• The Mitten Brewing Company

  • (23)
    24
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
American
Pizza
Italian
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Gluten-free
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. A vintage baseball-themed microbrewery that pairs beer with pizza. Has vegan menu with vegan cheese and various faux meat toppings for pizza; pesto sauce, breadsticks, and appetizers like spinach and artichoke dip with cashew cheese; vegan sandwiches including a po'boy with jackfruit. Has vegan ice cream. Beers are reported to be all vegan. Open Mon 11:30am-10:00pm, Tue-Thu 11:30am-12:00am, Fri 3:00pm-10:00pm, Sat 11:30am-10:00pm, Sun 11:30am-8:00pm.


Venue map for The Mitten Brewing Company
© OpenStreetMap contributors

23 Reviews

First Review by eliz1ward

NoemiAdameGamel

Points +129

Vegan
01 Oct 2023

Great service, good vegan pizza


We were looking for a place in Saugatuck that was a open on an off season Friday night that had vegan options. Mitten Brewing was what Happy Cow turned up.

Almost every pizza on the menu could be veganized as they have all types of faux vegan meats and cheese .

The pizza crust was amazing . Pizza sauce was good. Vegan cheese was ok (but I’m not a big store bought vegan cheese person). The vegan sausage was really good. The service was at a high level and unexpected for a casual pizza place .

My Omni husband a non-vegan meat pizza and he liked it.

We both only ate half our pizza . Mine tasted even better the next day griddled with some olive oil.

Advertisement

MaryT

Points +386

Vegan
17 Aug 2023

Yay for pizza!

We had a good time at the Mitten. Got the BBQ pizza and I liked it and so did my non-veg companions. What we really liked was that the super friendliness of the staff.

Pros: Options to veganize most pizzas, Staff

KatieKitKat1983

Points +56

Vegan
15 Aug 2023

The pizza is lit!

We ordered the BBQ Hawaiian pizza and subbed the vegan chicken and bacon. The cheese was melted perfectly and I was in heaven.

My kid ordered the cheese pizza and that was also amazing!

Pros: Vegan pizza toppings , Cheese was melted

Corn999

Points +170

Vegan
13 Aug 2023

Pizza is amazing!

They have so many vegan pizza options and their pizza is SOOO GOOD. it is the real deal. Crispy, chewy crust and such good toppings. I love elaborate pizza, and you can get that here, but the margherita pizza is honestly my favorite one. They do it so well. Ample outdoor seating, super central downtown. I am always looking forward to coming back here.

Pros: So many vegan pizza options, Super good crust, Outdoor dining

KatieKitKat1983

15 Aug 2023

ECDLR

Points +557

Vegan
31 Jul 2023

Good enough

Gets the job done but wouldn’t seek this pizza out particularly. They can add vegan cheese and other vegan toppings. Nothing special but totally sufficient.

sfdcubfan

Points +83

Vegan
16 Aug 2022

No more options

Very depressing. Yes, there are vegan pizza options, but that’s it. Hub and I went on 7/21, and it was a bummer.

Updated from previous review on 2019-04-01

kl3kale

Points +84

Vegan
12 Aug 2022

Pizza options and soft pretzel!

I was so excited to have an all vegan Margherita pizza, my personal favorite! Their menu is quite limited but most of their items are vegan or can be made vegan. Enjoyed the patio seating on a beautiful evening.

ChasTopher

Points +53

Vegan
15 Jul 2022

So so

They were out of vegan cheese when I went, July 2022. Ordered the Aloha BBQ pizza, and the vegan chicken was really bland and didn't really seem baked at all. Without the cheese it was just meh. But there aren't great vegan options in Saugatuck so even a half-hearted effort gets a participation trophy.

Pros: Good vegan toppings in theory, Good selection of local beers, Carryout available

Cons: Out of vegan cheese, Really busy at times if you're dining in, Closed Mon-Wed in Saugatuck

VanEynde

Points +84

Vegetarian
05 Jun 2022

Great Pie with vegan options

The pie was much better than we expected. Great crust and options for vegan ingredients.

Pros: Decent price

deathgrowl

Points +161

Vegan
27 Aug 2021

Great pizza

Really good vegan pizza - they don't skimp on the cheeze. The big pretzel was also delicious, and they even have vegan ranch. Would probably be fun to eat there not in a pandemic.

sanderadio

Points +380

Vegan
20 Aug 2021

Amazing selection of vegan pizzas

So glad we went! Vegan Mediterranean Pizza and the Vegan Calzone (Stromboli) were amazing. Best vegan pizza we ever had. Together with their Mango beer which was also great. Check it out

Pros: Except one all dishes can be made vegan, Many toppings to choose from if building your own, Great staff

Cons: Some vegan toppings were sold out

patrickhdonges

Points +58

Mostly Veg
15 Aug 2021

Vegan pizza flight!

Come for the vegan pizza flight, stay for the great beer. Food was delicious. Fed us for dinner and lunch the next day. Service is impeccable. Looking forward to visiting again.

Pros: Pizza flight!

KristenKnight

Points +39

Vegan
22 Mar 2021

All of the vegan meat substitutes!

The impossible burger on a pretzel bun was really good. Cooked perfectly, still nice and juicy. The salami sandwich vegan style was excellent- vegan chorizo, salami, and pepperoni! A little spicy. Loved that we had this option!

Pros: Vegan meats , Cute restaurant, Outdoor seating

JillKeb

Points +187

Vegan
12 Oct 2020

Amazing vegan Pizza! Lots of options, vegan ranch was amazing.

So happy they are in business! When I need pizza, the Mitten is it.

Pros: Vegan flight!! Yes trying 6 different vegan pizza, Crust is exceptional

Cons: Not 100% the flight is still available...., vegan pizzas listed online that weren’t available

JoeyEreñeta

Points +105

Vegan
16 Sep 2020

This place is AMAZING!!

They can pretty much make every dish on the menu vegan AND gluten free. Vegan meats, sauces, cheeses, salad dessings, V/GF bread and pizza crust. Literally dozens of menu items are fair game. In my 23 years being vegan, I’ve never seen anything like it in an omnivorous restaurant. Eat here now!!

MichaelTelesky

Points +856

Vegan
03 Aug 2020

Many vegan options

We had an amazing selection of vegan pizzas. We did the vegan flight of 6 specialty pizzas, all vegan. Margarita, Mediterranean, deluxe, Hawaiian, field of green and pesto chikun. Really impressed that pretty much every pizza had a vegan option.

Pros: Tons of vegan options , Very knowledgeable about vegan options

mariannem

Points +42

Vegan
26 Oct 2019

vegan friendly!

Loved it! Tons of items on their menu are vegan or can be made vegan. I had vegan pizza with vegan chorizo. Friendly, knowledgeable server. Very happy with my experience!

JonTomlinson

Points +22

Vegan
17 Oct 2019

Great vegan options!

Numerous vegan options, almost everything can be made vegan. Some of the best vegan pizza my wife and I have had. And you need to try the giant pretzel!

Pros: Lots of vegan options

abarton76

Points +38

Mostly Veg
22 Sep 2019

Love this place!!!

The Mitten is fully accommodating for vegan and vegetarian. I can’t recommend this place enough. My boyfriend is vegan and I am vegetarian and it’s a wonderful place to visit because they have so many options for vegan pizza flights. Great atmosphere too.

McMallory

Points +1636

Vegan
19 Sep 2019

Best in Saugatuck/Douglas area!

There’s not a lot of vegan food in this area, so it’s great to see a menu with extensive offerings. Even more, the food is really excellent, whereas there are a lot of places nearby that have a sad veggie burger that’s made poorly and served lukewarm. Even if this area didn’t set an already low bar for vegan food, The Mitten would not disappoint. Food is fresh and tasty, beers are good, backyard seating is lovely but inside is also cute. Pretty much the only game in town, but that doesn’t stop it from having a strong game.

One drawback was the salad was a little sad, but what does one really expect at a brew pub?

BonnieBashaw

Points +22

Vegan
06 Aug 2018

Best Pizza Ever

So so so many vegan options! One can order any pizza in a vegan option... meat pizza, chicken pizza... even cheesy breadsticks with red sauce and ranch. Even the pesto, is vegan!

Pros: Lots of vegan options. Good for kids. In Saugatuck

bran2038

Points +16

Vegan
18 Jul 2018

Delicious Vegan Pizza

Several different vegan apps and lots of vegan pizza options! All so good! Great service and beer too!

Pros: Almost everything on the menu can be made vegan, Great beer, Friendly waitstaff

eliz1ward

Points +17

Vegetarian
02 Jul 2018

great beer, pizza and atmosphere!

I would have given 5 stars but it wont let me since its not a fully vegetarian restaurant. HOWEVER, the food and the vibe are off the charts. We got the Field of Greens pizza with extra peppedew peppers and the Deluxe as a vegan pizza. Both were delicious. We sat ouside, as the music was too loud inside, although I liked the oldies selections. Grassy ouside with cafe tables and picnic tables scattered about. So beautiful at night with the lighting!

Pros: lots of vegan and vegetarian options

Cons: good prices and great beer selections




This page has been viewed 4012 times.