Sat Nam

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
    ( 16 reviews )
Contact
+502-4744-1880
Find

4 Avenida Sur #5, Antigua, Guatemala

Offers 17 options of vegetarian and vegan hot dishes, fusing East and West flavors. Open Mon-Tue 12:30pm-7:30pm, Thu-Sun 12:30pm-7:30pm.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Ovo, Indian, International, Fusion, Middle Eastern, Latin

16 Reviews

First Review by SaraDavies

Wonderful Little Jewel - Edit

Had fantastic food, great service, and Karla the owner is an absolute sweetheart filled with joy and incredible vegetarian and vegan recipes. 15/10

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Deliciousssssss nourishing food - Edit

I love Sat Nam! Karla is amazing and so is her food. I go there once a week - the lentil soup is comfort food for me at this point. She gives great recommendations and will always give you what your body needs. She still doesn't have a sign outside but its 3 blocks south of the cathedral in the central park. Just walk down and it will be on your left. Its a glass door, she will open it for you!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Menu - Edit

For us it is a priority to work with high quality nutritious products, therefore we offer different options of grains like mung or mongo beans, basmati, quinoa, amaranth and corn flour, tapioca flour, rice noodles, chickpeas just to name a few.

It is always a pleasure to serve you

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Cozy dining experience - Edit

We found Sat Nam through HappyCow -- we would never have stumbled on it otherwise, as it's located on a quiet street. The restaurant has five tables, with all aspects of the operation managed by Karla who serves as greeter, server, and chef. She is gracious and welcoming, and thus dining at Sat Nam feels almost like being invited to share an evening with a long-time friend.

Everything on the menu looked sublime and we had a hard time deciding, but both dishes we ordered were tasty.

On the flipside: a diner wss finishing his meal as we entered, and we were the only people in the restaurant after that. We had nowhere else to go but back to our hotel and bed, so no hurry, and no surprise when it took a while for the first dish to come out. Unfortunately, it took another 20+ minutes for the second item to appear. We typically share our food, so it wasn't a huge problem, but Sat Nam might not be the best choice for a date or a larger group or any other situation in which it could be awkward to have one person's food delivered while the others are still waiting.

Prices are high for Antigua, but reasonable compared to what we'd pay in a typical restaurant at home, and much less than I'd expect to spend in a comparable restaurant in San Francisco or New York. Considering the care that goes into each dish, I felt that we got excellent value for our money.

Pros: Service -- Karla is a first-rate host!, Lots of menu options, Cozy setting

Cons: Long wait between dishes

1 Response
Read More

KarlaGP 10 Apr 2018 - We are grateful for your visit and time and value your comments . Thanks  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing Culinary Experience - Edit

This was hands down the best meal I had in Guatemala, and one of the best of my life! The appetizer was made with fresh beets & cheese & herbs. It was so tasty! I had the mung bean entree - which is chock full of nutritious vegetables & spices like broccoli, carrot, ginger, & tumeric. Normally I'm not a fan of mung beans, but this was delicious & really filled me up. The owner Karla, treated me like family. She was warm & attentive. When I told her I have a sensitive stomach & can't digest garlic well, she prepared the meal especially for me according to my dietary restrictions. This was my first time here & definitely hope to come back. Karla has created a peaceful oasis - walking in, everything is so calming, from the atmosphere to the yoga mantra music. What made this meal so special (besides the fantastic food) is the atmosphere and positive energy of the owner. An A experience!

Pros: Peaceful atmosphere, creative menu, excellent serv

Cons: The only con is that I had no time to return to th

1 Response
Read More

KarlaGP 13 Mar 2018 - GA
We appreciate and value your time and your heartfelt words. It has been a real pleasure to meet and assist you. sat nam is your house always welcome  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Awesome, Amazing, Delicious! - Edit

The food here is SO delicious! I can't wait to go back and try out more options. The atmosphere is so peaceful and relaxing. The owner is no nice and caring here, it would be difficult not to like it!

1 Response
Read More

KarlaGP 26 Feb 2018 - For us your attention and time is very valuable, grateful.
Happy trip and always to the
order  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Antiguas best plant based resteraunt - Edit

As soon as you walk through the door of Sat Nam you can immediately feel the relaxing vibe and smell the wonderful food. The service is amazing and the food is to die for. Definitely one of Antiguas must see spots.

1 Response
Read More

KarlaGP 21 Feb 2018 - Thanks for your opinion . A pleasure to serve you !!!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Pure Joy - Edit

There is so much care and love placed into this beautiful small restaurant. The owner Karla greets you as a friend and it is easy to tell that she is genuine in caring for your well being. Sat Nam is a place of tranquility that has been carefully put together with wellness in mind. The food was very tasty and presentation superb. My only complaint is to myself I’m that I could not return for more. If I’m Antigua please consider a visit. Karla’s exuberance is so worthwhile. You will leave as a friend.

Pros: Calming atmosphere. , Of course, wonderful, healthy food. , The welcoming owner and preparer of the food

Cons: None truly except maybe the effort to find.

1 Response
Read More

KarlaGP 26 Feb 2018 - Richard Sat Nam is the reflection of who you are, we appreciate your time and your attention with your beautiful opinion and pitures. Happy days in Canada, it will always be a pleasure to serve you.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Lovely food if you have the patience to wait an hour - Edit

If you're on a budget skip the place, it's very expensive compared to other plant-based restaurants in Antigua.
My partner and I went there for lunch, and two ladies were already waiting when we arrived. The owner was the only person working there. We got our food served 50 minutes after ordering. My meal was delicious but the tortilla ordered by my boyfriend was disappointing - small quantity, ans the spicy pita bread that was listed on the menu was a plain piece of tortilla wrap.
The lady is lovely, and I really appreciate that she prepares every single meal with love and passion but she should tell customers about the wait, maybe give them something to snack on and lower the prices too, they aren't justified.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

If you wanna have a lovely and healthy experience... THIS IS UR PLACE - Edit

We had a very joyful experience, full of love and great food, you feel at home as soon as you enter the place...
If you need to recharge yourself to continue your journey, you will definitely love Karla and her magic.

Pros: Huge variety , Vegan, Vegetarian

Cons: Difficult to find because there is not a very visi

1 Response
Read More

KBGP 18 Jan 2018 - Luis, We appreciate your delicate attention, it is always a pleasure to assist you !!!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Quaint and welcoming! - Edit

Delicious vegan/vegetarian food in a very tranquil setting. Price is mid-range (in comparison to Antigua cafes in general) and defo worth every penny/quetzal! Top notch, friendly service - a must-visit for vegans and gluten-free peeps. (And you’ll discover what “Sat Nam” means..!)

1 Response
Read More

KBGP 18 Jan 2018 - Liz, We appreciate your delicate attention, it is always a pleasure to assist you  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing food and vibe - Edit

Thanks Karla your food is delicious and 5 stars for your Yogi tea!!

1 Response
Read More

KBGP 18 Jan 2018 - Ryan, We appreciate your delicate attention, it is always a pleasure to assist you  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A Truly Wonderful Experience - Edit

The Sat Nam Café Vegetariano is a truly wonderful experience. I’ve had dinner there three times since its opening, and will be a regular customer every four to six weeks.
One of my favorites is their Kicheree Casserole: mung grains with basmati, broccoli, carrot, zuccini, paprika and spinach. Accompanied by beets with coconut and mozzarella cheese.
I had this recently with their Infusion tea of Ginger with honey and lemon, which I had cool.
Their sole dessert is so great I had four my last visit: one inch squares of chocolate or amaretto. I had two of each.
Thanks to a small gift I gave owner and general manager Karla, she can communicate in English. And remember: no propina is requested on her bills, so please tip as generously as you can. After all, she treats her customers like family.

Pros: Intimate Cafe, Varied Menu

Cons: N/A

1 Response
Read More

KBGP 18 Jan 2018 - Bella amiga , We appreciate your delicate attention, it is always a pleasure to assist you  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Food Oasis - Edit

I've been in Guatemala for 3 months and while I enjoy getting to experience traditional Guatemalan food, I found comfort and joy in the fresh, healthy food that is cooked with love at Sat Nam. The owner is dedicated to a healthy lifestyle and helping her customers live it as well. She makes you feel at home and then delivers you amazing food. She is also great at giving recommendations based on what you need from the meal - is this you're primary meal for the day? you should have this dish with complete protein and balance. Although I think I could eat everything on the menu and like it all. The environment is very calming with natural light and a sleek space.

Pros: Food is amazing and healthy, The environment is perfect, It's off the beaten path

Cons: It may seem expensive, but never >$15 w/drink

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fantastic! - Edit

Superb food prepared with love and attention. Everything prepared fresh, and therefore chef happy to accommodate any special requests.

Pros: Lovely ambience, very friendly and welcoming owner

1 Response
Read More

KBGP 18 Jan 2018 - We appreciate your delicate attention, it is always a pleasure to assist you !!!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

excited to find this place 😊 - Edit

Lovely service, great options for Vegans !! Def come here again !!

1 Response
Read More

KBGP 06 Oct 2017 - Gracias Sara, un placer atenderte  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Antigua Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Sat Nam closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 915 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support