• Lao Kitchen

  • (8)
    8
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Ovo
Asian
Laotian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Laotian restaurant offering some tofu and mushroom based dishes. Ask for the vegan options. Open Mon-Sat 11:00am-10:00pm. Closed Sun.


Venue map for Lao Kitchen
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by RobinPalmer

MichelleMyra

Points +161

Vegan
04 Feb 2020

Late night option

They made the order vegan but I had to wait about 30 minutes or so for it. Lots of people. English menu.

Advertisement

cornonthecob

Points +348

Vegan
01 Jul 2019

Nice food, but a bit hyped up.

We are here as none of the atms would work for us and they take credit card.
We had the dishes with rice that only cost 20k and they were nice enough and decent size portions and got it with out tofu as read they use egg tofu (a common ingredient in SE Asia)
Some of the dishes were almost western prices but the 20k stir fries that come with rice are reasonable.

Doubt I would come back unless I didn't have any cash again

Pros: Some dishes are good value , Takes credit card

Cons: Serves loads of meaty things like buffalo skin....

millerfly13

Points +119

Vegan
01 May 2019

Flavourful Food

Pretty much the first place we ate at in Laos and I'm so glad that we picked thus place! I had the mushroom laab and it was delicious! Slightly spicy which is how I like it! Definitely recommeneed!

Pros: Simple cafe, doors are open so nice breeze, Friendly staff

VeganKatelyn

Points +60

Vegan
06 Feb 2019

Was told the tofu wasn't vegan!

Wanted to order a tofu dish but was told the tofu (somehow?!) has egg in it....wondered if it was a translation error but the waiter seemed quite adamant, so just a warning to fellow vegans. Went with a group (veggie & meat eaters) and we were all underwhelmed by the food. Nice restuarant though and are good at adapting food

Pros: Can adapt food, veggie options that weren't too $$

Cons: Less vegan options if tofu is made of egg?

Countess

Points +43

Vegetarian
23 Dec 2018

Tasty food

Nice ambiance and friendly staff. I had the tofu laab without the fish sauce and asked for it to be made spicy, but it wasn't. The tast itself was great though but the portion size was small.

Pros: Lots of vegetarian options

Cons: A bit expensive

deecypher

Points +89

Vegan
04 Sep 2018

Can’t trust the servers

Good food and many tofu variants but don’t trust the servers!! I have a dairy allergy and they assured me all the sorbet flavours were dairy free. However, I found out the hard way that the coconut flavour did in fact contain dairy and I suffered an allergic reaction. I want to recommend this place but I simply can’t due to this experience.

Pros: Many tofu variations, Laab mushroom

Cons: Sorbets contain DAIRY, be warned.

JonJon

Points +20148

Vegan
24 Jul 2018

Delicious Lao cuisine with vegan adaptations

This restaurant in the center of Vientiane offers typical Lao food with some (tourist) vegan adaptations. The tofu laab (without fish sauce) is delicious and finely prepared. I also took the mango sticky rice that was a very good one. The place is pleasant and clean, the staff is professional even if prices are a bit high (but the place worth it).

Pros: delicious and fine cuisine, vegan adaptations, pleasant place, friendly staff

Cons: not 100% vegan, a little pricey

RobinPalmer

Points +230

Vegan
22 Jul 2018

5 stars

The tofu laab, hold the fish sauce, was amazingly fresh and vibrant tasting. Had spring rolls and sticky rice to complete the meal. Went back another night and got the same thing it was so good. Would definitely recommend.




This page has been viewed 2941 times.