• Restaurant Indonesia

  • (11)
    7
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Ovo
Asian
Indonesian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Has vegetarian rijsttafel menu, and owners are knowledgeable about vegetarian vs. vegan, and can adapt the veg rijsttafel to vegan. Meal consists of veggies, tempeh, and tofu. Open Tue-Fri 11:00am-2:00pm, Tue-Sun 5:00pm-8:00pm, Sat-Sun 10:00am-2:30pm.


Venue map for Restaurant Indonesia
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by ms319

Luciavegan76auck

Points +26

Vegan
31 Dec 2023

What a gem on Marine Parade

We dined here on New Year’s Eve and had a wonderful experience! We were welcomed by a friendly and warm smile and were looked after for the entire meal. Everything was sensational from the home made tempeh to the desserts! This is a family run restaurant and you can tell they do it with passion and care for their customers. They even do all vegan nights, owner is vegetarian and they have so many yummy vegan options. Highly recommended! I can only give four stars as happy cow only gives 5 to fully vegan but they do deserve 5 stars😄 #Veganuary

Pros: Tempeh , Everything , Service was impeccable

Advertisement

kevin.foulsham

Points +201

Vegan
15 Oct 2023

Great vegan Rijsttafel

Really nice selection of traditional Indonesian food in the Vegan Rijsttafel.
Very friendly staff explained the origin of each dish.

Pros: Food for sure.., Friendly staff, Reasonable value

Cons: A bit hot but it was a hot day in the bay, Closes a bit early

EvelynS

Points +414

Vegan
23 Aug 2023

Cosy friendly restaurant

I was delighted to see a selection of vegan options, along with friendly helpful owners who understood vegan. Yah! I had gado gado longtong which was super filling. Then managed to squeeze in black rice and coconut milk. Now very very full.

Pros: Friendly owners, Vegan options

Heatha

Points +150

Vegan
01 Jan 2023

Indonesian Gem in Napier

Loved the 11 course vegan tasting menu and the black sticky rice pudding dessert! The service is excellent! #Veganuary

IlonkaOverhaart

Points +39

Vegan
29 Nov 2022

Veel, vriendelijk en verrukkelijk.

We hebben heerlijk gegeten. De vegan rijsttafel is een aanrader. We zijn hier twee keer geweest. De gemarineerde tofu en tempeh is geweldig.

Pros: Veel vegan opties , Heerlijk eten en veel, Geweldige bediening

MarkSpiekerman

Points +22

Vegan
24 Apr 2021

Fantastic vegan riestafel

We really enjoyed the different flavours, well done.
We will definately be back

Jtydlaska

Points +582

Vegan
28 Jan 2021

Good food

I had the Nasi Rames and the Tofu soup. All very tasty and flavorful. I was a bit disappointed, though, in that when I asked for the tempeh appetizer (3 skewers with peanut sauce), I was told that they didn’t have it tonight. When my dinner showed up, the plate included one tempeh skewer as one of the standard side dishes that accompany the dish. I guess they only had enough tempeh for side dishes for the mains but not for appetizers? That strangeness aside, the food was a pleasant departure from the boring nasi/mie goreng that seems to be about the only Indonesian food I have found in NZ.

Pros: Several options , Staff knowledgeable about veganism

AnnettevZ

Points +360

Vegan
01 Dec 2020

Authentic Indonesian Restaurant

Our vegan family of three had a very enjoyable "rijsttafel" with 12 separate dishes yesterday. The food was excellent and the service was very friendly and warm. It is a popular restaurant where reservations are recommended, but we managed to find a table by arriving before 6pm without a reservation. The experience was even better than all the Indonesian restaurants we visited in the Netherlands in the past.

Wildflower_emmi

Points +54

Vegan
03 Oct 2020

Excellent 👌

Nice place with a great service and atmosphere. Best thing was still the food which was super delicious. I had vegan Rijsttafel, 12 different dishes, and all of them were excellent. I higly recommend this place. 12 dishes for $30, super worth it.
Ps. This place is probably not for you if you don't like spicy food.

Pros: Delicious food, good service, beautiful decor.

4everVegan

Points +76

Vegan
16 Sep 2020

Amazing Indonesian vegan food options

Since moving to New Zealand I have been looking for great Indonesian vegan food and I have found it. The food here has traditional Indonesian flavours a great amount of spice and good size portions. The staff here are friendly and helpful and will let you know what is vegan on the menu and it is clearly marked on the menu as well.

Pros: Good portion sizes, Friendly staff, Traditional Indonesian flavours

Cons: Not a fully vegan restaurant.

ms319

Points +109

Vegan
27 Feb 2019

Great meal, great service!

My husband and I came here for dinner in mid-November 2018. I ordered the vegan rijsttafel which I highly recommend! It's basically many small portions of veggie, tofu, and tempeh dishes set on a platform over candles. The portions were generous and every dish was fantastic. In addition, the interior is nicely decorated and has place mats that explain interesting aspects of Indonesian culture. From what I understand, the current owners acquired the restaurant in Sept 2018 and it was a real pleasure talking to them. They were beyond welcoming and made us feel like we were visiting a friend's place for dinner. They even decorated our dessert to celebrate our recent anniversary/husband's birthday. I would love to return the next time I'm in Napier!

Pros: great food and presentation, warm and welcoming service, knowledgeable about vegan vs vegetarian




This page has been viewed 1896 times.