insanely good and the very rare almond "croiffin" is a must try if you happen to be there on a day when they're making that.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Great atmosphere and décor, Very friendly staff

pickflowersnotfights

Points +62

Vegan
23 Aug 2019

Yum

Delicious baked goods in support of local businesses. I occasionally help out on a flower farm and sell bouquets for a woman, and Sweet Praxis buys her edible flowers for their flower shortbread cookies. The only complaint I could possibly have is that it’s on the pricey side, but I never want to complain on price when the business uses sustainable and local practices. I’d get the almond croissant if they have it!

AHalsey

Points +71

Vegan
18 Jul 2019

Amazing Vegan Sweets

Local bakery with some Vegan and GF options! Always a treat to look forward to. They have the best Vegan donuts in the Syracuse area by far!

Pros: Vegan and GF options (combined and separate), Amazing flavors, Great staff

Cons: Somewhat pricey , Get there early in the day for best selection

sbeguin

Points +26

Vegan
27 Apr 2019

Amazing! So many vegan pastries and other baked goodies. Highest praise!

A really awesome place to find high quality baked goods!

Pros: Many delicious vegan choices, Modern, fun, and clean atmosphere, They compost!

TheresaStowell

Points +634

Vegan
14 Apr 2019

could fool an omni

If I didn't know better, I wouldn't believe their vegan baked goods were vegan. I don't know how they do it!
Donuts (best vegan donut I've ever had and I've been to some of the places everyone says are soooo good), croissants (as good as I remember croissants in Paris!), bagels are now only made on Fridays (Water street bagels moved in around the corner- who serves daiya cream cheese). Just get there early as the best stuff usually sells out fast!
On Earth Day, their entire store was vegan and it was amazing. If more vegans visit, they'll be able to up their vegan offerings more regularly!
It's also a bonus that their staff are super duper friendly!

Updated from previous review on 2018-07-14

Pros: high quality baked goods that happen to be vegan

Cons: not cheap- but consistent with quality, runs out of good stuff in afternoon

Heyboova

Points +60

Vegan
16 Oct 2018

Great donuts

They’ve been doing a great job expanding their vegan selections. Donuts are always great and their breakfast sandwiches are amazing too.

Pros: Vegan donuts, Lots of vegan options , Vegan drinks

marsvan12

Points +19

Vegetarian
17 Jan 2018

Definitely the best vegan donut I've ever had. Everyone here is absolutely wonderful and very accommodating to vegetarians and vegans. They also have a couple lunch specials, like weekly soup and an avocado and chickpea open faced sandwich, which they mak

Definitely the best vegan donut I've ever had. Everyone here is absolutely wonderful and very accommodating to vegetarians and vegans. They also have a couple lunch specials, like weekly soup and an avocado and chickpea open faced sandwich, which they make their OWN bread for. They make custom cakes. They are so pretty! Most ingredients are sourced locally (honey, butter, seasonal fruits, veggies, ect.) They carry Recess coffee, too! Very happy Syracuse has a place like this!

Pros: Lots of vegan pastries, great lighting, clean, com

Cons: Parking..which clearly is out of their control.

SuzieJoConstantin

Points +109

Vegan
16 Jan 2018

Delicious!

It’s so great to have delicious, well-made vegan doughnuts so accessible! And we just learned that the staff here is intentionally all female! So cool!

Pros: Everything is clearly labeled., Great flavors and textures., Helpful, knowledgeable staff.

Cons: Wish there were more vegan food options. , Obviously wish the whole place was vegan. , Downtown street parking

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Syracuse Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has The Sweet Praxis closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 2808 times.