Modernark

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
  • ( 41 reviews )

Find

3-11-15 Kitanagasa, Chuo-ku, Kobe, Japan, 650-0012

Casual atmosphere with an adopted stray cat who roams around the covered outdoor area. Offers prix-fixe vegetarian pate lunch, vegan tortilla wrap, and a few other items. Last order 9pm. Open Mon-Sun 11:30am-4:00pm.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, International, Japanese, Beer/Wine

41 Reviews

First Review by KAGoldberg

KonietzscheWa

Points +16

Vegan
10 Mar 2021

A Great Place To Get Vegetarian/Vegan Food in Kobe

I have been to Modernark a number of times, and I always have an enjoyable experience. I am partial to the vegan wraps that they serve, but my wife usually orders the vegetarian curry. The desserts are also delicious. Overall, the price isn't too high compared to other vegan and vegetarian options in the Kobe area, and I recommend checking it out.

Updated from previous review on 2021-03-10

Pros: Good atmosphere, Tasty food, Decent price

Cons: It's difficult to come here with groups, The serving size is a little small

lianemills

Points +689

Vegan
22 Mar 2020

Okay food, great looking restaurant

The decor was lovely in this popular cafe and staff, as all in Japan, were welcoming. We had the vegetarian plate and Salad wrap with extra protein Patty. Food was okay, not brilliant and needed some sauce or a bit of spice to make it more interesting . Not cheap for what you got.

Pros: Vegan options , Nice atmosphere

Cons: Not overly tasty, Expensive

ValentinDonev

Points +372

Vegan
12 Mar 2020

Good place to eat in Kobe

We ended up here because the restaurant that we wanted to visit was closed.however , the food was nice here and the prices are reasonable.

Pros: Vegan options

Advertisement

digitalmimi

Points +1098

Vegan
28 Feb 2020

Rustic vibes

Modernark is a really nice restaurant and also sells some vegan merch. I wish more of their desserts were vegan though.

mayatalise

Points +785

Vegan
03 Jan 2020

Delicious!

We had the gluten (seitan) wrap, vegan set meal, cake, and scone. All were delicious and flavorful.

CarolinKörbs

Points +135

Vegetarian
02 Jan 2020

Cute restaurant with a small shop inside

I really enjoyed the burger I had. A little bit too much mustard for my taste, but the price for a whole menu was very good but the portion a little bit small.

mamabean69

Points +319

Vegan
16 Dec 2019

A lovely vegan haven

Very cute and cosy inside. We shared a fried gluten wrap and veggie plate. The food was all very delicious. We had the banana tiramasu which was a bit wholesome for our taste, and a lovely dandelion latte.

Pros: Delicious food, Close to station, Lovely setting

Cons: Watch the mustard, a tad overpowering, More variety of desserts would be good

Sioned

Points +63

Vegan
10 Nov 2019

Great restaurant and little shop

Lovely little restaurant, ended up going here twice. Small ish portions but good flavours. Little shop too selling food and household goods.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Friendly staff

Meril

Points +700

Vegan
27 Oct 2019

Okay food but overhyped

A cute and cosy place with okay vegan food. Had read and heard about the place so was excited for the food, unfortunately it didn't live up to the expectations, but was okay and filled you up. Probably better with another meal then the one that I ate.

Pros: Cute and cosy , A shop area with a couple of vegan things

Cons: Bit expensive, smaller portion

dawson

Points +76

Vegan
29 Sep 2019

Great little restaurant

This is a lovely little vegetarian restaurant tucked away in a side street. I had the vegan platter and my wife had the burrito. Both excellent. Also had the vegan tiramisu for dessert which was also lovely.

Pros: Lots of options, English menu, Nice setting

Cons: Cash only

cj81914

Points +621

Vegan
28 Aug 2019

Cute cafe with many vegan options!

Large selection of vegan options! I visited for dinner and was not disappointed in taste and menu selection. The portions were a little small for the price but highly delicious and good quality! It's a cafe and also sells a selection of baked goods and health foods near the register. Would recommend.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Kawaii interior

Cons: Expensive

rocco_le

Points +123

Vegetarian
22 Jul 2019

Lunchbreak

The food was good. The size of the portion was okay.

WolfsRain

Points +111

Vegan
03 May 2019

Lots of vegan baked goods

Amazing muffins, with a new flavor everyday. The amazake was awesome and the dinner was quite alright, although limited in options for vegans. Recommended to go there for drinks and sweets. Staff doesn't speak english, so be prepared to use google translate. Menu shows vegan options. Ps, the chai comes with cow titty milk.

Pros: Lots of vegan sweets, Small shop, Great drinks

Cons: Staff doesn't speak english, Limited vegan diner options

viniciusgnu

Points +13

Vegetarian
08 Mar 2019

Very good restaurant with good options

Quite good restaurant, good options, good price and an english menu. There are also good options for dessert.

docCK

Points +400

Vegan
25 Nov 2018

Good location and great food. Small portion sizes for price.

Not the best vegan option place in japan ... but one of the best in Kobe. Prices high for small portions. I like the to go sandwiches and onigiri 🍙 more than the actual sit down meals

Pros: Mostly vegan, Quality food , Not too much oil

Cons: Careful not all vegan , Very small portion - don’t go there hungry lol, Poor lighting

johnrang

Points +76

Vegan
20 Sep 2018

My #2 place in Kobe

Nice quiet place to eat and relax with lots of vegan options. However since they’re vegetarian and serve coffee getting dairy free option is off the table for creamer. I asked repetitively is there any almond milk, coconut milk or soy milk options and the waitress answer was no. So I stuck with herb tea options. Most Japanese restaurants are not flexible when you ask for options. It’s pretty much their way or the highway.

Pros: Few vegan options. , Small vegan/vegetarian grocery with options. , Good food and staff is friendly.

Cons: No vegan options for coffee. , Very little flexibility on menu options.

barbaraneves

Points +17

Vegetarian
17 Sep 2018

Great place for lunch

Cool cafe for a relaxed & yummy meal.

Pros: Good vegan options, Great ambiance , Cool decor

Noeliamg

Points +622

Vegan
08 Aug 2018

Nice place

It is a peaceful place with a good atmosphere. The food was really good. I had a curry vegan dish with the salad and an amazake icecream. Good prices and good cuality. I really recomended!!

Pros: Good prices Peaceful place Quick service Good food

Cons: Little vegan options

paulkates

Points +1695

Vegan
12 Apr 2018

Good Food - Questionable Intent

I ate here twice for dinner while on assignment in Kobe and the first experience was much better than the second. I tried both the vegan burrito, complemented with the guacamole and jalapeño add-ons, and the vegan wrap with a tofu patty side. Quality of food is good, flavor is good, but portions are on the small side (I’ve had much bigger burritos and wraps in Tokyo for only a marginal increase in price). The first time, I was able to enjoy a dine-in experience with relatively pleasant service (albeit a bit slow). Although the staff don’t speak English well they are willing to communicate as best as they can - at least, they do have an English menu. The second time, however, they had the patio door open and cigarette smoke from was wafting into the interior from the smoking patrons to the point of being overwhelming. It seems unusual for an allegedly health-conscious establishment to welcome smoking, even if only on a patio (wake up, Japan!!!). Anyway, while waiting over 20min for my drink order to arrive, my eyes began to sting and a headache began to loom. I could no longer bear the smoke-fill environment and decided to ask for my order to go. When I got back to my hotel room, I was a bit disappointed to find that I paid for slightly less than was expected (I did not receive the soup or pickles that was supposed to be included, as per the menu). Overall, just “ok”.

Pros: Vegan options, Good quality, Pleasant staff

Cons: Not a smoke-free establishment, So not as health-conscious as they claim, Sub-par value

ellie-tj

Points +17

Vegetarian
06 Apr 2018

Yummy veggie & vegan food in a chilled out atmosphere

We stopped here for a late lunch when we first arrived in Kobe and it didn't disappoint. We both had the brown rice curry and added soy bean patties which were really tasty. I had a refreshing yuzu soda too. The cafe has a nice relaxed atmosphere and also has a cat! We didn't see the cat but there are lots of cute photos on the wall. We'd definitely eat here again!

Pros: English menu with lots of options, Nice relaxed atmosphere, Cat!

avotheraven

Points +39

Vegan
01 Apr 2018

Cozy café with great food options

This little gem in the heart of Kobe offers many great vegan and vegetarian food options. We had diner and where quite amazed by the tasty food. We can highly recommend the burrito and the curry. But everything else also looked delicious, including a variety of different cakes. As the menu is available in English, choosing and ordering was quite easy, although the staff did understand more than a few words of English.

The restaurant offers indoor seats (non-smoking) and also features seats in a small conservatory in the front of the building where smoking is allowed after 2pm.

We can definitely recommend this place to anyone! :-)

Pros: Tasty and healthy food options

Cons: Drinks are quite expensive

HurricaneHiei

Points +17

Vegetarian
31 Mar 2018

Wholesome food

Although pricey compared to regular meals, the food was delicious and wholesome.

Molly.P

Points +26

Vegetarian
05 Dec 2017

Seriously tasty

Cosy, homey vibe. Friendy and fast service - perfect for hungry travellers. I had the gf wrap (salad & teriyaki soymeat) which came with a soup of the day, pickled veg and a veggie pattie. So tasty & satisfying! My friends had the burrito & salad with avocado and both really enjoyed. Reasonably priced and easy to find. Would recommend!

cultparty

Points +270

Vegetarian
10 Nov 2017

Amazing meals and great vibes

This restaurant/cafe in Kobe was easily one of the highlights from my Japan trip. The vibe there is so homely and comforting, and the food there is so delicious that we went for both lunch and dinner on the same day. Great service as well!

Pros: Extremely tasty food, Friendly service

Keito26

Points +353

Vegetarian
25 Sep 2017

Pecan Pie!!

This restaurant is one of my go-to places in Kobe. Very yummy food, decent portions, and nice atmosphere. You can spend a comfortable time enjoying meals or tea sets with friends. Outdoor seating available, but be warned smoking is allowed there. Of the desserts, I highly recommend the pecan pie!

Cons: Smoking allowed at certain hours outside

YukiLim

Points +647

Vegan
22 Jul 2017

My favorite in Kobe

The food here is absolutely amazing. I love the burrito, vegan soy patty and coconut tiramisu cake the most. The cafe is spacious and bright with an extensive grocery section selling lots of organic and vegan products. They also have many delicious vegan breads and baked goods for sale. This place is also located at an extremely central location (7 minute walk away from Kobe Sannomiya) so it is great for vegetarians and vegans looking for a lovely restaurant with delicious food. Highly recommend!



Updated from previous review on 2017-07-22

Pros: Amazing food and desserts, Central location, Bright and beautiful space

Cons: A little pricey , Uses cheese and honey in some dishes

Ika

Points +251

Vegan
28 May 2017

Try the Tiramisu!!

Very cosy Café with English speaking stuff and English menu. The coco-tiramisu turned out to be a super yummy coco-banana-nut tarte. I wish I could eat it every day. A vegan set menu containing a main dish, 1 glass of wine, desert and tea costs 2150 yen

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Kobe Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Modernark closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 10255 times.