Japanese
Beer/Wine
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Traditional Japanese set in the house where the samurai lived. The hostess herself is cooking. Has separate vegan menu. Drinks and sake. Open Mon-Sat 5:00pm-10:30pm.


Venue map for Renkon-Ya
© OpenStreetMap contributors

16 Reviews

First Review by ibrinin

Biancajakon

Points +318

Vegan
11 Jan 2024

Great experience

Veg options are clearly labelled which makes it easy. The atmosphere is gorgeous. Really great dinner.

Advertisement

Dinoaimz

Points +27

Vegetarian
21 Nov 2023

Cute Izakaya, delicious food!

Very cute Izakaya, food was incredible. Lots of small dishes so opportunity to try a lot. Clear English menu with lots of vegetarian options.

Pros: Agedashi tofu, Shitake mushrooms

KrishnaPrahasith

Points +64

Vegetarian
21 Sep 2023

Healthy food and hot sake

Very old izakaya with many veg options and hot sake.
Great location for night life in Kyoto.self sufficient English menu that you can order from without speaking in English.

Pros: Majority are veg options that are clearly marked, Great location and historic place. Since 1950 , Healthy, local flavors and has English Menu

Cons: Small place, Very limited English but the menu is sufficient

JLMc

Points +41

Vegetarian
01 Sep 2023

Excellent Delicious Vegetarian Options

The menu very clearly marked in English with what was vegetarian, what could be made vegetarian and where things like butter were used. The food was absolutely delicious, and they were great at accommodating my other dietary requirements (no onion or garlic) which can be difficult. Definitely a must-do if you're in Kyoto

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-01

Gulbasaur

Points +32

Vegan
30 Aug 2023

No frills, all taste

Clearest menu I've seen in Japan, with an apology in perfect English about their English. Plenty of vegan options. Food made in front of you. Simple but delicious. Mix of locals and tourists.

This little place punches so far above its weight, it's not even funny. Best food I've had in my stay.

Pros: Clear menu, Cozy feel, Independent business

vdinamani

Points +23

Vegetarian
06 Jul 2023

Home cooked meal

Tiny place but charming and delicious food. Authentic!

Pros: Blistered peppers, Lotus root

AitorBegeta

Points +1567

Vegan
14 Jun 2023

Highly recommended

A very charming place, with very friendly staff who speak some English, with many well-marked vegan options on the menu, and delicious dishes. The tofu, the shitake mushrooms and some miso balls with vegetables that we took, spectacular. Great sake. It is advisable to reserve.

Claire.knop

Points +129

Vegan
07 Jun 2023

Authentic cuisine with vegan options

Beautiful flavours in this home-cooked food. I had the deep fried tofu with aubergine and rice. Absolutely delicious. You need to point at what you would like on the menu (or attempt to say in Japanese- the pronunciation is on the menu) it was pretty easy. Would highly recommend.

Pros: Inexpensive

Cabeto

Points +290

Vegan
29 May 2023

Amazing traditional food

This place has a great atmosphere, the chef prepares everything in front of you. Vegan options are easily identifiable. Small portions so we literally ordered every single option😄staff does not speak a lot of english but they are very friendly. Reservation is necessary, we asked the receptionist at our hotel to call and make the reservation. Enjoy !!

SaraSeylani

Points +289

Vegan
01 Apr 2023

Amazing

Such a sweet little place to give you an authentic Japanese eating experience. Amazing prices and loved the tapas style dishes so that you could try many things. Was a great option for vegans and non vegans alike!

Pros: Good prices, Authentic, Vegan menu

Cons: Some dishes lacked salt

bumblebee11

Points +21

Vegetarian
28 Feb 2023

Amazing experience!

Traditional Japanese vegetarian/ vegan food izakaya style, served at its best, by a very hospitable mother- daughter duo. Peaceful, serene atmosphere in a traditional Japanese setting

Pros: Lots of vegan vegetarian options, Kind and hospitable hostess/chef, Simple menu also available in English

Cons: Small space so reserving in advance would be idea

Mirela6

29 Mar 2023

RebeAmz

Points +13

Vegetarian
03 Jan 2023

Very special place

Delicious food. Plenty of vegetarian and vegan options. Host thanked us for coming as we were leaving, very special experience.

juliall

Points +32

Vegan
23 Feb 2022

Would give 5 stars if I could! My favorite place in Kyoto.

The leeks and mushrooms were delicious and everything else too. Such a nice authentic place

stoyani

Points +268

Vegan
07 Feb 2020

Authentic Japanese, locals, delicious

The place is a very authentic little restaurant. When I visited, I didn't see any tourists there, only locals.

They didn't speak English, but had a hand-written English menu with vegan items clearly marked. Small plates, so you can order the lot and taste everything; really delicious, home-cooked style and intimate atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Pros: A lot of vegan dishes, clearly marked on the menu, Delicious, Authentic, intimate atmosphere

Cons: Staff doesn't speak English (not really an issue)

LoïcGaillard

Points +24

Vegan
25 Oct 2019

Amazing traditional food and local products

Plenty of veggie & vegan options. Highly recommend the lotus roots!! Great service and lovely staff.

ibrinin

Points +11

Mostly Veg
18 Oct 2019

Delicious food in traditional Izakaya

Definitely worth a visit. Lots of vegan and vegetarian options, as well as fish and some meat on the menu. I would give this place 5 stars except that it is not fully vegetarian.




This page has been viewed 7852 times.