Vegan
Take-out
Catering
Gluten-free

Traditional Ethiopian cuisine in Los Angeles Fairfax district. Food is all vegan. Small and cozy space in area also known as "Little Ethiopia". Order lunch and dinner a la carte, or try the lunch special where a plate of assorted veggies, lentils, and special of the day are brought to you (free refill). Special beverages made from flax and sunflower seeds, plus vegan desserts. Black-owned. Open Fri-Sat 11:00am-11:00pm, Sun 11:00am-10:00pm.


Venue map for Rahel Ethiopian Vegan Cuisine
© OpenStreetMap contributors

80 Reviews

First Review by Mimi710

silas1912

Points +639

Vegan
19 Jan 2024

Beautiful food so satisfying

 Today I had the  lunch buffet. It was amazing, so many beautiful flavors. 

Pros: This place ❤️, This food ❤️, These people ❤️

Advertisement

Gthang

Points +100

Vegan
13 Jan 2024

Expensive

No lunch specials. Very expensive. Cheaper if you’re looking for two people. But spending $20 for one little plate in this economy?? Nah 

Rae_

Points +11

Mostly Veg
29 Dec 2023

A wonderful Ethiopian find

Visited Rahel for the first time for dinner. What a wonderful selection of vegan eats, including vegan meat tibs. The atmosphere and folks working at the restaurant were very pleasant as well. I’d be there all the time if I lived in LA.

Pros: Vegan meat tibs

FatmaBahri

Points +176

Vegan
22 Dec 2023

Very Filling 🙈

Authentic dishes deliciously seasoned!

Atmosphere is pleasant & staff is caring 🙏🏻

Huraiquire

Points +7871

Vegan
19 Dec 2023

Authentic

It’s been a while since I’ve had Ethiopian cuisine, as I’m not really a fan of sour foods. The food was served room warm/temperature except for the injira, which was quite cold. Injira is traditionally served room temp, but we were also there just 30-45min before closing and that might be an ‘end of the night’ thing. I enjoyed the experience and would have loved to try the desserts; unfortunately we were told they all have peanuts, even though it isn’t listed as an allergen in the description.
Overall nice place with decent food. We had all veggies (no mock meats).

AubsKabobs

Points +98

Vegan
23 Nov 2023

Solid

This place has always been solid - the food is healthy, delicious, and plentiful! Love coming here!

DavidPTRZL

Points +134

Vegan
30 Aug 2023

Superb

All vegan phenomenal Ethiopian in a spacious comfortable friendly place. They take pride in their creation. Best vegan Ethiopian in LA? I think so. There’s also Berbere in Sta. Monica, very different

Pros: ALL phenomenal vegan, Neighborhood is a little Ethiopia I rhink, Nice place

keylimexo

Points +315

Vegan
30 Jul 2023

A colorful and cultural experience!

It had been years since I had Ethiopian food so I was excited for the opportunity to try a totally vegan option when visiting L.A. What a great meal (two for me since the portion is big). Make sure you ask for napkins; I didn't specify and none came with it. It is a messy meal and you need them!

If I lived nearby, I would get this once a week!

Pros: Variety of flavorful stews on one plate, 100% vegan

Yahmeesh

Points +212

Vegan
23 Jul 2023

Phenomenal

HUDADE SPECIAL COMBO and v. Baklava

rickem

Points +528

Vegan
16 Jul 2023

Tasty Ethiopian food

I’d been wanting to try Ethiopian food for the longest time and this vegan restaurant is a great option.

My friend and I shared the Millenium plate which gives a selection of various dishes. This is all eaten with their injera (spongey bread).

Most of the dishes tasted great! A couple were “only” ok but everything had something interesting to it. I was very impressed. The baklava for dessert is a great way to end.

This is a heavy meal so be aware before you go, but for something different and delicious, this place is great 👍

Soratheexplora

Points +20

Vegan
22 May 2023

So good

Very tasty food, would come again

elip_origami

Points +164

Vegan
22 May 2023

Very good would recommend to anyone

I got one of the two person options and shared with a friend. It was good😄

Pros: All vegan, Extremely tasty , Big portions

Cons: Mango cake was a little dry

theNumberOfTheBeast

Points +4054

Vegan
12 Sep 2022

Really Nice Injera

Delicious injera! Will be back to try more of the wots and specialties. This is a family owned vegan business and the dining room was comfortable and spacious. Looking forward to trying the Baklava and Mango cake on my next arrival.

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-12

Pros: Generous portions, Unlimited Injera, Friendly service

jasonxkeller

Points +437

Vegan
22 Aug 2022

Closed until 1 September 2020

Tried to go by. There’s a sign on the door.

marvel_jen

Points +47

Vegan
17 Jul 2022

Delicious!

This place is outstanding. We just told the chef to surprise us. And the food was delightful. Everything was so delicious. My favorite was the appetizer that they brought out and the injera bread and all the lentils. Staff was so nice and checked on us multiple times

Jōjia_Momo

Points +504

Vegan
16 Jul 2022

Very authentic

A unique experience.

Some things had changed on the menu when ordering and requesting oil free was difficult.

The cabbage was lovely as well as the zucchini. I would have preferred more included in the options on the menu. The descriptions don’t always match the item.

But the flavor was great and the gluten free injera was awesome. Very authentic and friendly staff. Pretty expensive.

Pros: Vegan, Authentic , Friendly staff

Cons: Confusing menu, Missing items, Expensive

Wassermaniac

Points +28

Vegan
12 Apr 2022

How can you not want to wrap yourself up in that INJERA?!?!

How lucky are we in LA to enjoy the gem of Little Ethiopia? We've been going to those restaurants since we first moved to this coast and have not let up. We had our favorite spot for years...but last year we all went whole-food, plant-based vegan and we had to take another look at our list of go-to regular dining spots. How delighted we were when we gave Rahel's a try! It is every bit as good as is non-vegan neighbors, always serving up a terrific variety of textures and colors and flavors. I have two young boys and they LOVE when we order the combination platters. We always remark just how much of the lovely, spongy, slightly sour injera they give you - TONS - and then we wind up eating all of it, especially the bits that serve as the base layer for the delicious stews and soaked up the rich sauces. (Drooling as I type. Keyboard slippery. Whoa!) Due to the pandemic, we have only ever ordered delivery and I am happy to report that nothing is lost in the feasting experience by not dining in. Still, we look forward to visiting in person someday soon, if nothing else to let them know how much joy they've brought to our dinner table and our bellies.

Pros: Every bit as good as the non-vegan places , Great variety in flavor, texture, color, They do NOT skimp on the injera

Cons: Can't think of a single one!

Derina

Points +486

Vegan
25 Oct 2021

Delicious combination platter with generous portions

Rahel's menu offers a variety of vegan or veganized Ethiopian dishes. I enjoyed my combination platter with 9 dishes. The restaurant also offers all teff (gluten-free) injera.

There is some outdoor seating and the waiters were masked.

acroley

Points +50

Vegan
24 Oct 2021

Great restaurant!

Lots of great sampler platters with traditional dishes. Highly recommended!

EmanyGreen

Points +70

Vegan
17 Oct 2021

Great experience

Deliouse vegan Ethiopin food

Pros: Lots of Vegan options, Delious, Pleasant

Cons: Traffic on street if you sit outside

tonyakay

Points +3228

Vegan
06 Jul 2021

Unique and going strong

Rachel’s is an original vegan room in LA. The food is plentiful and authentic. Unique and so filling. She offers gluten-free bread now and sugar-free desserts!

AmberKMH

Points +181

Vegan
09 Apr 2021

Fresh, delicious, and healthy!

We all enjoyed the buffet! It was fresh and had a good variety of food. Healthy and satisfying!

Pros: All vegan, Fresh variety of food

swedash

Points +1677

Vegan
07 Jan 2021

Incredible food with huge portions

Incredible food that’s healthy, affordable and lasts two meals!

Pros: Double portion sizes!, Tasty , Cost

losangela

Points +242

Vegan
19 Dec 2020

cheap food!

It's good for what it is! I've found that many of the restaurants on this street serve more or less the same food, so it's nice that there's one that's fully vegan.

josandkill

Points +765

Vegan
02 Dec 2020

In love 🥰

First time eating Ethiopian food, it was such a beautiful experience. We will definitely come back soon the man that help us was such a nice person.

Pros: Delicious , Big portions , Good prices

Cons: None

MarkWebber

Points +130

Vegan
17 Oct 2020

Delicious!

Best Ethiopian food I’ve ever eaten. Super reassuring knowing everything is entirely vegan. The food is perfection.

Kplant

Points +3964

Vegan
07 Mar 2020

Authentic Ethiopian

I have been here a few times. FYI for firat timers...you serve food/feed yourself with your hands. No forks.

Pros: 100% vegan

Cons: Parking is horrible.




This page has been viewed 22998 times.