• Maharaja Indian Restaurant

  • (7)
    8
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Indian
Buffet
Beer/Wine
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Has separate section on menu for vegan entrees. Paratha bread can be made without butter. Roti is vegan. Various vegan appetizers. The crispy bread/cracker given with chutney to snack on while you wait is vegan. Open Mon-Fri 4:30pm-10:00pm, Tue-Sun 11:30am-2:30pm, Sat-Sun 4:30pm-10:30pm.


Venue map for Maharaja Indian Restaurant
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by professorplumb

NYVgnGrl

Points +16

Vegan
29 Aug 2022

Rice is not vegan

The rice here is not vegan as it contains both milk and butter. The vegan menu section lists rice with the vegan options but the rice available is not vegan. The wait staff and management could not offer any explanation why rice was listed but not actually available. The food was also so salty I had to send it back as it was inedible. Management was accommodating about replacing the dish but the overall experience was already ruined. I would not recommend this restaurant for vegans.

Advertisement

tfish

Points +2412

Vegan
01 Nov 2021

Will return here for sure

Great food and good portion sizes. Bills itself as “fine dining” and I’d say it is in every way except the prices. Which is the perfect combo as far as I’m concerned. (Our dinner for two was $40 including the tip.) Both the channa masala and the aloo ghobi were delicious, as were the rice and roti. Plenty of labeled vegan and vegetarian options.

Edit a few months later: have now tried each of the vegan entree options; all are delicious!

Updated from previous review on 2021-05-07

kbw5044

Points +1236

Vegan
29 Sep 2021

Great vegan options

Sooo tasty, can't complain

Michellemartha

Points +336

Vegetarian
01 Jul 2020

Very good

The food was delicious and the servers were very kind. A very ethnic and cultural atmosphere. Lots of vegan options. Although, they could add a non dairy milk option for the chai. That’s a string suggestion I have.

courtpline

Points +1024

Vegan
07 Jun 2019

Great vegan options

They have a big vegan section on their menu, and everything was delicious. It's a nicer restaurant, so great for a date. Their spice levels are "Indian spicy" not "American spicy" so be careful.

Pros: Dedicated vegan section, Good cocktails & beer, Many vegan appetizers

maseface

Points +1099

Vegan
15 May 2019

Tasty

This place does Grubhub, and was really tasty. Grubhub menu doesn’t call out vegan items, so you’ve gotta look it up on their site first so you don’t walk into any ghee or butter.

Edit: came in this time, great options labeled on their menu.

professorplumb

Points +257

Vegan
15 May 2018

Awesome vegan options

My husband and I had a lovely dinner at Maharaja. We choose this restaurant because it's menu has a separate vegan section, clearly marked. I ordered the matar mushroom (peas and mushrooms) as well as some paratha bread, stuffed with potatoes - no butter. (paratha bread normally comes with butter on, but the waiter said they could leave it off to make it vegan). Many of the appetizers looked good, but we weren't hungry enough to try them, unfortunately. Even without ordering appetizers, the entree portions were so large, I had to take a to-go box home. They also had a good drink menu, if you're so inclined. Great restaurant, would recommend!

Pros: Vegan menu, Able to adapt non-vegan items, Really yummy and large portions

Cons: naan can't be made vegan




This page has been viewed 1793 times.