Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Beer/Wine
Fusion
Korean
Pan-Asian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Japanese-Korean inspired cuisine. Vegan items clearly marked on the menu, including a vegan banquet, kimchi dumplings, tofu bao, poke salad, soba noodle salad, sweet potato nori taco and vegan sundae. Offers a range of cocktails, sake, wine and beers. Holds vegan speciality nights to raise funds for local animal organisations - check Facebook for updates. Open Mon-Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm. Fri-Sat bar open until 12:00am.


Venue map for Lazy Su
© OpenStreetMap contributors

31 Reviews

First Review by ENardone

ScherylHay

Points +340

Vegan
25 Aug 2023

So Delicious

Amazing food in the banquet that was fully vegan!!

Pros: Fast service , Great variety in banquet , Friendly staff

Cons: Tables were not big enough to hold all the food

Advertisement

perndragonridr1

Points +22

Vegan
25 May 2023

Vegan options are great. Tasty. Kimchi fried rice is awesome.

Great food. Good service. Bit chilly need a jacket in winter.

Pros: Lots of vegan options.

Cons: Best to book a table.

TajLyons

Points +55

Vegan
08 Apr 2023

Good dinner spot

Nice vibe and good amount of vegan options. The banquet was nice however if other menu items get your eye I’d say go for that

Pros: Nice vibe, Plenty of options

Cons: A bit of dear, Banquet not game-changing

Slyder

Points +1160

Vegan
21 Oct 2022

Nothing lazy about Su

We enjoyed the vegan set menu. Plenty of interesting and tasty food. Some of it could have been executed a bit better, e.g rice was a bit dry. Great friendly service from Anna, a fellow vegan.

Pros: Vegan menu, wines and cocktails, Interesting variety , Atmosphere and service

EllenStringfellow

Points +254

Vegan
19 Sep 2022

A great night every time!

Funky venue with great service and consistently high quality food. Menu changes from time to time to keep things interesting. Perfect place to go with omnis - plenty to keep everyone happy!

pinklotusdance

Points +547

Vegan
29 Aug 2022

Vegan Banquet is good!

Loved all the food if anything a bit too much had plenty of left overs. Everything was delicious love the vibe and decor!

Jacky1989

Points +818

Vegan
27 Jul 2022

Good vegan options

Great startes and bao-gers, big portion of spicy ma-po tofu. Everything was tasty!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Good food, Big portions

Cons: Expensive

Count_Zero

Points +17

Vegetarian
18 Jun 2022

Fun night out

They have a vegan menu or pick a selection of yummy food. Potato nori tacos were great.

Pros: Hosts vegan nights

Cons: Serves meat

Jennysusietaffy

Points +52

Mostly Veg
14 Apr 2022

Fabulous vegan set menu

This is the best vegan menu in Canberra. Interesting, innovative and yummy vegan set menu. They also have a non-vegan set menu that is yummy for non-vegans.

Pros: Great vegan set menu

Bassoonist

Points +58

Vegan
11 Feb 2022

Nice without being exceptional

Easy to eat vegan here. I had the king oyster mushroom with noodles which was a fairly large serve. I would have liked more of the great veg in there which was cooked to perfection.

Pros: Explicitly marked vegan menu items, Service

Iellwen

Points +75

Vegan
08 Sep 2021

Would give five stars if fully vegan

Love this place, probably my favourite restaurant in Canberra.
I've never had a bad experience here except for the one time I order seaweed salad and got roe on it despite having asked for vegan but they made up for it in a timely manner and were very apologetic.

I love the decor and environment is nice. Service is great and accomodating. The grandmas tofu is probably the best dish I've ever had, but it's quite huge and can probably be shared with another person (value for money though). Talking about big quantity is the banquet which is delicious and many rounds, although unfortunately maybe too much food because I can't comfortably finish it.

Can be a bit more on the expensive side but it's so worth it. Hell of a lot of drink options too.

Pros: Great service and AMAZING food, Nice environment and decor, Many vegan options as well as banquet

Cons: None

Wintersahara

Points +193

Vegan
20 Jun 2021

Okay

Had high expectations after all the good reviews, but the food was only okay. Salt and pepper tofu wasn’t really flavoured, and the korean pancake was also rather bland and very greasy. Enjoyed the food at Zaab next door a lot more (they have a veggie banquet menu that can easily be made vegan with only a couple of minor changes)

Eeek.

Points +470

Vegan
24 May 2021

Vegan Feast

This is a busy and hip restaurant in the cbd. Lots of vegan options that make up a delicious feast. Very good service and waiters are happy to advise on meal selection. There is also a vegan set menu for two people for around $55pp. Best to book beforehand.

Updated from previous review on 2021-05-24

TimChilds

Points +30

Vegan
19 Apr 2021

Amazing vegan set menu .. highly recommend

Great service, amazing food , great staff... perfect

JB574

Points +238

Vegan
24 Mar 2021

Another great meal at Lazy Su

Enjoyed another fantastic mea again tonight at Lazy Su. Great service and awesome food.

TessaRosie

Points +351

Vegan
27 Jan 2021

Food coma from vegan banquet

The vegan banquet was absolutely amazing, highly recommend! You don’t have to worry about leaving hungry, the serving sizes are generous. My favourite dishes were the mapo tofu and the jalapeño poppers.

Cons: On the pricey side

Marniemoo

Points +49

Vegan
31 Oct 2020

Well hello

So good. My partner and I got the vegan banquet and liked all of it, and loved most of it. It was $79 take away and we got three entrees and three mains. We would definitely eat here again and highly recommend others do the same.

Pros: Quick , Affordable, Tasty

tangmengxiu

Points +28

Vegan
06 Jun 2020

Great vegan degustation

Well priced vegan degustation option. Food is plentiful. Excellent dessert too. Restaurant has some vegan wine options too.

Pros: Huge portions , Vegan wine options

Cons: Bit uncomfortable table bench seats

SydneyVegan

Points +82

Vegan
26 May 2020

Get the Vegan Benquet !

What a great place, off Japanese drinks and a great atmosphere, combined with a fantastic service and really good food, this is a night out you wouldn't want to miss.
The vegan banquet might see, a bit pricy, but it is a LOT of food.

Pros: Great vegan options, Great drinks menu , Great service

Cons: Might seem a bit pricey at first

emily96w

Points +122

Vegan
14 Jan 2020

Vegan Banquet

We had the vegan banquet and were worried that we’d be short-changed as it’s $50 each... should not have worried, we were full to bursting after and the dishes were so flavoursome. Will definitely be back!

ErinL905

Points +24

Vegetarian
07 Jan 2020

Really great

Just had the vegan banquet and it was awesome! Same price per head as the non vegan one.
Plenty of different dishes brought out and felt very worth the money. Super great especially considering Canberra has not many nice restaurant options so I would definately go back.

Pros: Many vegan options , vegan banquet option for same price as not vegan

Willieic

Points +36

Vegan
30 Dec 2019

Vegan banquette

Offers and all vegan banquette, with dishes that change periodically.

Hyat

Points +256

Vegan
13 Dec 2019

Great Asian food!

Had the potato, avocado and seaweed salad which I found delicious but too much. Would order it again as an entré and share it.

assailants

Points +133

Vegan
22 Nov 2019

Love me some Lazy Su

I love it. Super kind and accommodating staff. I had a g&t which was made super well. The food came out fast, fresh and hot - flavourful and presented beautifully. Bummed I missed out on the vegan banquet - so hopefully I can next time!

Pros: Heaps of options, Great + good quality food, Great environment and interior

Cons: No wheelchair access (unless you sit outside), Bit speno, Small-ish portions

Bethanyjmw

Points +159

Vegan
21 Oct 2019

Incredible food, so many vegan options

The food here is amazing every time. There’s a whole vegan banquet menu. Food is expensive but worth it for a special occasion. The vegan bao-gers are a must have.

britmahe

Points +44

Vegetarian
01 Sep 2019

Banquet

Loved the banquet! I went with non vegetarians and the staff were more than happy to bring out my own vegetarian options. There was so much food and it was all amazing. I definitely recommend

Juliaalb

Points +208

Vegan
21 Jul 2019

So good

Menu changes a fair bit but always great vegan options and cocktails made with aquafaba instead of egg white. Recommend the kimchi fried rice.




This page has been viewed 3749 times.