• Luna Red

  • (9)
    22
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Spanish
Latin
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Spanish tapas bar with labeled vegan options including split pea hummus, roasted peppers and roasted olives. Also offers vegan paella. Dog friendly. Open Mon-Wed 11:30am-9:00pm, Thu 11:30am-10:00pm, Fri 11:30am-12:00am, Sat 10:00am-12:00am, Sun 10:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Luna Red
© OpenStreetMap contributors

9 Reviews

First Review by GráinneO

LinneaSoledad

Points +509

Vegan
22 Dec 2023

Delicious Vegan Options

The view was perfect: the Mission and creek covered in holiday lights, and the restaurant's atmosphere is sophisticated and warm. Vegan meals are plentiful, well prepared, and marked on the menu. We serendipitously came on a Tuesday and enjoyed a platter of 10 miso mushroom tacos and the special, which were vegan vegetable tacos with a coconut sauce, for $25 because it was Taco Tuesday (normally $40, which is still a good price for feeding 3 or 4 people.) We were also accidentally there for Happy Hour, so enjoyed a giant bowl of freshly made chips and homemade salsas ( a red, and a black bean corn one) for $6 Our daughter had the vegan empanadas with black beans and a tofu feta. The staff were super friendly and the evening was leisurely and quiet enough for good conversation.

Pros: Delicious, Vegan is clearly marked, Great leisurely atmosphere

Advertisement

AnjaliO

Points +256

Vegan
27 May 2022

Great vegan paella

The mixed vegetable and soyriZo paella was great. My friend had tortilla soup which was also very good.

Updated from previous review on 2022-05-27

Lemonlaine

Points +63

Vegan
21 May 2022

Fresh and creative

A few creative and tasty vegan options. Had the eggplant frites and LOVED the soyrizo on it. Bummed the paella was so expensive otherwise I would have gotten it!
In a bougie college town, was very busy and loud but we got a table fast on a Friday night!

Pros: Great vegan options

Cons: Expensive

BackyardFarmerGirl

Points +66

Vegan
02 Jan 2022

unique and delicious

We loved this place! Lovely ambiance with plenty of outdoor options (and heat lamps). Friendly and fast service. AMAZING vegan options - unique and flavorful. We had the Ethiopian spiced potatoes, the evening's special eggplant dish (with homemade tofu cheese), and vegetable paella. The wine list was excellent and they also offer several non-alcoholic specialty drinks. Highly recommended.

Pros: excellent food, friendly staff, lovely ambiance

KarinAnne

Points +202

Vegan
21 Jun 2021

Tasty- but expensive

The Tortilla soup is yummy and we like the vegan taco options as well. This is just REALLY pricey for what it is.

EDIT- We went back to try the vegetable Paella and it is incredible!! Still pricey- but delicious!

Updated from previous review on 2021-04-20

Pros: Marked options on menu, PAELLA!

Cons: Expensive

AutumnTierra

Points +1438

Vegan
04 Jan 2020

Best paella!

I LOVED the vegan paella here. I didn’t have that strong of an opinion about paella until I ate here. Now I think about it when it’s not around! Very cute patio, great service, great location.

Pros: Menu labels vegan options , AMAZING paella , Beautiful patio

Jerrbur

Points +304

Vegan
25 Oct 2019

Added more vegan options

This is a great brunch and dinner spot. Amazing patio and they have added a lot more vegan options. Chef is very talented, wont be disappointed.

gretchencita

Points +33

Mostly Veg
13 Jul 2019

Something delicious for everyone; dog-friendly!

We had a delicious lunch here last month, with a large range of options for everyone in our family, from the vegan to the vegetarians to the omnivore. (Vegetarian food here is delicious enough that there was no reason to even consider any meat.) Can’t remember what we ate, but the setting was beautiful: in addition to the indoor restaurant, they had an outdoor patio with colorful umbrellas, where they welcomed our dog and brought her a bowl of water.

GráinneO

Points +112

Vegan
30 Jun 2019

Some vegan options

I had the papas bravas as a starter, they substituted with a vegan sauce. This was very good. For the main I had the vegetable paella - the dish is actually for about 3 people so it’s tricky if you are the only vegan in the group. It tasted okay, a little too citrusy for me but that’s personal preference.




This page has been viewed 2890 times.