Rocking V Cafe

  • Veg-options Veg-options
  • ( 21 reviews )

Find

97 W Center St, Kanab, Utah, USA, 84741

Serves meat, vegan options available. Menu includes a vegetarian section as well sometimes a daily vegan special. Comfortable atmosphere. Owners understand what vegan means and who will accommodate requests. Closes seasonally for winter. Open Mon 11:30am-10:00pm, Thu-Sun 11:30am-10:00pm. Closed Tues and Wed.

Categories: Lacto, Ovo, American, Beer/Wine, Delivery, Non-veg

21 Reviews

First Review by iwoof4u

Veganmouse

Points +166

Vegan
17 Aug 2021

Quirky restaurant with good food

Art gallery upstairs and very friendly service. Good vegan options that didn't need customizing. Had the impossible burger with chili rice which was very good

Cons: Portions on the smaller side

TraciRatliff

Points +987

Vegan
08 Mar 2021

Vegan Mousse

Not a ton of vegan options but a must, even just for dessert, for their vegan mousse. It's superb!

juliehornsby

Points +205

Vegan
21 Nov 2020

Several vegan options, delicious food, super friendly owner!

My food was so delicious! I had their curry with tofu and WOW - amazing! A little spicy, but not too much. The owner was so friendly and the vibes of the restaurant were super fun😄Everything vegetarian, gluten-free, and vegan on the menu is clearly labeled!

Pros: Several vegan options , Friendly staff , Clearly labeled vegan options

Advertisement

emperdue

Points +1043

Vegan
20 Sep 2020

Great variety

Lots of different options that are clearly marked on the menu. Only a couple are both gluten free AND vegan, but many more are solely vegan or vegetarian. So many options for a party with many different diets. Oh- and it’s delicious too!

Pros: Lots of options , Vegan and gluten free

Cons: Expensive

anniesellsgreen

Points +128

Vegan
04 Sep 2020

Expensive and heavy on salt, oil and sugar.

Disappointed with the vegan options, tend to be oily and salty, not fresh tasting. Also the prices are high. The best deal and best taste is just a garden salad with vinegar and oil. Otherwise the dressing is all salt, oil and sugar.

Cons: Expensive and heavy on salt oil and sugar.

jazznej

Points +21

Vegan
31 Jul 2020

Yum!

Loved it! The service was phenomenal and their vegan burger is delicious. If you’re vegan the only side you can have is their country beans BUT they’re so delicious, so who cares! I obviously wish there were more vegan options but they have enough options to give you options. They’re also very knowledgeable about what vegans can and can’t eat, which is always nice.

Pros: Vegan options (3 or 4), Many vegetarian options , Great service

CindyL

Points +16

Vegan
22 May 2020

Highly recommended for vegans! YUM!!!

Curry and chocolate mousse —-> sooo good!!!!

Pros: Yummy vegan options!, great service!, Reasonable price!

karensp

Points +132

Vegan
28 Oct 2019

Super yummy!!!

We were just passing thru Kanab, and thankfully for this app we were able to find this place and had an awesome lunch!! The flavors and freshness we weren’t expecting to find in such a small town.

Pros: Fresh, Server was very friendly:), Unique flavors

Cons: Hostess was NOT friendly at all!

hasanders

Points +13

Vegetarian
06 Jul 2019

Rude manager

We traveled far and wide as we're about getting ready to come home. Stopped by at Rocking V which they have small choice of vegan and vegetarian food on their menu. Ordered Happy Plate Burger which is Three pound vegan burger and also side for pasta salad. I ate some of the pasta salad until there was a reddish pink block as I couldn't tell what it was and then found out it was sausage/pepperoni block. My wife got upset and asked to change different side for garlic sour cream smasher (mashed potato). The manager treated us like kids by giving us a salad and pointed them out to us. Because we are deaf and do not understand what she said and just plain rude to us thinking we can read her lips which we don't.

Warning: don't order pasta salad.

Pros: Only about three choices of vegan/vegetarian, Pet friendly outside of restaurant

Cons: Manager was very rude & doesn't even smile, Not deaf friendly, Very expensive

TanyaZinurova

Points +336

Vegan
01 Apr 2019

Super delicious 😋

Small choice for vegans but VERY delicious

Pros: 2 entrees

Cons: Expensive

chb-pbfp

Points +6859

Raw
26 Aug 2017

Restaurant with vegan options

It is definitely not my preferred restaurant, now the vegan options they propose, should be a must have in all restaurants.

We were happy to find this restaurant in Kanab.

Pros: Good vegan food on menu, Great initiative

Cons: Limited choice

Eyal87

Points +258

Vegan
22 Apr 2017

So So Vegan Friendly - Ask for non-grilled tofu!

We went there as a party of four. I am the only vegan in the group. Two are vegetarians.

The menu has several vegan options, not that many.
The main courses are accompanied by a soup (which is not vegan) or a salad for an extra charge (so it costs more for vegans...).

The rest of the party were very satisfied with the place, except for the tomatoes - basil soup (not vegan!).

The vegan courses that we had were as follows:
Coconut curry - was nice, but nothing exceptional.
Chana Masala - which was very good.

Be careful - they grill the tofu on the same grill that they use for the chicken and fish! I was not made aware of it. I didn't eat the tofu.

For dessert I had the vegan chocoholic dessert which was nice but not much more.
The non-vegan desserts were highly acclaimed by the rest of the party.

Pros: vegan friendly place that is open after 9pm in a n, vegan options are marked as such in the menu, Chana masala

Cons: the tofu is grilled on the same grill used for chi, not many vegan options

steveveg

Points +2114

Vegan
22 Aug 2016

Pleasnt restaurant

This pleasant restaurant has several vegan dishes listed on the dinner menu: Asian stir fry, chana masala, polenta and Thai curry. There are also a couple of vegetarian options. We had the polenta, and two vegetarian entrees (couscous cakes and deep dish enchilada). Dinner was surprisingly good. Vegan options at lunch are much more limited.

sarizona2005

Points +122

Vegan
20 Jul 2016

I wanted to love it

Had a separate vegan menu which was awesome. Had a few Indian options and a delicious sounding polenta dish that came with salad greens. The polenta was so bland and the greens seemed oily. I only ate half which was a shame because it was so expensive! The restaurant was busy and everyone seemed to enjoy their meal so this might be a one off.

professorplumb

Points +257

Vegan
17 Mar 2015

A Great Find!

Driving through Utah and needed a place to stop for dinner. This place was great! They had the vegan options labeled right on the menu! I had the bread with a balsamic vinaigrette dip, Chana Masala, with the chocolate mousse for dessert. The mousse is so creamy and delicious; make sure you save room for it!
Neat atmosphere, with art for sale on the walls. Surprisingly crowded for a Monday night, (no wait, but pretty full) but when your food tastes that good it makes sense!

Pros: vegan labels on menu, vegan dessert option, fun atmosphere

vegetariangirl

Points +2004

Vegan
30 Aug 2012

great vegan option in a small town

Had a good vegan burger and amazing beam salad. Bonus was vegan mousse for dessert!

Pros: vegan dessert

Veggie46

Points +71

Vegetarian
27 Aug 2012

great food

Very nice place for vegan food in kanab.

Regwag2003

Points +57

Vegan
07 Jun 2012

Great Food - a real surprise discovery!

We didn't expect to find a place that serves vegan food in a small town in Utah, but Rocking V Cafe was delicious! We had the vegan Mushroom Stroganoff, the vegan daily special, and it was wonderful! A pleasant experience, even though the soup choices were unfortunately not vegan (they come with the entree, so it's a good idea to ask).

Pros: Great Food, Friendly Staff

villageidiot

Points +33

Vegan
17 Jul 2010

Great Find

If you go to Best Friends Animal Sanctuary- you must check out Rocking V. Vegan options available every night. It is a great atmosphere and a really cool art gallery upstairs. The owner and staff are incredibly nice.

Pros: great food, great atmosphere, cna bring your dog!

lobell

Points +11

Mostly Veg
23 Apr 2010

A REAL Oasis in the Desert

Finally a place that makes vegetarian selections more than an afterthought. Thoughtful and creative selections far beyond the usual fare offered by obviously uninspired meat eating chefs everywhere. Wine selection could be improved with the same attention given the creative menu. Probably should offer a simpler crusty bread option and save the herb bread for accompanying specific dishes. Desert??? Again, fabulous and thoughtful vegan and dairy options...if only they were open for breakfast!

iwoof4u

Points +75

Vegetarian
15 Apr 2010

Pretty awesome find

I ate here the first time over a year ago with my brother, on a drive from Seattle. The first thing I was asked as we were being seated was if we were vegetarian! What a suprise from a small town resturaunt. Most recently, I stayed in Kanab to volunteer at Best Friends and came to eat here a couple times. Extremely friendly, busy place! Vibrant and classy selections on the vegetarian portion of the menu, as well as a good understanding of vegan needs. Always a daily vegan featured item. I will look forward to coming here again...You might need to make resurvations - the place gets pretty busy - but you can always check out the art gallery upstairs.

Pros: vegan special, vegetarian entrees, super staff and owners

Cons: serves meat

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Kanab Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Rocking V Cafe closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 3520 times.