• Shalimar

  • (15)
    8
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Indian
Buffet
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Family-run Indian food restaurant. Lots of meat but also has sections with vegetable dishes and vegan ones. Inexpensive buffet. Relocated from 2115 Broad St. Open Mon-Sun 11:30am-2:30pm, 5:00pm-9:30pm.


Venue map for Shalimar
© OpenStreetMap contributors

15 Reviews

First Review by promwall

Turquoise2

Points +28

Vegan
23 Jan 2024

Nice place, good vegan options at the buffet

My friends and I like to go to Shalimar during their buffet times because they always have at least three vegan options plus fruit, salad, and basmati or brown rice.

I ask for roti rather than naan because they use butter in their naan but the roti is vegan. Roti has the same texture and presentation as naan.

Shalimar gives members of Central Coast Vegans a 10% discount on the meal.

The people are always friendly and attentive, and there's indoor and outdoor seating.

They have an amazing aquarium at the front. I'm not a fan of animal confinement, so I say this with a bit of embarrassment. But wow, it's big and beautiful and there are couple of fish I talk to every time I go there, who respond to me.

Pros: good vegan options, roti instead of naan available, 10% discount for local vegan group

Advertisement

D&M_Happy_Users

Points +68

Vegan
22 Jun 2023

Not Good

Way too much oil and very over spiced, meaning too hot. Service was not friendly either. This was very unfortunate because this is within walking distance for us.

Pros: Nice location, Fast cooking, Large indoor and outdoor dining areas

Cons: Too oily, Over spiced, Better customer service needed

groverthepotato

Points +218

Vegan
08 Mar 2023

Great samosas

Tried the vegetable samosas! There’s we’re awesome! The menu had a vegan section which is very helpful, next time I will have to try more things!

ColetteBartel

Points +58

Vegan
09 May 2022

Yummy & lots of options!

They have a whole section of their menu called vegan delights, and our aloo gobi, naan, samosas, and mushroom mutter was very yummy. Def recommend 👍

Pros: Well priced

The1kelly

Points +24

Vegan
09 May 2022

Best Indian food

By far the best Indian food I've ever had. Nice inside, but they have outside dinning as well. Crazy good.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , great service

WHOLEisticMargie

Points +50

Vegan
20 Oct 2021

Shalimar is our favorite Indian restaurant!

We love Shalimar! It is our favorite Indian Restaurant. We love the vegetable manrchurian and their menu clearly marks the vegan and vegetarian choices. They are very careful about giving you exactly what you order.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Friendly staff, Lots of patio dining.

EmilyDesJardins

Points +221

Vegan
25 Sep 2021

The best Indian food I’ve ever had

My boyfriend and I get the channa samosa chat and the channa patrua if I’m spelling it correctly. The fluffy bread and the Indian pickle are our favorites. Also they make really good jasmine rice, and love that it comes with peas. It’s kinda oily so it’s pretty heavy food but overall really good. They have a vegan menu which makes me feel really good about eating there. Staff is great. Supper cute restaurant

Pros: Vegan menu, Kind staff, Amazing food

dburggraf0

Points +60

Vegan
12 Jun 2021

Vegan Delights

A portion of their menu is marked as Vegan Delights. Welcoming staff and delicious food. Vegetable Somoza Appetizers and fried onions were very good. The two dipping sauces are vegan as well. Ample food for the main courses. They can make vegan naan as well although it was dry. 5? Stars on everything else.

Updated from previous review on 2021-06-12

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Comfortable and friendly. , Good sized portions

Cons: No vegan desserts

AmberKMH

Points +181

Vegan
07 Apr 2021

Best Indian food!

Super friendly owners and staff! The food is always delicious and fresh! I especially enjoy the buffet! Our family has been coming here for many years Shalimar! Shalimar is certainly a family favorite!

Updated from previous review on 2021-04-06

Pros: Friendly service, Lots of options, Fresh and healthy

DmarieC

Points +180

Vegan
21 Apr 2019

Worth the Drive!

Usually we like to eat in downtown SLO so that we can walk to the restaurants. However, my son and his girlfriend, who live here, kept pushing us to try this place. Now we are addicted. This is the best Indian food that I have ever eaten!!! They have so many vegan dishes which are clearly marked on the menu. They also have heated outdoor seating, so they are both vegan and dog-friendly. It is family run and they go out of their way to serve you. We especially loved the Chana Masala, Bhindi, Cabbage Mutter, Mushroom Mutter Masala and veggie fried rice. They were able to make the garlic naan vegan by using oil instead of butter. We were so pleased that we ate there the last two evenings! We are trying to talk them into expanding to the East Bay Area.

Pros: Many clearly marked and delicious vegan options , Dog-friendly heated patio , Extremely attentive service

Cons: It is not right in downtown

bdbdheybuck

Points +73

Vegan
11 Jan 2019

One of the finest Indian restaurants in the country!

I have eaten at well over a hundred Indian restaurants all over the United States (including dozens in New York City, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Houston), and I can hands down say that Shalimar is one of the finest. The owners are from Punjab, and this unique, aromatic cuisine is apparent in every bite, from Turnip Masala to roti and the extraordinary Chana Samosa Chat (a delicious and unique hybrid of samosa and chat). There is a large number of vegan dishes, all clearly labeled, including those I just mentioned above. The restaurant is very classy, the service is fast and friendly, and the owners delightful. Don’t miss out!!

vegankatiexoxo

Points +117

Vegan
10 Sep 2017

good authentic Indian food

The food was very rich tasting but on the oily side. Buffet style was the only option on Sunday when we went. They served complementary champagne or mango yogurt drink which I couldn't have either since I'm pregnant so it would have been nice to be offered something else to drink besides water for no charge since those other two were offered for free. The salad was disappointing because they have no vegan dressing options. The salad itself was fresh but even the Italian dressing had was from "the Olive Garden" and contained milk and eggs...

Pros: plenty of vegan food , good price if you can eat a lot, small and intimate

Cons: no vegan salad dressing , serves meat and dairy

Popcorn!

Points +135

Vegan
14 Aug 2017

Yummy!

Everything is very oily, but for those who don't mind, it's very tasty! Buffet bar isn't well labeled for us vegans, but there are some options on the menu. It's not the sharpest and cleanest of restaurants, but it doesn't really matter, as the food is so good!

Pros: flavorful, family-oriented

Cons: not an astonishing amount of vegan options

MiaMarcelle

Points +41

Vegan
20 Jul 2014

Special Spot

I always eat here when my brother and his girlfriend come into town and it never disappoints.

promwall

Points +98

Vegetarian
29 Oct 2013

Many vegan & vegetarian entrees

The menu has 3 vegetarian and 2 vegan appetizers. There is a vegetarian section on the entrée menu with 10 entries and the vegan section has 12 choices. It is a family run restaurant, always friendly. Ingredients are always fresh and delicious.

Pros: Delicious food, Clean attractive ambience, Friendly greeting and service

Cons: serves meat, some portions are small




This page has been viewed 3279 times.