• The Shack

  • (14)
    3
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Cafe with several vegan and gluten free choices. Sells blocks and cream (coconut ice cream).


Venue map for The Shack
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by mountainfolks

MidwifeBec

Points +321

Vegan
13 Jan 2024

Exceptional meal

We visited in the evening (they’re open until 9 on Friday and sat) and there was a separate night menu. Two vegan options on the menu, and all the sides were vegan. The food was exceptional, the service was great, and the vibe of the place was lovely. Very reasonable too, highly recommend. Visited with omnis and kids and they were very happy with their options and food too

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-13

Pros: Great service , Exceptional food , Good vibe

Advertisement

RodolfoRupp

Points +24

Vegan
07 Jan 2024

No real savory options

The staff was friendly at first, but when asked about vegan options, their smiles disappeared and they pointed us to some dishes that could be made vegan by removing all the main meat/cheese ingredients. No vegan cheese substitute nor anything.
We didn't still around to try them.

Pros: Ambience looks good, Sweet treats in the cabinet looked nice

Cons: No real savory options for vegans

BridgetHolland

Points +115

Vegan
26 Nov 2023

Very nice

Lots of optionally vegan food and great how they have an actual vegan replacement for what they take out eg vegan mayo

Pros: Friendly staff, Nice environment , Tasty food

JulieLeslie

Points +24

Vegan
05 Oct 2022

Stumbled on to a winner

I was having trouble finding a quick and easy lunch option on our way out of Raglan (on a Tuesday in low season ) when I popped in as a last resort to check the menu at The Shack. Went straight for the pumpkin bagel (vegan option) which was delicious! Even though I was only ordering takeaway and the restaurant was busy, the staff were still lovely to me and offered me a seat while I waited. I was even still drinking an almond latte from somewhere else and they didn't mind! 100% recommend highly to all Happy Cows 😊🐄

Zot

Points +103

Vegan
06 Jan 2022

Very popular but the food is not great

Food ok but was luke warm. It is bustling.

Updated from previous review on 2022-01-06

xzadia

Points +186

Vegan
29 Jul 2021

Good vegan options

Went for lunch, had 3 vegan options which all looked delish. I had the ramen and it was good and very filling! I was excited that they included tofu in the ramen and not just veggies😄

deadendjob

Points +1837

Vegan
02 Jan 2021

Average and overpriced

Ordered the "Eat your greens" - the food was tasty, but overpriced for what you got and left me hungry. Staff were lovely and attentive.

@ndy

Points +1276

Vegan
21 Mar 2019

Not so great 'Wholly bowl'.....

I ordered the vegan version of the Wholly bowl off the lunch menu here. For some reason that excluded the brown rice (?!) when it was served so I ended up with a large plate of leaf, sprouts, carrot, avo & a few small other things that were all very tasty but NOT filling....I guess I picked the wrong menu option to modify.

Other than a 'vegan loaf', there were no suitable cabinet lunch options when we visited.

There are items on the menu which they will make vegan but nothing I saw was listed as already dedicated vegan.

We asked if they could sub-out the feta in the Avo bagel for something vegan friendly & got told that there is no substituting but they would remove it & we could pay (?!?!) to add another side of our choice. Places that do this annoy me, it's a total rip off to do this to customers!

$20 for that bowl & I was still hungry when we left! Not impressed...I would not return here!

Pros: Prompt service.

tofukiller

Points +80

Vegan
12 Mar 2019

Love it

Beautiful cafe offering many vegan options on the menu and cabinet. Staff is super friendly. Food tastes great and inexpensive. Anyway the fries we ordered are bit undercooked and not crispy but no big deal. The place can be very busy and noisy at times

smanuel

Points +96

Vegan
04 Mar 2019

Yum!

Loaded with flavors! 3-4 vegan meal options plus check the cabinet. There are usually a few vegan treats. also they have yummy juices.

Pros: Can’t go wrong with the cashew/avo toast, Beautiful presentation , Great decor

Cons: Not cheap $

Marikiwa

Points +197

Vegan
25 Aug 2018

Cool cafe

Cool cafe in town with friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere. Good amount of vegan options and the ones we tried were really good!

Sisidg

Points +18

Vegan
30 Jan 2017

yum!!!!

so yum! nice atmosphere and friendly staff, had quite a few vegan options.

Ellenoco

Points +36

Vegan
06 Jun 2016

Nice but expensive

It's a lovely spot and the food is clearly marked and the menu says that things can be made vegan etc. The food was absolutely delicious

Pros: Great quality food. Very tasty

Cons: Expensive

mountainfolks

Points +406

Vegan
08 Feb 2015

cute little cafe

very nice staff, beautiful location and interior.
the menu is clearly marked with vegan, gluten free and dairy free dishes as well as those who can me altered as such.

the raw beet salad is vegan, raw and yum!

Pros: a little expensive

Cons: serves meat




This page has been viewed 3211 times.