• Slanj

  • (8)
    3
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Beer/Wine
British
Scottish
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Restaurant housed in an old church. The vegetarian items are listed on separate page of the mneu - check for vegan options. Open Mon-Sun 09:00-22:00.


Venue map for Slanj
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by driggon

hanhanveg

Points +38

Vegan
19 Sep 2023

Lovely wee spot

Several vegan options in a dedicated vegan section on the menu. Also serve grub for dogs! Welcoming family-run restaurant in a beautiful location. We had the lasagna, bruschetta, sweet potato fries and seasonal veg. All lovely. Came to just over £30 with drinks.

Pros: Several vegan options, Dog friendly, Fun Scottish music

Cons: No vegan garlic bread option with the lasagne, Homely cooking not restaurant-grade

Advertisement

highflyer

Points +628

Vegan
04 Jul 2023

Really nice place and good food

They have two vegan options on the menu, bean burger and Mediterranean pie. I took the pie and it was really nice! Good service. Kinda secret place, try it when in the area

FranMcgarryArtist

Points +342

Vegan
20 Jun 2023

Great Vegan Choice. Would score 5 if I could.

Found this place on Happy Cow and decided to give it a try. Wasn’t disappointed, great choice and very tasty. Had the Mediterranean tart and vegan cheesecake to follow. Very nice food and great to see something different on the menu.
Thank you

Updated from previous review on 2023-06-20

Pros: Lots of options

Cons: Waited a very long time for our order 50 mins

JacquieSeemannCharak

Points +13

Mostly Veg
06 Sep 2022

Wonderful find in Highlands

Lovely restaurant with properly extensive vegan menu. Chef willing to adjust to our particular needs. Relaxed Scottish environment and friendly but professional staff.

Pros: Lots of vegan and veg options; not boring

Seonad

Points +109

Vegan
26 Sep 2020

Vegan options in a rural location

I had checked Happy Cow before going, so knew there were vegan options available, but the menu we were given didn't specify which options were vegan. I asked the bartender and there were two choices - a Bombay burger or Mediterranean tart. I chose the tart and it was served with sweet potato fries and salad. It was tasty and a very big portion. Great to find vegan options in a rural location and even better to be able to eat outdoors in the sunshine with a mountain view.

Pros: Friendly staff , Big portions, Outdoor seating

Cons: Serves meat, Vegan options not clearly marked on menu

Bobanthar

Points +395

Vegan
26 Sep 2020

Have oatmilk for tea

I didn't even look at the food menu but there were a few families and couples about me eating meat dishes, so perhaps swerve it if the smell puts you off too much. They had oatmilk for my tea and that's worth mentioning, I think.

The staff had masks, it was all table service including payment, and they took my details.

Pros: Right by a railway station, Right by a mountainside walking trail, Right by Loch Lomond

HungryHarris

Points +87

Vegan
07 Sep 2020

Nice building with a couple of veggie options

There weren't many non-meat options: the typical macaroni cheese with garlic bread and chips (triple carb); vegan haggis, neeps and tatties; an egg quiche, the bombay burger made of sweet potato and I think that was it. It is has a proper Scottish theme though and one of the waiters wears a kilt plus there's a little shop to buy snacks.

driggon

Points +485

Vegan
04 Aug 2019

Decent food and nice beers right next to the station

If you are waiting for your train (or just arriving) you might as well go here - it is a nice pub with live music in the evening and outdoor seating for sunny days. Some good beers on tap and vegan food is clearly marked on the menu. The haggis bites are nice (but a small portion).

All in all not very special but in a very convenient place.

Pros: Good pub, right next to the train station, labels vegan items

Cons: nothing spectacular




This page has been viewed 1412 times.